Fiction logo

Liminal: occupying a position at, or on both sides of, a boundary or threshold. OED

Flash fiction

By Teresa RentonPublished 8 months ago Updated 7 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2023
24
Image by Teresa Renton (author)

Bonbons in a glass jar tempt me; a jar of chopped-up rainbow. I swirl a yellow one around my mouth, expect the zing and tang of fresh lemon. I spit it into my hand when no one is looking and bury it in a potted ficus by the TV set. I hate bananas. My husband devours them instead of crisps and candy. I smell them on his clothes; just a hint, through wood-spice aftershave and whiskey.

I inhale roses and jasmine in the garden, stroke my forearm with a yellow rose petal. Its satin caress excites minuscule hairs and sends tingles to my fingertips. Through squares of trellis, I see the couple next door under their awning, intertwined. His hands devour her, and I know he smells of lemons. I imagine lying on moist grass early in the morning, with dewdrops clinging to my flesh like the cold sweat of anticipation on skin. Wet, glassy beads reflect pieces of him; they’re all over my body while nearby, grasshoppers buzz. His scent of lemon zest stirs the ache of what could be mine.

I am a glass for my husband too, but a cloudy one, where lemonade looks like dishwater. He no longer drinks me; prefers to drink from clear crystal goblets while I hide in the long grass surrendering to illicit desire, alone. This saves me from further temptation, that pulls me next door to a man who once stroked my glass skin–smooth yet silky, with his fingertips.

Short StoryMicrofiction
24

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (18)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred7 months ago

    A magical piece of fiction

  • Kristen Balyeat8 months ago

    Woah!Teresa– Every single word is magical and holds so much weight. This piece lit up all of my senses and broke my heart. Bravo! 👏🏽👏🏽💫

  • Syeda Razi Fatima8 months ago

    you deserve to join the Vocal Awards https://tinyurl.com/3cjr6788

  • Macy Dennis8 months ago

    Its very helpful, thanks

  • Scott Christenson8 months ago

    "Liminal" I've seen that word lately, and hadn't known what it meant. The data scientist in me had to look up a chart, and it has "gone ballistic", an expression that has been going the other way lately. https://books.google.com/ngrams/graph?content=Liminal&year_start=1800&year_end=2019&corpus=en-2019&smoothing=3 You bring in a lot of senses and scents into this lovely poetic story which carries some sadness of love that isn't as fiery as before. Congats on TS!

  • Very good

  • Babs Iverson8 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Cathy holmes8 months ago

    That was fabulous. Congrats on the TS.

  • Donna Renee8 months ago

    Well, yep. this is just gorgeous. ❤️❤️❤️😭😭

  • Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉

  • Test8 months ago

    Oh my. This gave me goosebumps. Beautiful. And literally every line is 'the line' Wow! Super congratulations on a wonderful Top Stoy! 🤍🤍🤍

  • Caroline Jane8 months ago

    Oh my goodness. This is incredible!

  • Alex H Mittelman 8 months ago

    Great work! ♥️

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    If this hadn't gotten TS, I was totally ready to nominate it in the Discord. This needs to be in a literary magazine. The color yellow, lemons, bananas; then the glass. Masterful use of literary devices here. The delayed gratification for what they all mean made for a completely gut-punchy ending. 👏🏻👏🏻👏🏻 🤯

  • Matthew Fromm8 months ago

    oooofta this is like a gut punch. well done!

  • Hannah Moore8 months ago

    This evoked such loneliness in me

  • Rachel Deeming8 months ago

    I love the way you draw on senses throughout this, to make it so sensual, a contrast to what the narrator does not have.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.