Fiction logo

Letters to a Friend

.

By Dana MaxwellPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 15 min read
1
Letters to a Friend
Photo by Helen Todd on Unsplash

Dear Sarah,

You won’t even believe what happened yesterday afternoon. My dad and I were in a car accident and we no longer have a car! Don’t worry, we're OK, but my chest still hurts from the impact. I’ve only had my driver’s license for two weeks and my dad's car is completely totaled. But it was his fault.

Well, OK, I was driving, so I guess it was my fault. The thing is, the light turned yellow when I was about to make a left, so I hit my brakes to slow down, but my dad yelled “Go! Go!” and I panicked and sped up to turn. And before we knew it, BAM! The car whipping through the intersection opposite us, hit us. Hard. All I remember is screaming and tires and metal screeching. And the Chinese food we had just picked up for dinner that was resting on the dashboard flew everywhere!

A man in a suit ran over to us from the corner gas station after hearing the crash. He was really nice. He helped me get out of the car and walk over to the curb so I could sit down, and kept asking me if I was OK since I was hyperventilating. I was in complete shock. My dad wasn’t wearing his seatbelt. He’s freakin’ lucky he didn’t get hurt worse. He apologized for yelling at me. Yeah, maybe let the person driving actually drive! Anyway, the ambulance came for us and we were in the hospital for several hours. They took X-rays and everything. But we’re OK.

The first thing I did this morning when I got to my math class was tell Mrs. Thomas that I couldn’t do my homework because I was in a car accident and had been at the hospital. I almost burst into tears because I felt utterly unprepared. She took one look at me and said “Emma, don’t even worry bout it. Are you OK?” Sarah, why am I such a school nerd?

Tell me what’s happening with you. Have you seen any good movies lately? And how’s Eddie the Owl? I hope his wing is better, poor guy.

Love you and miss you to pieces,

Emma

Dearest Emma,

Oh no! I’m so sorry you were in a car accident, that’s so scary. I’m glad you weren’t hurt badly. And who cares about homework? Nerd alert. I agree with your math teacher. Life happens!

Oh did I tell you I heard that they’re making Titanic 2? Tell me if you heard the same. I can’t wait to buy Titanic on DVD. I’m saving up my money. Once I own it, we can watch it every time you come visit. I miss you. How are you liking your high school, in general? Is it different than our school here in London? By the way, Mrs. Davies asked about you the other day.

My parents are driving me crazy. They won’t stop arguing and they finally agreed to separate so I’ll be living with my mom here at the farm and then a couple of times a week at my dad’s new flat.

Eddie the Owl is doing well. He seems to be getting back on his feet. He’s actually been hooting more frequently during the night and it’s driving me bonkers. Remember when Vinny and Mona Lisa Vito keep staying in places where they can’t get any sleep and they finally go to the quiet cabin in the woods to get some rest, and they get woken up by loud owl cries in the middle of the night? Hahaha. I love My Cousin Vinny. And I literally felt like that when I heard Eddie the other night. His wing is healing really nicely though and he’ll be able to fly again soon.

Have you seen Sliding Doors yet? It should be on VHS or DVD by now. You have to see it. I can’t even explain it, it’s so good. Let me know when you see it.

Oh and I forgot to tell you, the girls and I ordered pizza and wings the other day. The pizza was so gross. It was like… well it looked like puke, and it kind of tasted like it too! But they were running a special. Reina had this coupon for an extra large pizza and 12 chicken wings for 11 euros. It was a really great deal because normally a large pizza on its own is like 10 euros and this was extra large and came with wings, so yeah, it was really awesome. Probably why the pizza was gross, but still. Jenna of course didn’t have any money, big surprise! So I loaned her some. She better pay me back.

Anyway, I miss you. Wish we could hang out.

Love you so so much,

Sarah

Sweet Sarah,

A Titanic 2? No, there’s no way! How could they make a sequel? I think it has to just be a rumor. I’m sorry to hear about your parents. I don’t have any advice to offer in that arena because my parents got divorced a while ago as you know, and thank God. Seriously, all they did was fight and I don’t understand how they ever got along to begin with. They’re like complete, horrid opposites.

Oh, that’s so good that Eddie is almost healed. I remember when he fell and started to make the strangest noise, and we freaked out not knowing what the heck was out in the barn until we spotted him, poor little guy. I’m impressed your dad drove him to the emergency vet. Not a lot of people would. I’m so glad you were able to rescue him. Do you think once he’s fully healed and can fly again that he’ll still hang around? Also, that sounds like an awesome pizza deal, minus the gross pizza. Now I want pizza. Thanks a lot!

Oh Sliding Doors! I love Gwyneth Paltrow. There's a girl in my class who looks just like her. And yes, I finally saw it last weekend. It was such a good movie, but I hated the end. Can’t every movie end like Good Will Hunting? “I went to see about a girl.” Promise me we’ll go to the theater a hundred times when I come back and visit this summer.

What else is going on with you? Have you heard of net tv yet? My dad said we were getting it soon and I think I’ll be able to send you a letter through my tv or something like that. Isn’t that crazy? But I love handwriting letters, so maybe I’ll just keep this up, even if I constantly run out of stamps, I swear. I miss you. Wish you were here.

Best friends forever,

Emma

Emma Emma Bo-bemma,

No, I don’t think I've heard of net tv yet. I don’t want to stop writing letters. I’m going to write you letters till I’m old and gray. By the way, Eddie can officially fly again but guess what? He actually hangs around the barn! I keep hearing him at night, hooting away. I think he’s gotten used to this area and the great thing is, he’ll be able to chase away the mice. And don’t think for one second that you’re not staying here because of the mice. I know you’re scared but Eddie will protect you! Haha.

Is it summertime yet? Man, it’s only December. I don’t know if I can wait that long. I went to the post office the other day and bought more stamps and a couple of new pens. Well, not from the post office, but from the store next door where Julie works. Also, I’ve been staying at my dad’s new place now almost every weekend and it’s pretty nice. It’s not too far from the farmhouse and he’s making an effort. I still can’t believe he cheated on my mum though. I’m angry.

She’s really hurt. She honestly won’t stop crying and it’s weighing on me. I hate that. Why does she share everything with me? I’m only 16. Doesn't she get that I don’t want to know everything? But I love her. Why are our parents so weird?! I know you get it.

Oh my god, did I tell you that I had Reina over and we talked about Mrs. Adler and that one time we were all on our field trip and she got mad at us for refusing to participate in the scavenger hunt? As if! We can be such little pricks.

Again, miss you, come home.

Love love love,

Sarah

Dearest Sarah,

I’m sorry you’re mum’s putting that on you. I guess we don’t know what it’s like to be a parent but it just seems like they should have their own friends to vent to about this stuff and leave us out of it. But I don’t know. This is why I never want to be a mum.

Mark my word, you can put this in your journal. I will never have children. They are such a huge responsibility and I just don’t see myself ever taking that much on. I know you can’t wait to pop out like 5 kids but no thank you, haha! How do people do it?

By the way, I laughed so hard when you reminded me of the scavenger hunt trip. Oh my god, that was hilarious. You make me laugh. I feel like we’ll be 50 someday and still laugh hysterically at all of our jokes. Seriously, I don’t have any friends here that get me like you do. I know you can’t move, but I wish you could! And that’s so cool about Eddie. Yes, you've convinced me. I’ll still sleep over and let Eddie scare away the mice. Ewww. I’m so glad he’s better.

Love you and write me back soon. Please!

Emma

Hi Emma!!

I just had the worst day. I wish you were here. I failed my geometry test. And then my dad was a complete arse. He cancelled this weekend and told me I was just like my mum and he needed a break. What the hell? And then I called Tom to see if he wanted to go to prom with me and he laughed. He just laughed. I’ve never felt so humiliated. I wish I could just go with you. I don’t know what I saw in Tom anyway. What a jerk-face. Who cares about the prom anyway. What are you going to do for prom? You’ll be at a real American Prom - you have to tell me all about it!

I’m including a few photos from the last couple of months. Some of them came out really blurry because I took them on my disposable camera. But there are some cute pics too. By the way, it was so good to talk to you yesterday, I’m so happy you called! We need to call each other more often. I know it gets a little costly but I always feel so much better after we talk and that way I don’t have to hurt my hand by writing such a long update, haha.

Love you so much, your best friend,

Sarah

Dearest Sarah,

It was so good to talk, you’re right. I’ll try to call again in a couple of days, so hopefully by the time you get this we will have already spoken. I’m sorry about your crappy day. And Tom is a complete piece of garbage. Why do you even like him? You deserve to go out with the most handsome, smartest, funniest guy in school. I thought you and the girls were all going to go together anyway. What happened to that plan? As for me, Prom Shrom. I don’t think I’m going to go. Courtney is going with her boyfriend Brian, and Hannah is going with Ben, and basically everybody has a date except me, and I don’t want to be the odd one out. So embarrassing. But also, I kind of want to go and check it out so I don’t know, maybe I’ll just go by myself. Meaning, with them, but by myself. I’ll have to see what the plan is.

I’m sorry your dad was also shitty. Has that gotten better? My dad can be such a jerk so you know I can relate. The other day he talked to me after Courtney came over because he felt like she was just using me in the friendship, that I am just a cause for her, a charity case. Like, thanks Dad! I guess the only reason someone would be my friend is because they feel sorry for me. Whatever. I’m so over it. By the way, I’ve been seeing previews for Never Been Kissed and it looks really good. Can’t wait to see it. Is Eddie still hanging around now that the weather is warming up? I hope so. I want to see him when I come visit in the summer. How are you and your mum doing alone on the farm? Seems like a lot of maintenance without your dad there. And is he being any better? Love you and chin up,

Emma

Dear Emma,

Prom Shrom? Who are you right now? And also, Eddie is gone! I’m so sad. I haven’t seen him in three days. I hope he comes back. I know it’s silly to feel connected to this owl but I care about him. I don’t want him to get hurt again. Your dad really is an arse. You’re amazing and anyone would be lucky to be your friend. I would know. Didn’t you mention your dad doesn’t have a lot of friends himself?

By the way, Tom kind of came around and guess what? He’s taking me to prom! Now I have to find a dress. And yes, the girls are going to go too. I’m not sure if we’ll all take a car or what we’re doing yet. I’ll send you pics. My mum is doing a decent job of maintaining the farm, and of course I pitch in where I can. She still sulks around though and I hate it. She’s almost 40, it’s like “Grow up Mum, get over it.” I know it’s hard on her. I think I just lose my patience sometimes.

Well, sorry this is short today but I have to get to the library to do some research on this essay I’m writing about the history of film. Can you believe in just two months summer will be here?! So excited!! When do you think you’ll be flying in?

Love you forever and ever,

Sarah

Dear Sarah,

School was dismissed early today, we were all sent home. There was a massacre at a high school here called Columbine, in Colorado. I'm shaken. I walked into my math class earlier and my teacher, Mr. Harris, was just staring at the news on the classroom TV, his hand over his mouth. We basically watched live updates the entire period. I still don't understand how those two boys just went in with trench coats and shot a bunch of students. I have goosebumps, and I'm terrified. My friend Kristin, who's in math class with me gave me a ride home since I didn't have any change to call my dad, and plus, he probably couldn't have left work early.

I don’t want to go back to school tomorrow. I mean, I know this was in a different state and everything but I’m scared. My school doesn’t have any metal detectors or anything like that. It’s just an open campus. I’m so sad for those kids. I can’t even imagine. It’s so so awful. I’m sure you will have heard about this by the time you get this letter.

Love you forever and I would die if anything happened to you,

Emma

Dear Emma,

Yes, we heard about the high school shooting - it was all over the local news. It's so horrid and tragic, I can't wrap my mind around it. I keep thinking of all those poor students who were stuck in those rooms and who had to die like that. I'd be scared too if I were in your shoes. How are you doing? Has the school put any plan into place? The girls and I lit candles for all the kids who lost their lives. It's so upsetting. I'm shaken too. And those poor parents. I pray this never ever happens again.

On a lighter note, because I don't want to send just a sad letter, Tom and I have been talking almost every day and things are going well with him. He said he’d drive me to the post office tomorrow so I can get more stamps. I also found a dress. It’s black and long and has a bare back. I hope it looks good. I needed your help picking it out! Haven’t you figured out how to teleport yet? I miss you and I wish you were here.

Oh, I saw previews for a new movie that’s coming out to the theaters. It’s called Notting Hill and it looks funny! And yay, it’s with our Hugh Grant. And all-time favorite, Julia Roberts. She’s stunning. I want her lips. By the way, Eddie came back to visit and he brought a friend! In all the time we’ve lived on this farm I’ve never seen two owls together. Eddie was a rarity so this is very exciting. Maybe they’ll mate and we’ll have a bunch of baby owls.

Almost forgot -- I saw your mum the other day at the grocery market. She misses you so much and can't wait to see you.

I love you, write me soon!

Sarah

Dear Sarah,

I’ve seen previews for Notting Hill too! Looking forward to seeing this one. And I’m so glad to hear about you and Tom. Does this mean I get to meet him when I come visit? Speaking of, I’m finally able to book my flight! It’s going to be on June 20th and I get to stay for two whole months, I’m so excited! School has been a little strange. There’s now an internal emailing system that the teachers have and just the other day Mrs. Roberts went to check her class computer about a threat that had been received. It was a false alarm but I was not thrilled to be sitting there thinking someone was on campus. It was really terrifying. Anyway, like my mum always says, I have to shake it off and not let fear get the best of me. We live each day to enjoy what we are given on this earth, and we can’t let fear stop our joys.

I can’t wait to see my mum when I come visit. I’m sure she loved running into you and will be happy for all the girls to come over for a slumber party when I get in. Do you think you’ll want to go with her to the airport to pick me up? I can’t wait to see you!

Also, please please please try to make it so that Eddie and his friend stay there until I can see him. I hope he lets me close enough to pet him.

Well I better wrap up and get to my homework. I have an exam next week in calculus I have to cram for, and I need to get my other papers done. I might actually earn college credit if I get a high enough score in calculus.

Three more weeks!! I’ve started collecting word puzzles from People magazine so I’ll have something to do on the flight. See you soon!

Love you to pieces,

Emma

Emma Love,

You may not get this before your flight, but just sending off the last letter of the year to say that I'll see you soon and yes, I'm going to come to the airport with your mum. I'm going to hold up a big welcome sign at the gate and balloons so you are thoroughly embarrassed, haha. I know it's been a rough year, and I'm proud of you for moving to America and adjusting so well. I know it was hard to leave your mum but I know your heart is in America because that's where you grew up, and I do get that. As long as you're happy, I'm happy. And you know you can always move back here if you want. We are your home too. OK, putting this pen down now and about to lick my last stamp for a while, woohoo!

Big hugs and see you soon Ems! Best friends forever,

Sarah

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Dana Maxwell

She/Her. Coffee and cat lover. Film and television enthusiast. Random thought thinker. If only every decade could be as cool as the 90s.

T: @danamaxwell30

IG: @danamaxwellsmart

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.