Fiction logo

Letters on handkerchief

Kimura is a young reporter for a Japanese magazine.

By QaboosPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

Kimura is a young reporter for a Japanese magazine.

  On this day, he went to a certain place for an interview, and just got off the train and checked into the hotel, when he received an inexplicable invitation. The invitation said that the Sakura Hot Spring Banshan Hotel, which is ten kilometers away, will hold a unique and happy party tonight. Be sure to invite him to come at that time, and a considerable fare will be attached to the invitation.

  Kimura frowned because he had been to the Mid-Levels Hotel half a month ago. Late that night, a young lady named Mika Nagawa jumped from the sixth floor and committed suicide in the middle of the night. There was a suicide note in the bedroom where she lived, saying that because she couldn't help falling in love with a married man, she couldn't get rid of it, so she had to die. She still had a handkerchief in her hand with the letters "m · c" embroidered on it. Only a few minutes before she committed suicide, she had a long-distance phone call with her parents about it. Her parents were horrified when they heard her story. She finally persuaded her to change her mind, and she promised them not to commit suicide again. Little did she know that the phone was put down, and she jumped off the building. This incident was very strange. Kimura was present at the time and felt sorry for the lady. But today I received an invitation, and it was an inexplicable invitation.

  Kimura hesitated for a long time, but decided to go and have a look, maybe he could gain something.

  So he called a taxi and went straight to the hotel.

  As soon as the hotel receptionist saw the invitation, he politely led him into a very luxurious room.

  There were already four people waiting in the room, and they also came because they had received the same invitation. The four were two men and two women. Among the men, one is over fifty years old, with two eight-character beards and a dignified appearance; the other is thirty-six or seven years old, with a melon head and a jujube face, a thief, and not like a serious person. The two women, one in his thirties, are handsome and vulgar, with a radiant appearance; the other is in his early forties, although not a beauty, but also very elegant.

  Everyone waited left and right, but there was no sign of "Izu Mieko" on the invitation. When I asked the waiter, I realized that she had paid for it long ago, and only said that she wanted them to treat the five well, and I didn't know anything else. This incident made everyone confused like the second monk, and they were stunned, not knowing what to do.

  On the other hand, Kimura was calm, and he said with a smile: "As soon as you come, let's be at peace. Since someone paid us to have a good night, we don't have to be polite. As the saying goes, we pass the past life, not to mention We have to get together all night. Let's introduce ourselves first. My name is Kimura and I work in a magazine. I happened to be here on a business trip today, and someone sent me an invitation, so I'm here too. In fact, I've been here once half a month ago."

  Seeing that he had introduced himself, everyone calmed down and reported their names one after another.

  As soon as he heard everyone's names, Kimura immediately moved in his heart. Ah, it turns out that the first two letters of the pinyin of these five people's names are both "m · c". It can be seen that the people who invited them did not invite them aimlessly, but came prepared. When I asked where they were half a month ago, they were actually staying in the Mid-Levels Hotel at the time. This further shows that this gathering is related to the Mei Cai case.

  Since Kimura guessed the master's intention, he was a little angry and said, "This time, the five of us were invited here to attend the party. I wonder if you have guessed the intention of the master who never showed up?"

  Everyone said: "I was about to ask for advice."

  Kimura said: "To put it bluntly, it has something to do with the death of Miss Mirae half a month ago. As far as I can see, since this girl just had a long-distance phone call with her parents and promised them not to commit suicide, she jumped off the building in less than a minute. It doesn't make sense to reason, it can be seen that most of them have problems; besides, she has a handkerchief embroidered with the word'm · c 'in her hand, which means there is a problem. I don't know if you have noticed, the five of us here, the letters at the beginning of the pinyin of our names are all it. And it just so happens that we all lived here half a month ago."

  As soon as these words came out, the other four people were shocked. Everyone, look at me, I look at you, and stand there for a while.

  The mustache said first: "Mr. Kimura, don't implicate me as an old man. Although I have a handkerchief, I never use this kind of delicate DiDi handkerchief."

  The younger man also said: "It was purely accidental that I came to the Mid-Levels Hotel. Besides, I have long forgotten what a handkerchief looks like except for the one or two handkerchiefs I used when I was a child. Miss and wife in the world, if there is a peach incident, it will never happen to my head."

  Kimura smiled and said, "Things like handkerchiefs are always related to women. The two men can rest assured."

  As soon as these words came out, the two women immediately became nervous.

  The beautiful young lady blushed and said, "Mr. Kimura, please go on."

  Kimura said, "Miss Mirae's suicide note clearly states that it involves a married man. Miss is still single, of course it has nothing to do with you."

  As a result, everyone's eyes were fixed on the woman named Mei Chun.

  She said bluntly, "You... you... you are not allowed to talk nonsense..."

  Kimura said: "I'm afraid it's not nonsense. The reason why you came here was to follow Miss Mirae. Seeing that she was about to commit suicide, to remove a piece of your heart disease, she suddenly changed her mind after talking to her parents on the phone, so you pushed her downstairs in a hurry. And she also accidentally grabbed your handkerchief..."

  Before the words were finished, Mei Chun was already crying at her desk, admitting that Mei Cai was killed by her.

  Kimura asked the waiter to call the police.

  Kimura said: "Actually, the credit is not entirely on me. On the inviter, I guess it must be Miss Mika's relatives. He must also suspect that Miss Mika did not commit suicide, so he artificially arranged such a party. I don't know who he will be. Woolen cloth?"

  Kimura returned to the house and found a letter on the bed. When he opened it, several lines of beautiful handwriting came into his eyes.

  It reads: "Mr. Kimura, thank you for avenging my sister. When I learned that my sister committed suicide, I rushed to the scene and found that the handkerchief was not my sister's, but unfortunately the police ignored this. I set out to investigate the matter myself, and found that there were five people who lived here half a month ago with the initials'm.c ', and you were one of them, so I invited you to come here. I know that among those invited, there must be a murderer, and someone must find out the real murderer.

  The letter was signed "Izu Mieko".

  Kimura put the letter back in the envelope and wrote the story.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Qaboos

I'm Qaboos and I speak for myself.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.