Fiction logo

Letters From a Lost Kingdom (3)

This letter was found in one of the bags of a spy, written before the usurpation and the palace massacre. It'll be easy to make copies of it. The condition is good.

By Mei LinPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Letters From a Lost Kingdom (3)
Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

I think you should take a closer look at this. There's a code. The lord of Maleficia had written it to give an order to one of his most trusted spies. We suspect they may have something more than just a professional relationship.

To Perion,

I hope you'll be able to attend the coronation ball in my place for the first night; you need the rest after everything you've done for me. Find some new clothes for yourself. There's enough gold inside this bag for you to get something suitable and the excess goes to you.

This letter isn't really a request for something or a new job I have for you. I've noticed that I haven't really taken the time to appreciate all that you do for me, even if you are hired. As for your housing arrangement, I've already taken care of that. You'll find the address enclosed with this letter.

I'll come join you soon. There are just other matters that need to be taken care of first. Knowing that the Nyumayan princess is coming through the Dark Forest has brought a lot of anxiety to the people here in Maleficia. My mothers have tasked me with putting them at ease.

You know how they can be sometimes. Although for some reason, they've been a lot busier than usual, and they've locked the East Wing from me. Even if I had you here to help me, I'm sure we wouldn't be able to pick it. They've sealed it with their magic. Maybe when we come back, we can talk freely about our speculations on this matter.

Hopefully, this letter ends up in the right hands, otherwise they'll see how informally I'm speaking to you and the son of Maleficia isn't supposed to do that. But nevermind me, what about you? Tell me everything that's happened since your last letter. Don't leave a single detail out.

Have you seen Fleurety or Deidrick? I wouldn't blame you if she doesn't show herself; she's always engrossed in a book. How about him? I remember he used to take all the young nobles including me to his parents' summer palace, just to fool around. I wish you'd been there.

I've heard that his parents are building him and Aster a new tower. A coronation gift. Even Base'el had shown some interest in it judging from the last letter he sent me.

He's more distant now and I can't place why. Maybe that's my next job for you; take a quick detour on your way back from the ball. Sneak into his living quarters and find something useful for me. I'm kidding. Don't do that. It's hard enough to sneak into their House, much less his own bedroom.

Speaking of which, his sister, Iblisera hadn't been seen for a long while. Rumors are already spreading about it and despite not knowing her, I'm concerned as well. There are people saying she could be sick, but Base'el has made it known to me that she's stronger against diseases than the whole family. He'd said that she might have never gotten sick in her whole life, which seemed pretty far-fetched but I kept that to myself.

Have you heard any news on Aster, our new queen? Fleurety seemed to know her well and apparently, she's the perfect match for Deidrick. On top of that, she seems to be the only one who could knock some sense into our new king; she had to pull him out of a frozen pond once because he decided it was a good idea to jump in to see how horribly it could go wrong. That's just my opinion of course. He was researching something about the human body.

He's been more on edge though and the last time I spoke to him, he barely heard a word I'd said. It's like talking to a wall. Never had he been this way before, even when we used to steal some food from the palace kitchen and run to hide from trouble. In fact, he used to leave us behind in the dust, barreling down the hall. I'm sure the both of you would have gotten along extremely well if you'd met him then.

Introduce yourself. I know he still has some of that fun inside of him even if we're all older now and he has a kingdom to rule. Everyone's anticipation for what he might do can be heard all across Maleficia, no matter where you go. I hope he remembers us when he gets crowned.

Oh, I also apologize. There is a task I need you to do. I'll make up for this, I promise.

With love, Veridion.

---

The rest of us are already looking for it, professor. In case you haven't figured it out which I doubt, read the first letter of the third sentence in each paragraph. We need your expertise on this. Please come help us as soon as possible.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Mei Lin

She/Her

Hello! I'm a college student trying to publish my stories somewhere and I love creating worlds out of thin air.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.