Fiction logo

Leaves on the way to grow

What leaf does not find its place in the world at last

By amy dancyPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

The sun was shining yesterday, working overtime for a month and finally resting, so I rode a broken bicycle, in the hot sun greedily with eyes to take pictures of the familiar city in those long time familiar scenery -- completely regardless of the hand face is exposed to the heat, fortunately, such as clouds of cool beauty always can bring me a pleasing to the eye to enjoy.

Back home came to gold green road encountered traffic jam, even the bike lane is very difficult to pass, although there are still beauty in the eye, but after all, still some choked. As a result, when I finally cleared the road, I stomped wildly, leaving my companions far behind. Tired, stopped at the side of the road and other partners, did not expect to suddenly hear someone call my name, the voice clear and firm. Look back, a graceful girl qiao behind me with a smile looked at me. I was stunned for a moment, and then all my memories of her flashed into my mind: I knew her three years ago in the university campus, but at that time she was a timid little girl who just graduated from junior middle school and came out of her hometown to make a living in Kunming.

"Little leaf! I called her name off the top of my head, and it was right. "Oh, you remember me... What a surprise to meet you here!" I can see that the girl in front of me is no longer the shy and timid little sister three years ago. Her face is sunny and her eyes are full of confidence. After a short conversation, I learned that she is now working in a pharmaceutical company, life is relatively happy. She made an appointment with a friend, so we just left each other's phone numbers and parted.

My companion was waiting for me in surprise not far away. When I caught up with him, I could not contain my excitement and told him the whole process of my acquaintance with Lily.

Three years ago, I was in the middle of a romance and the thrill of dancing in shackles. Whenever my girlfriend came to my campus, we would go to the famous street near the campus to have snacks. On a late autumn weekend, golden ginkgo biloba was floating in the clouds. After my girlfriend accompanied me to the bookstore, we went to the snack bar together. I stuffed a fragrant bun in my mouth and eagerly opened the newly bought Reader to browse the contents. At this time, my girlfriend pulled my sleeve, I looked up at her, she nuzzled me to see the front, I looked at the front some confused, originally, the store has a new waiter. I thought my girlfriend was driving one of those "Look, girl! "Joke, so shave her nose to continue to read my book, girlfriend or pull my sleeve to let me see, then I noticed that the new waiter is not me, but the book in my hands! Her expression was so intent that it seemed as if her eyes were fastened by an invisible thread stretching from the Reader.

I see her along while she just reaction come over, the face suddenly red: "elder brother, you like to see this magazine very much?" ", I nodded, she suddenly smiled, as if to find the general bosom friend: "I also like to see! I saw it twice when I was in junior high school back home..." Maybe because of this book, I suddenly felt very close to her. "Did you just graduate from junior high school this year?" I asked her, somewhat surprised. She turned to the inside of the store looked, did not see the boss, so it is very readily told me: "Yes, I graduated from junior high school this year, the home does not let me study, so I ran out to work. If I stay at home, I'll get married soon!" I was surprised at her cheerfulness, considering we had known each other less than ten minutes before.

The girl friend beside did not make fun of me as "small sex maniac" before, but looked at her like a big sister. I knew my girlfriend, and she, like me, was struck by the timid look in the little girl's eyes. That's the look a rabbit gets when it's scared.

I wanted to say something to her, but when she kept looking in and worried, I had to choke off the desire to continue our conversation -- she had to work, or her boss would not be happy. "Brother, nice to meet you! My name is Lily, and I have gone to work!" Then she turned and walked briskly into the inner room. In that way, my life out of thin air a breeze in the drift, do not know where tomorrow will fall to the small leaves, more than a little sister.

As my girlfriend and I ate our food and were leaving, we both decided to give the magazine to the girl, whom I thought would play a greater role. Her girlfriend took out a pen and paper from her bag. "Why?" I asked her. "Give the little sister her number. I want to talk to her again." I smiled and left the phone number of my girlfriend and me on the paper, put the paper in the magazine carefully, and gave the book to xiao Ye when she came out. Her barrage of thanks embarrassed us.

After that, Lily would call me and my girlfriend when he was free. More of the time, girlfriend because the road can not see her, I will be a person with small leaves chat, far and wide, chat very open. With the understanding of this little girl, I am more and more in the psychological secretly admire this little girl's self-improvement and independence.

After she arrived in Kunming with little money, she did a variety of jobs in just a few months. Because she was younger, she was often asked to do dirty work. She did not slack off or complain. She usually worked silently. I imagined her carrying a bucket twice as heavy as she was, and a faint pang flashed through my heart -- she was only a child. What's more, because she is pretty, there are often some rude bad guys who want to bully her. After meeting someone who wanted to bully her, the poor little leaf had no choice but to leave the place and look for a new job in the flood of people. "I hated those who tried to bully me, but I had no way to teach them a lesson and had to leave," she said. "Most of the time, I felt helpless... Brother, I am just like a little leaf. I cannot resist the wind blowing me off the tree, nor can I control the direction and place where I fall. I do not know where the cold wind will blow me, but I must drift along with it..."

Say these words, I can feel the little leaf in the heart that kind of deep pain, but she did not cry, clear eyes inside there is the kind of life bow to surrender strength. She also told me that when she arrived in Kunming, her biggest wish was to study computer well and find a decent job in the future. There was not much I could do for a poor student, so I found some books on basic computer knowledge and gave her my old Reader magazine. I sincerely hope she can be very good, so I keep encouraging her. I know, although we have not known each other for a long time, but my words will be useful to her, the little girl suffered from too much cold, as long as a trace of warmth can let her see the whole spring.

Soon, the final exam arrived, busy review to meet the exam, I can no longer have a good chat with the little leaf. I remember that when I finished the first test, Xiao Ye blocked me at the door of our dormitory and stuffed a letter to me. It was filled with words of thanks to me and my girlfriend and god. After I read it, I wanted to cry -- I had done so little for her that I couldn't afford to thank her like that. After I told my girlfriend about it, she kept silent for a long time and told me to keep the letter well. She also said that in the future, she would care for little Leaf as much as possible. So I kept the letter until I moved last year and lost it.

When I went to the store again after the final exam, She had changed her job again -- I wonder if she had met the bully here too? I couldn't get in touch with her, so I waited wistfully for her to call me, but I never heard from her again. Has she gone back to her hometown? I surmised and hoped so. Because she is so young, I am really worried about her losing out in this city where the competition for survival is a bit brutal. I would think, is she found "rely on"? Well, at least she had someone to protect her... Can't think of so many possibilities, I simply with a cavity of melancholy down she does not want to.

When the new semester began, my short-lived love affair came to an end, and my phone fell into the toilet and completely broke down. Changed the phone changed the number, I feel that love into a permanent memory at the same time, that little leaf has become a memory. Later, work, life and other events almost squeezed these two memories out of my mind. Unexpectedly, I met little Ye Zi miraculously in this cold city yesterday, and both of us could still name each other, which could not but be said to be fate.

"Brother, you have not changed much! I'm really happy and surprised to meet you again! Keep in touch and go out for tea when you are free!" The phone rings. It's A text from Xiao Ye. I wrote back, "You are mature and confident. I am so happy for you, little leaf!"

Yes, she is a small leaf that happened to meet on jinbi road. I am also a leaf, floating in the city forest, looking for their own place. What leaf does not find its place in the world at last?

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

amy dancy

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.