Fiction logo

Learn to conquer yourself

Conquer the world, is not great, a conquer yourself, is the greatest person in the world

By Parton BTangPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Someone said: conquer the world, is not great, a conquer themselves, is the greatest person in the world. I recall one such story from this sentence.

It is said that in the gravestone forest in the basement of the world-famous Westminster Cathedral, there is a gravestone which reads: "When I was young, my imagination was never limited. I dreamed of changing the world. As I grew older, I realized that I could not change the world. I shortened my sights and decided to change only my country. As I grew old, I found that I could not change my country. My last wish was simply to change my family. But that's not possible. As I lay on my deathbed, I suddenly realized that if I had first changed only myself, then by example, I might have changed my family. With the help and encouragement of my family, I might be able to do something for my country. And then, who knows? I might even change the world."

When Nelson Mandela, a young South African, read these words, it made him think about life. He had an Epiphany and realized the true meaning of life. After returning to South Africa, Mandela changed some of his original ideas and practices, starting from the change of his own thinking and style of life, determined to change himself first. After decades of suffering and struggle, he not only changed himself, but also changed his country.

Mandela's story set me thinking. Around us, it is common to hear some people complain, they tend to blame their frustration or failure on the surrounding environment and others, or even always want to change others to adapt to their own. In fact, the above story tells us that conquering the world is not necessarily great. A person can conquer themselves, is the greatest person in the world. To know that life is the biggest enemy is yourself. If a person wants to make a difference, it is necessary to put the critical eyes on their own body, to the scientific development of the eyes to examine themselves, anatomy, conquer themselves.

From the day I entered the prison in 1957, although I was a little afraid, I was not really afraid, because the social practice of the past 20 years of life has taught me that there is no road that is impossible, and there is no bridge that cannot be crossed. Now that you've crossed the threshold, there's no turning back. You don't want to move forward, which is absolutely impossible. Besides, since 1954, I had been subjected to repeated scrutiny by my so-called superiors, and I could tell from their words that this was not a good thing and that bad times were in store for me. Sooner or later, that day will come. What difference does it make to be early and late?

Anyone else would have walked into that cell with a shudder, but what about me? Rice according to eat, is porridge, plus two radish dry. Sleep, only not on a spring bed at home, but on a hard, bouncing concrete floor. Good thing I fell asleep and didn't have nightmares. Of course, I know this is a risky move, but I still remember this saying: the good and the bad must be taken. Today is over, and there's always tomorrow. This is actually the first step that I learned to conquer myself.

Although I also know that I can't be a big man, but I will not be an idle person, I have been trying to create a miracle, what kind of miracle, I don't know at the moment. But the most important thing is, I'm doing, I'm doing, I'm giving. I have always insisted on the practical action to conquer themselves. That's enough.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.