Fiction logo

Last Plates

Kinstugi (B.S.D.) Chapter 7

By D.C. SenjuPublished 2 years ago 30 min read
1
Last Plates
Photo by Juliette F on Unsplash

Driving on a dark morning with minimal light passing through the cash family car. The dead of silence loomed in the vehicle as the sun was getting up to see the next day. "Amar, where we go now," asked Nho? Looking into the distance, feelings of anxiety crept up Amar's body like a batch of spiders "…" only silence replied instantly. "Where, Amar," asked Nho. "Sorry, Nho, I was just thinking. We are going to visit one of my friends. They recently got a house in Red Canshal. Hopefully, he'll have space for one more," laughed Amar as he wiped underneath his eyes while the sun began to waltz its way to the sky.

The warmth of the vibrant light shined through the window. Getting closer to the house in Red Canshal, an uncomfortable vibe began to surge through Amar's veins. "Huh, I don't recall Dondar having two cars," said Amar as he began to pull into the driveway. "I mean, I knew the kid had bread. Aye, you do what you do with what you have. The car seems so familiar." Nho asked, pulling on his sleeve, "Get out of a car?" "Nah, Nho, you stay in the car and cover yourself. Ima ring the doorbell and check in with him to ensure it's alright," said Amar.

Making it to the doorstep, fixing himself up to look presentable, Amar rang the doorbell a couple of times. "This man Dondar going to roast me. I look a mess," chuckled Amar. After pressing the doorbell a couple more times, a feminine voice appeared on the other side. "Oh, my guy already got himself a lady friend in the crib. He definitely slew the dragon," laughed Amar. The fidgeting of clicks rose from the locks on the front door. With the sunlight sliding through the front door as it opened, anxiousness began to take over as Amar closed his eyes. "Hey, sorry to intrude on you, miss, but could you get my friend Dondar," asked Amar? "Why are you here, Ox?"

Standing in the doorway was Jasmine wearing an oversized T-shirt and slippers. "That's why I felt that vibe; Jasmine, what are you doing here." "I live here. Now answer my question, why are you here," asked Jasmine. "I'm here to see Dondar. Can he come to the door? I gotta talk to him," asked Amar. "Don is in bed resting; why do you look like a mess? As a matter of fact, whatever trouble you've gotten yourself into, keep it to yourself. We've been living a peaceful life since Highschool ended. I don't need you fucking it up again," said Jasmine as she was closing the door. "I didn't ask for all that other information. Could you please get Dondar," said Amar as his eyes were rolling to see the back of his eyebrows. "Dondar is tired, especially since he got some exercise this morning." "I can tell. I see his salty sweat on the corner of your mouth. Oh, look like someone turned rawber,"

rawber* (Rah- ber) Appearance matches the color of Raw umber. To signify your cheeks are becoming red.

"You gonna let me through or stay stuck like a statue," asked Amar. "I mean it, Amar, you're not coming in here. Every time something involves you, you have to be a special character to make it through the issue. I don't want us to be caught up in your issues; you're bad luck," said Jasmine. "I'm tired of repeating myself," said Amar as he opened the door and began to walk in. Putting her hand in the middle of Amar's chest, Jasmine said, "Listen to the words coming out of my mouth. You aren't gonna see Dondar you are going to get into your car and leave us alone." A slow creak appeared, with tension expanding on the doorstep, followed by a door opening. "Jasmine, everything alright? I was waiting for you. I felt like you were taking a while to get some water wanted to make sure you're okay," said Dondar. "Yes, I'm doing alright. I was gonna go get the water, then I heard someone at the door," replied Jasmine. "Who's that at the door, asked Dondar as he rubbed his eyes. "I-its it's Amar at the door," mumbled Jasmine. "It's who?" "It's Amar," shouted Jasmine.

"OOOOOOHHH Shiiiiittt!" shouted Dondar as a burst of energy got him down the stairs with speed. "Amar, how y- Amar why you look like you was just jumped? You look a mess, my guy," said Dondar. "Appreciate the kind words. I have an urgent favor to ask you." Before an answer was given, Jasmine tugged on Dondar's Arm. Looking into her eyes, the perception of fear and anxiety brewed slowly, awaiting the answer. "Jasmine, don't worry, it'll be fine. What's good, what's the favor." "Would it be cool for my brother and me to crash here until we got our energy back to travel to West Clunlade?" "Sure, yeah, yall can sleep up in the guest bedroom," said Dondar.

"I appreciate that; thanks for riding out," replied Amar as he turned away from the doorstep. As the two watched, Amar picked up a rock and chucked it at the side of his car. "Are you good! I know you didn't just throw that at your whip," said Dondar. Caught off guard, Dondar saw a gray van that looked like someone attempted to break into it and didn't give in easily. With windows looking like seconds from falling apart to dents plastered all on the side, a chill ran across the surface of Dondars skin. A waterfall of questions began to pour into the mind but couldn't come out the mouth. Peeking through the car window, Nho looked around to see Amar's hand waving. "Nho, you can come out of the car. Bring one of the bags with you. I'll get the other two."

Bringing the bag out of the car, Nho walked over towards the doorstep. Looking up at Dondar then, Jasmine Nho asked, "Who you?" With a big smile on his face, Dondar told Nho, "Ima be taking care of you when your brother no longer can?" Nho looked into Dondars eyes and replied, "What?" Laughing near the trunk of his car, Amar shouted, "Nho, they are my friends. You can go inside." "Your brother is quite expressive. You sure he's autistic?" asked Dondar? "They come in many varieties, but he's certified not too far up the spectrum," replied Amar as he was getting the last two bags out of the car. "Pickle head one and Pickle head two, you should move the cars so that Amar's car isn't as noticeable. That way, whoever did that too, you don't realize you're here if they decided to follow you," said Jasmine as she grabbed A bag from Amar's hand. "What's got you so aggressive," asked Amar. "I thought I would be enjoying the rest of my day, but there's some adventure awaiting since you're here. So I need yall to speed up the process to go back inside. Also, you don't look strong enough to carry this bag, your body already shaking carrying one by yourself." "Didn't think you'd notice the shaking," said Amar as he began to walk with one bag through the front door. Amar's legs began to cave underneath him as his vision went dark, and he passed out at the doorway.

As consciousness began to float in a dark void, familiar voices sounded as if they were coming from a distance. "Higher power, I come to you today for I do not know what will happen next, but I ask you to give my son my strength if I'm no longer able to use it, amen." "Dad! Dad is that you!" shouted Amar. "It's okay to be scared, Amar. I ask you to continue being strong and protect those with kind hearts who can't stand themselves." "Mom …. Dad? Don't go, don't leave us by ourselves. We need you!" shouted Amar. As the light radiated, the dark void faded along with the voices. "We'll always be with you, Amar. We have faith in you." reaching out, Amar shouted, "Wait!"

As Amar sprung up in a sweat with a heavy gasp, reality returned. "Amar, how are you feeling? You collapsed the moment you walked through the door," said Dondar. "Where am I, where- where's Nho," asked Amar as he looked around in fright. "Relax, Amar, your brother is upstairs in the spare bedroom," said Jasmine as she placed a cup of tea on the table in front of him. "Is this Tea poisoned?" "Fuck you, Ox," said Jasmine. "Your little brother broke down crying when they saw you collapsed on the floor. He even put up a little fight when I tried to help you get to the couch. Little man didn't want to leave your side as you slept. After falling asleep next to you, I recently brought him upstairs," said Dondar. "I appreciate it, Don. Thank you for the Tea Jasmine; it was needed." As the room fell still, unanswered questions began to wait in line before entering the air.

"I see you two have that look on your face; you eager to know what happened, huh?" asked Amar. "Aye, man, take your time and tell me when you ready. I can see from your brother, you, your car, there was a lot of shit that went down," "I think letting us know what happened can help you mentally, isn't that what they say in those psych books you read," asked Jasmine. "What they call it, therapy? Like a form of getting your thoughts out. That way, they don't crowd your head or judgment," said Dondar. "Guess the students are using the therapy on the master, huh," chuckled Amar.

As the room became still, the walls listened along with Dondar and Jasmine about what unfolded in the cash residence. With anxiousness causing thirst to increase, Dondar reached for his glass of orange juice. Unable to find it on the table, he witnessed Jasmine sipping away at his juice. As Amar put his cup down, he looked up then said, "Right now, I have to get my little brother into child services so they can protect him because we are on our own." "Wait, did your parents kick you out? Dam, I didn't know they were on that type of time. They must've wanted that house for themselves," said Dondar.

Shmack* "Don, he's not finished," said Jasmine as she lowered her hand after it made a delivery to Don's head. A small chuckle came from Amar as a single tear started to flow down from his left eye, "Nah, they didn't do that the neighborhood did, but they did leave us behind." "Hold up. Nah, I know your parents wouldn't abandon you, did they?" Shmack* "Stop jumping to conclusions," said Jasmine as her hand returned from making another delivery. After taking a sip of tea, Amar replied, "Nah, they didn't abandon us. They put up a fight tho." "I don't understand. What do you mean then?" asked Dondar. Annoyed, Jasmine shouted, "Can you quit with the riddles and be blunt for once?" As Amar wiped his tears and covered his eyes with his right thumb and middle finger, he leaned back, facing the roof. "The neighborhood killed my parents." Mere seconds later, a grin turned to a shaking ridge deciding to be mute or not. Amar's slow, hesitant breathing could be heard in the center of the room's silence.

"Wait, what? Are you serious? Like your parents are gone? Like they passed on yesterday?" asked Jasmine. "No, they're not gone. They went on vacation, and I decided to come down here looking like a hot mess with my brother in a beaten car," said Amar. "No reason for you to be an ass." "Wait, how do you know your neighborhood was involved in your parent's death?" asked Dondar. "I was about to begin driving the car to leave the house with my brother. A neighbor across the street shot at my brother and me. Not only that, the man done ordered the other neighbors coming out of his house to attack the car and get my brother and me out of it," said Amar as he wiped his face. "Wait, hold up, Amar. I saw blood on parts of that car, did you..?" "If it means my brother making it out of that neighborhood alive and me, I'll go high or low."

With air in the living room becoming heavier, goosebumps arrived on the audience as they tuned in. "I'll be back. I'm gonna grab one of your hoodies, Don. I'm freezing," said Jasmine. "Wa-wait then, how did your parents pass? Was it the neighborhood or the person who shot at you?" asked Jasmine before she left the living room. As Jasmine waited for the answer, not another step was taken. A hesitation had appeared before answering. Soft, deep breaths could be heard being taken at the center of the stage in the living room. "My parents. I believe my parents were killed by a hitman; I will find out who hired them. Someone had come into the house late at night after I had hung out with the Tolin twins. My mom asked me to run away with my little brother and money bags. My pops, I didn't see him before the whole altercation. I did get to talk to him before getting to the house. He told me he was proud of me. I think he even said something in my sleep." said Amar as his deep breaths sounded more hesitant at a quickened pace.

Drops of tears began to fall. After each tear battled for minutes, the end result led to hitting the ground. "My dad was stabbed and shot in the kitchen. My mom was shot multiple times outside," Frozen Jasmine remained seated on the floor. "What did you do, Amar?" asked Dondar. An expression of feeling vanished, leaving a blank face with a lifeless tone. "I walked down on him; he claimed he didn't see me. I'm just too fast for him. He doesn't gotta worry about breathing anymore," chuckled Amar. A vision dismissed in the past reappeared in front of Dondars eyes. Electricity Was visible in front of Amar's eyes as it began to crackle. In a similar tone except for the color once before, the static presented a dark void of black 3.0.

"What's that crackling noise," asked Jasmine. As she got up and began walking towards the boys. Not wasting time, Dondar smacked Amar. The crackling disappeared. "Amar, are you alright," asked Dondar. "I mean, I'd feel better if you didn't smack me." "So you haven't noticed?" "Noticed what," asked Amar? "Yeah, notice what, Dondar," asked Jasmine. Getting up from his seat, Dondar walked over to Jasmine. "Amar, it's not gonna be good to bottle up those emotions. As you told me, it's not healthy to bottle up all those feelings. You gotta let them out, even if it's bit by bit. I think you've noticed, you gotta begin your mourning process. We'll give you some space. We'll be in the room upstairs 2nd door on the right," said Dondar. Patting Amar on the shoulder, Dondar cradled Jasmine's arm and walked upstairs. "I appreciate it; the man knows the code," said Amar as he took a sip of his tea. Drip by Drip, tears began to flow with haste falling into the teacup.

In the couples' room, Jasmine asked, "Why did you take us out of the living room when Amar? He needs comforting, not isolation." Sitting on the bed, sinking in further, feeling the weight of the situation, Dondar laid back. "I get it. You believe he shouldn't be isolated. Let him process this moment for himself first. He will need his time before he feels comfortable reaching out." Sitting down next to Dondar, a face of a point being missed resembled Jasmine's face. "Jasmine, Amar told me how people choose a different route when dealing with their emotions. Some seak out help right away; others wait. Amar coming to us was his way of seeking out help. His mind moves fast to where he wouldn't have let himself process those emotions he just went through. Now that we pulled it out of him gotta give him his time to process his emotions." With a big smirk on her face, Jasmine cuddled up on Dondar. "He's lucky to have a friend like you." "I know, right, but I am too. Amar had my back. He helped to give navigation, which I was able to use. As Jasmine put her hands on Dondars face, with closed eyes, rested his face in her palm. Wiping a trail of tears off Dondars face, he opened his eyes to meet an alluring attraction pull him in. Soft breaths of air with warm smirks began to bundle together as the attraction mixed together. Knock Knock*

"It's probably Nho," said Jasmine. "The little one probably needs water or something to eat after his day." "Little? That boy almost half your height, Jasmine, stop playing," laughed Dondar. The smack of a pillow being launched filled the room. "I'm coming, eh? There is no way you are done grieving that fast," said Jasmine as she stood in front of Amar. "I'm not, but crying doesn't help fix anything in the past. I have to keep moving forward. Plus, I still have to take care of Nho and bring him to a city that would take him in." Folding her arms, Jasmine went to sit back down next to Dondar. "Jasmine, what are you pouting for," Dondar Chuckled. "So Amar, what's the plan," "Gonna catch my sleep for now. When I'm more rested, I plan to get back on the road and drop off Nho over to West Clundale residential agency. Hopefully, they'll take care of him till I can settle a court date and be able to be his legal guardian."

"Sounds like a plan. Want me to tuck you in," asked Dondar? "Man, don't make me throw a pillow at you too," laughed Amar. "You heard that?" "Yeah, I was outside the door laughing. Also, Jasmine, I appreciate the thoughtfulness you give to my brother. I can't tell what he's thinking, but I know it's making life easier for him." With a face turning into Raw umber, Jasmine looked away from Amar. "As long as you know I'm not doing this for you. Your welcome," said Jasmine.

As a glisten rose from the floor, Amar squatted to see it. "Hey Amar, take some water. Hydrating will help you sleep easier," said Dondar as he tossed a mini water bottle. As the water bottle traveled, it went past Amar going over his head. Seconds became milliseconds, milliseconds became microseconds, and microseconds became picoseconds. Time slowed down in Amar's eyes as he watched the water bottle be air-born. "Bet you won't be able to catch it," said Jasmine as she threw a bouncy ball towards Amar. Leaning back as if stretching to go underneath a limbo stick, Amar snatched the bottle and caught the bouncy ball. "Oh shit, Amar, good catch. You sure you're tired," asked Dondar? "I'm starting to feel slightly slower now," replied Amar as he began to stumble. "Boy, send yourself to bed and go get your rest," added Jasmine. "Bet, I'll get my rest. Here's your stuff tho." Landing in Jasmine's lap, the ball bounced, but an item gleamed right on the brim of her sock. "Wait, hold up, when did you pick up my earring. I didn't see you pick it up!" "I'm going to get my rest, Jasmine. You have a good night."

As the bedroom door closed, the sound of weight passing out on a mattress traveled through the walls. "Sounds like he just dropped on the bed. I hope he didn't squish his little brother ill wack him two with a switch stack," said Jasmine as she cuddled up with Dondar. "Jasmine, those are fighting words. He's not your kid," Laughed Dondar. "Do you think they're gonna be alright," asked Jasmine. "Yeah, I feel like they are gonna be alright. It's definitely best for them to catch their sleep being up all night, going through emotional, mental, and physical fatigue. He must've had a busy night can't imagine handling the emotions running through his head. Something like what went on can definitely break people. For good or for worse, only time can tell."

"Oooooooh aren't you such a philosopher, educated, muscular, with a little cushion for me to grab," said Jasmine as her fingers tip-toped up Dondars chest. "Jasmine, I've been thinking, and I've decided to help Amar bring his little brother to the city so that they both can make it there safe." "You what?!" "Sssshhh, they're sleeping next door." Turning over, facing away from Dondar, Jasmine asked, "Do you even know what you are signing up for? Do you see how exhausted he is? There may be more going on that we don't know, more than Amar even knows." Rolling over to Jasmine, Dondar held her and said, "I see how exhausted he looks, but remember he's doing it all while protecting his brother. Jasmine, that's a lot for one individual to take on. Knowing Amar, his minds made on taking it on by himself."

Taking Dondars arm off her, Jasmine stood out of bed with a pouty face. "Dondar, were you not listening to Amar? People are trying to kill him! Do you think he wants you to get tangled up in a mess and have people try to kill you?" said Jasmine. "He didn't say people were trying to kill him." "Yeah, a man comes in your house late, kills both your parents in the night, Then a neighbor across the street shoots at you; that affirms me they're not trying to kill him." "Well, what am I supposed to do? Just sit and hope my brother makes it safely and let life magically come back together in twenty-four hours?" asked Dondar as he sat upon the bed. "I'm not saying just sit and hope maybe the police could help out with this situation."

"The police? Are you serious? Jasmine, the people, took Amar's parents. I know it doesn't seem like it now; vengeance is brewing on Amar's mind. You aren't gonna get vengeance once you involve the police," said Dondar. "We'll ill have security knowing that you're safe. I don't want something bad to happen to you," said Jasmine as she began to sniffle. A stream started to flow as tears glided down umber cheeks. "Jasmine, it'll be fine. ill keep finding my way back to you."

"I love that you put yourself out there to help your people, but I hate that about you too. Can't Amar's other friends come help him," asked Jasmine as she sank her head into Dondars chest. "You know we have the same friend group, right," asked Dondar as he softly brushed the tears off her face with his thumbs. "Your friends can give Amar assistance to make it to the city or wherever he needs to go." "Alright, but I will get myself involved. Jasmine, do you think I will call my friend group and ask them to put themselves in danger to help out while I sit on the couch and hope for the best? Asked Dondar as he looked at Jasmine, confused and conflicted. "Dondar, I don't want you to get hurt, okay. Can you please consider my feelings? How do you think I would feel to hear the news that you're in the hospital, or see you limping into the house, or not being able to be held by you again," asked Jasmine as she wrapped her arms around him.

Returning her embrace, bringing her closer to his chest Dondar bent backward. "I'll call my friends in a bit Jasmine." "Dondar, I can't feel the floor." "I know," said Dondar as he lifted Jasmine onto the bed. "Oooooh, you're such an ass. What is wrong with you!" shouted Jasmine. "Alright, something definitely got you tense. After a suplex, I usually hear, come slam me in different positions, what's eating you that's not me?" asked Dondar as he sat upon the bed. "Sorry, it's just the situation. A lot is going through my mind with scenarios and outcomes. It's just - It's Just a lot to deal with." With glimmers of the sun traveling through the window, the warmth of a fire mixed with honey of Jasmine's iris. Dondar leaned forward as if going to her kiss on the ear. "Let me help be your distraction and take your stress away."

A breath escaped Jasmine's chest as Jasmine pulled Dondar closer into her. "Just don't leave me, please." Before words could be spoken, the pressure of soft lips sat on Dondars lip. As lips separated, they traveled to ears. "Go call your friends before you forget. I will slip on something more comfortable—a surprise for you to see when you come back into the room."

Light shimmers traveled through a dark room while dry drewl sat smeared on faces. "How did I get into this bed? Dam, how long was I sleeping? I mean, I got here at sunrise, so maybe it's like going into the evening," said Amar as he sat upon the bed. Tears began to create a steady stream down the corner of Amar's eyes. "I know I'm not done grieving, but I can't take the time right now to finish. I still have things I need to complete. Ima get there," contemplated Amar while his stomach sang. "Ooooh, let me go get something to eat first. I'm running on E." Slowly getting up, things in the room began to mix into a blur, "Wow, I must be dehydrated, let me take this slow. My legs even feel like they're full of static," said Amar as he began to walk a couple steps towards the door. Loud thuds were heard from Jasmine and Dondars room. Grunts and moans steeped through the wall. "Ight fuck the static in my leg. I need to pick up the pace and get out of this room."

As Amar shuffled through the fridge, he took a couple of items out, "This man Dondar don't cook, and I know jasmine rarely do. All I see is ingredients, ugh well, time to whip something up," said Amar as he got ready to silence the growling stomach. The front door slowly creaked open. Unaware of who entered, Amar took a single knife and hid behind the counter. Listening to who entered the house, only the sound of two pairs of feet appeared. Amar's heart began to pick up pace fast enough to compete with a hummingbird with each fragment of a second passing. Amar followed behind to stay out of sight, listening to the footsteps go up the stairs. "Check the first door on the right," said a voice. The heartbeats hit like a bass drum seconds became milliseconds, milliseconds became microseconds, microseconds became picoseconds. A stream of lightning flowed up the stairs. Launching up the stairs, ready to draw blood, the stream of lightning stop inches away from the 1st door. Only familiar faces were seen looking up with a knife gripped in hand.

"Nai-Nai, Johnathan, wh-what are yall doing here?" asked Amar. "The Fuck! Amar, where did you come from," shouted Nai-Nai as she reached to Johnathan to help her off the floor. "Oh, um, I came up the stairs," replied Amar. "You don't sound very confident in your answer," said Johnathan as he caught his breath. "What's going on out here," asked Dondar as he swung the door open. "Oh, see the whole gangs together. Glad I left the door unlocked wouldn't want yall waiting outside. I was just -busy. Couldn't answer the phone." "Amar, why do you have a knife in your hand?" asked Jasmine as she came out of the room in an oversized hoodie. "I was getting ready to cook some food." "Mmm, look like you was ready to catch a body," said everyone else.

A chuckle came from Amar as he tossed the knife to the side. Walking over to his friends, he brought them close for a group hug. "Dam, you must be going through it. You never were the one for doing group hugs," said Johnathan. "Wait, how yall know I'm going through something?" asked Amar. "We just have that natural instinct. What can I say were just gifted," replied Johnathan. "Dondar called us up and filled us in about your situation. He asked us to pop up to assist you in bringing your brother to West Clundale," said Nai Nai. As the group walked down to the living room, Amar headed back to the kitchen. "Once we heard, we already knew what you were trying to do was too much weight. We knew your ass wouldn't ask us for help because it would put us in danger, but we ain't gonna let you go through this by yourself," said Nai Nai as Johnathan came and handed her a cup of water.

As a runaway tear splashed on Amar's hand, a smile arose as tears were wiped away. "I'm glad yall came to help, I really am, but there are people after me who want to kill Nho and me. I don't want any damage on my chest if something happens to yall," said Amar. "Amar, don't worry. The mission will be quick, in and out, smooth. Plus, I'm going to be moving in a couple of days. Don't know when the next time I'm gonna see yall," said Johnathan. "Where you moving to?" asked Amar. "I'm not sure I'm just waiting on what my parents tell me," said Johnathan. Dondar Feeling the weight of the room shift, got up from the couch that him, Nai Nai, and Jasmine were on, he looked at Amar and shouted, "Hey! We not saying we're volunteering to go. We're going because our brother in trouble and we should be there to help him. You understand?". Sneaking away from the group NaiNai went into the kitchen, handing over a note to Amar.

"What's the-" a finger was placed on lips without another second wasted. "Shhhh, read it when you get the chance, not now," said Nai Nai as she spun back out of the kitchen. "Nai Nai, what you doing up," asked Johnathan. "I got interested in what Amar was cooking. Was making a verdict if I wanted to join in on what was created." "What's your verdict," asked Johnathan? "It doesn't look like poison. I believe ill survive if I eat it." "Yall know my ears still function right," asked Amar. "I mean, I wouldn't be speaking out loud if I didn't want you to hear right," shouted Nai Nai. "Man yall a funny group of assholes," laughed Jasmine.

"Ight seems like yall got your mind made up. Ain't no stopping yall, huh?" said Amar. With 3/4 of the room shaking their heads left to right, one head stayed still as they drank their tea and shrugged their shoulders. As Amar was wiping his eye, he said, "Alright, I'm not holding any hands yall big boys and big girls," said Amar. At the top of the stairs, with sand in their eyes, Nho took steps to get downstairs. "Oooh, you smelled something being made in the kitchen, huh Nho," asked Johnathan. "Amar cook," asked Nho. "Yeah, Amar created something in the kitchen. Hope you got an appetite after all that sleeping," added Nai Nai. "Come sit over her, Nho," said Jasmine patting an open seat next to her.

"Alright, so what's the plan? What do we gotta do," asked Johnathan. "I'm just letting yall know heads did come at me with weapons. Do yall got burners of your own?" asked Amar. In a split second, Dondar pulled out a nine from the side of his couch. Johnathan opened up his coat, presenting two pistols. Reaching over, NaiNai pulled out a gun from the holster of Jonathan's coat. "Hey, at least ask before you go over here snatching," said Johnathan. "Oh, what was that? Oh, this is a nice handgun, Johnathan. Is it okay I use this in the meantime? I'll give it back to you." smirked Nai Nai. "Fuck it better late than never," said Johnathan. "Alright, I got extra ammo in my mo- my car if yall got extra clips well leave the rest of the ammo over in your spot if that's cool Dondar?" "You already got the green light, my guy," Commented Dondar.

"Ight so the plan is to get to West Clundale city to drop off Nho at a child service agency. From then on, my aunt or I can get a court date to be his legal guardian," said Amar. "Almost forgot you had to drop him off because of the NGP act. Wait since the incident, wouldn't that make you the legal guardian of Nho," asked Johnathan. "Since Nho isn't over 18, I have to go to court to become the official guardian," replied Amar. "Wait, so he can't stay at your aunt's till court?" asked Dondar. "He could. However, the NGP act may make it harder for Amar to become the legal guardian if they were to take care of Nho till the court date. They may think he's child trafficking Nho due to Nho not being in the system of having residential living prior, and Nho not being related by blood," added Nai Nai.

"I know that my aunt doesn't want the government to contact her unless taxes are involved. Jasmine, you can walk into the building with Nho and me. Just to watch him while I fill out paperwork. Nai Nai, Johnathan, and Dondar yall wait on the city's outskirts in case we are being followed. We'll keep the action out of the major city to make it less likely for G.O.'s* to come after us," said Amar. "Ugh, Dondar can't I ride with you," asked Jasmine as she hugged his arm. "Jasmine, don't worry. Amar is a good driver. Since we will support Amar's car, you technically will be in the safest vehicle. While we gotta intercept someone, incase someone following yall, Amar's car main goal is to drive away," said Dondar. With a heavy eye roll, a release of acceptance escaped the lungs.

As Amar passed out plates of food, mouths began to water from the sensation of smells brushing the nostrils. "Yo Amar, what is this," Asked Dondar. "This is home cooking back from the islands; in front of you is fishcakes, curried fish, with rice and peas. Hope yall enjoy." With wide pupils lighting up, forks began to shovel into the plate. "Wait for a second," shouted Amar as mouths were wide, ready to consume the blessings. "Shout out to yall. Thank you, I mean it from the bottom of my heart." With smiles filling the room, plates were raised in the air before forks resumed the scheduled shoveling.

"Hey Dondar, everything is gonna be alright, right. Just in and out, then back to our lives," asked Jasmine. "We'll be fine, Jasmine, don't worry. You got me here; I'll protect you. Plus, I'm sure my people will ensure your safety throughout the trip." "Okay, I feel a bit better now." "Jasmine, you gonna eat the fish cakes or curry fish?" asked Dondar as he scarfed a fish cake in his mouth. "Nah, I fell a little uneasy I'm gonna head to the bathroom real quick. You can have them tho." "Your so sweet," replied Dondar with a smile. As Jasmine went to the bathroom, she sat down on the toilet, cupping her head with both hands. She went to the sink cabinet and pulled out a toothpaste box. Reaching into the box, she pulled out a new pregnancy test. "Let's see what the future has in store."

Young Adult
1

About the Creator

D.C. Senju

Plans don't always go as planned, walk through the rain the uncomfortable becomes comfortable.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.