Fiction logo

Lake of Souls Chapter 9

Life Kingdom

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 15 min read
5
Lake of Souls Chapter 9
Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

Previous Chapter

I questioned the portly man, "What do you mean by that? He knows I'm coming to kill him. The Life King has known this?"

The man nodded, "Yes that's what I said. Since the beginning of our kingdom a story has been passed down by our Kings. That a day would come when the other kingdoms would go to war with each other and when that happened the vessel would awaken. He would walk the lands looking for the one thing he did not have. A soul. To accomplish that task he would kill all the Kings of the world but even though he could absorb their souls they still weren't what he was looking for. When he finally found his soul he would come back to reunite the lands under his name. Leading our world into a new era. Though it will be up to him to decide what the era will be. Peace and prosperity or chaos and destruction. That time has now come to pass and our King has been waiting to meet you."

I nodded slowly, taking in everything I had just been told. My coming was part of a prophecy. A new era led by me. That was all nonsense. All I wanted was to have a soul like everyone else. I just wanted to live and be allowed to live. I looked at the man, "Thank you for talking to me. I think I'll take my time actually and let the Life King set up whatever arrangements he wishes to. Farewell."

I left the village to the sound of numerous people telling me goodbye, to be careful, and to have fun on my walk. I wasn't sure about all of that but I at least intended to enjoy the scenery. As I walked I was amazed to see a variety of things that I had seen across all of the kingdoms. Valleys with rushing air currents that would buffet away even the strongest of people. What looked like miniature volcanoes though not active but still expelling a massive amount of heat. The trees and the lands themselves all around me reminding me of the beauty of the earth kingdom. I even came across several small lakes and rivers housing some of the same types of creatures I had seen while swimming in the water kingdom.

I would have to ask the Life King if all the origins of creation had started here or if he simply collected bits and pieces to adorn his own kingdom with. I also encountered a couple of other small villages on my way. The people there would let me know if I was on the right track still or if I needed to adjust my course. They were all so amazingly friendly to me. It was such a stark contrast compared to everywhere else. I wasn't viewed as the vessel. A demon or a savior. I was simply Xea a being that everyone knew and wanted to help. It all made my chest feel tight and warm. If I had started my journey here I don't know if I could have gone forward. I wouldn't have minded spending the rest of my life here even without a soul.

However at this point I had caused far too much devastation across the world not to finish my quest. I not only owed it to myself but also to everyone I had killed along the way. My thoughts drifted on to the Water King and for a brief moment the pleasant feeling in my chest went away only to be replaced by a heavy weight. I just couldn't seem to get that moment out of my mind, try as I might. But soon enough I saw the castle up ahead and the thought fled from my mind.

I had walked through the night and not even realized it, I was so lost in my own thoughts. I wonder how many things I missed on my walk. I would have to take it again at some point when I could hopefully pay more attention. Perhaps when this was all over and I could relax. I decided I would enjoy myself for my last little bit. I stopped and smelled from the flowers around me. I tried to coax a bird to come and land on my hand but it wouldn't so I moved on. Looking ahead I could see what looked like a group of people waiting in front of the castle.

I waved my hand at them and they all waved back though they did not come out to greet me. So I decided to continue enjoying myself for a little while longer. Near the castle was a small lake with a number of fish in it that were all different colors. I got down on my knees to watch them utterly fascinated by their various shimmers. I lost myself in watching them move almost like they were all dancing together in some intricate pattern. Suddenly I was pulled from my trance by a tap on my shoulder. I looked up and a kind older man was standing over me looking in the pond as well, "Beautiful aren't they?"

I stood up looking him over. Something about the way he held himself told me that he was important, a man of power. However his clothes told a different story. He was dressed in the same type of attire as many of the villagers I had met had been in. I finally spoke, "Are you the Life King?"

The man nodded, "Yes I am him indeed and you must be Xea. You have finally arrived at my humble home. Please won't you come with me so we can talk? Or would you like to continue your tour of my kingdom? Either way is fine with me."

I looked around at all the sights around me, "If you do not mind then I would like to keep walking around. Your kingdom is so beautiful and I've enjoyed myself so far." I started walking past the castle to a small field that I saw off in the distance.

The King followed behind me, "Could you please slow yourself just a bit? These old legs just can't keep up with someone like you anymore." I slowed myself down so that he could catch up to me. He laughed softly, "Thank you for slowing down for this old man. If you had come much later you might have been talking to a newly appointed King. That would be a real shame considering why you are here."

We were in the field now and I was stopping to inspect the flowers. Each different species of flower I saw I had to stop and smell. Finally I spoke, "A man told me that you and everyone here already knew that I was coming. That you all have known with each generation of people since the first Life King's time. Is that true? And if it is then how?"

The Life King smiled bemusedly at me, "I would ask the better question of why that matters? But I will answer yours first. Yes, what the man told you is true. I do not know exactly how this information came to be known but I have hypothesized that it was information given by the God of Life. Perhaps to give us comfort in knowing our fates. The story has been passed down from King to King and every ten years it is told again to all the people of the kingdom. In hopes that none would be surprised by your appearance."

I looked over at him now, "You asked me why it matters. That answer is simple. Outside of the Air King there is not a single person on this journey I have actually wanted to kill. I have done so either out of protecting myself or in the case of the Water King I did it out of some need. A need to let him pass on and be free of his tortured existence. I just want to know where the lake of souls is. I just want a soul. Is that really too much to ask?"

The Life King plucked a flower now and twirled it in his fingers, "No that is not too much to ask. But I do not know where your lake is. Until you began your journey from the forgotten lands I did not even know it existed."

I began walking again, spying another small body of water off in the distance. I remembered to keep my pace slow for the King, "You know that I can not believe you. This is the final kingdom of the land and the lake has not been in any of the others. So by all logic it has to be here. Outside of the forgotten lands as you call them all of the land has been divided into the various kingdoms. So either I have been lied to about the lake or you are lying to me. I have seen the lake with my own eyes so I know that it is real even if I could not touch it." I stopped realizing that I must sound as if I were mad to the King. I did know that the lake was real right?

The King interrupted my thoughts, "I do believe you. Yes it all does sound a bit crazy but I do believe you. Listen to me when I say that I fully believe the story that has been passed down. Our world has become corrupt. All the Kings have gone mad even I have, I suspect. Something needed to change and that change has come in you. While you have brought great destruction but also great change. Change that has been necessary for quite some time but no one knew how to go about it."

I sighed, "If you truly believe that to be the case then I would like to move on from this. I will kill you, gain your knowledge, and then find the lake. Or is there something else you would like to do first?"

The King nodded, "Yes if you do not mind I would like to hold one last great feast with my people. Give me three days time to gather them all and the evening of the third day to say my farewells. On the dawn of the fourth day then you may execute me. Does that sound alright with you Xea?"

I nodded slightly, finding myself unable to look at the King now. That heavy weight returning to my chest, "Yes that is fine. I will leave you with your people. I will return on the dawn of the fourth day." With that I began to walk away.

The King called out to me, "Please return for the feast. I know that my people will want to meet you. Trust me when I say that none of them will harbor any ill will towards you. They have all known this time was coming. So please join us. Enjoy our frivolities before my time comes."

I only continued walking, "I will think on it." For the next three days I wandered around enjoying the sights, sounds, and feelings of the land. I passed many villagers who were on their way to the feast. So many of them seemed happy and cheerful. I wondered if they knew why this feast was being called but I dared not to ask. As the sun began to set on the third day I found myself near the castle again. I had not chosen to come back but more my feet had led me here while I was lost in thought. I could see many thousands gathered outside and talking with each other. They all seemed to be enjoying themselves. There were large spreads of food laid out that everyone was partaking of. The moment a dish became empty a cook would run out and replace it.

Soon though I heard the noise begin to quiet down. I looked up closer to the front of the castle where the Life King stood. He spoke in a loud booming voice that did not fit his small and frail body, "You know why I have gathered you all. The being spoken of in the prophecy has arrived. Many of you have seen him in our kingdom wandering and enjoying himself. He is named Xea and he is here with us tonight." With that he pointed towards me off in the distance. All of the people turned and looked at me. At that moment I wanted to run but instead I stepped forward. The King spoke again, "He fears that you will be angry with him for why he has come. I did my best to lay his fears to rest but I don't think he believed me. So come forward Xea and see that what I spoke is true."

I stepped forward slowly into the lights of torches, my eyes darting around trying to watch everyone. They all were still smiling at me and many had their arms open to me. Finally the young man who had been sent in front of me to tell the Life King of my appearance walked forward, "We have no desire to harm you. We view you for what you are. The same as us, just people trying to make their way through this world. Your path is different, that is all. Your path has taken you down a much darker road filled with many awful choices. All that we can hope is that you come from this a stronger person for it. You'll never be able to erase your mistakes, only learn from them.

So I think I speak for all of us when I say that no one here hates you. We only want you to move forward and accomplish your goal. What you do from there is up to you. So please join us in our celebration tonight. The celebration of our King and all that he has done for us and will do for us even in his passing. Now enough speaking! Let us be merry!"

With that the feast truly began. There was music, food, and that same odd smelling drink that Alton had been drinking. While I did not partake in food or drink I tried to relax and enjoy the festivities. A few of the people even managed to get me to dance with them. Though the fluidity of my body made it difficult for me to replicate their moves. So instead they mimicked mine. So it went for the evening and into the dawn.

As the sun began to break over the horizon many people had fallen asleep. Those that weren't were barely awake anymore. Mostly still drinking and low talking amongst themselves. The King worked his way through the sleeping throngs of people to find me, "Come. It is time."

From there we walked into the castle and went to his personal chambers. In the room was a giant blade that looked more fit for someone like me than anyone in the kingdom. The Life King gestured to it, "A blade given to one of my predecessors by a previous Fire King. There is a matching sheath and belt to go with it so that you may wear it. That is the weapon you will use to kill me with. As the Life King I am not impossible to kill but it is very difficult. You must deliver me a blow so immediately fatal that my body has no opportunity to try and heal me. Use that blade to cleave me in two and then separate the halves. At least three feet apart or my body may attempt to start stitching itself back together."

I nodded and took the blade down from the wall. It fit perfectly in my hand and the weight was just right. It was a simple weapon with a silver handle and one inlaid blood red jewel on the pommel. It was as if it had actually been made for me. The Life King directed me to the sheath and belt. I put them over my shoulder and sheathed the weapon, testing it. It was the perfect length to work for me. The Life King told me that the jewel was actually lava that had cooled but left with it's red coloration. He considered it fitting to gain it here after I had begun my journey in the fire kingdom. He now stood in front of me and smiled, "It is time Xea. Do what must be done and then go forth to finish your quest. Farewell and well met."

I nodded again feeling slightly numb inside. I had no words for this man who had shown me such kindness and now was willingly offering to die for me. So I took the blade, lifting it high above my head and brought it down, cleaving the Life King nearly into two parts. I then put the blade away and moved the two parts away from each other as he had told me to. He never made a sound through the whole thing. He had simply closed his eyes and waited. Looking at the two parts of him left me feeling almost empty inside as I took his soul into me.

This was a fairly emotional chapter to write since I knew how this had to end. I hope you all enjoyed it even if it did leave you a bit on the sad side. If you did then please heart, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. Till next time. The next chapter as well as the original short story will be linked down below.

Next Chapter

Original Short Story

Series
5

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.