Fiction logo

Lake of Souls Chapter 12

Healing begins

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 22 min read
5
Lake of Souls Chapter 12
Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

Previous Chapter

I watched the god walk back into the dome and smiled to myself. I couldn't really say I had won that confrontation but I hadn't really lost either. The god and I were at a standstill but for now I had to put those thoughts away. Now was the time to start fixing the world I had left in shambles in my wake. Though how I was going to do that I wasn't exactly sure of. I was only one person and my connection to the land has disappeared when I gave up the King's souls. As I was scanning the land thinking I saw the little snake from before peeking out from an outcropping, "Is that malevolent creature gone? He gives me the creeps. Something about him is off like he doesn't belong here."

I walked over to the snake chuckling to myself, "Because he doesn't belong here. As you know he's another god, but not like the ones who came before him. He is their brother and yet he is not like them at all. From the way he talks I don't think he's a creator, instead he's a destroyer. He brought me here to corrupt the lake though I surprised him by absorbing it. All to upset the gods and bring them back to our world so he could punish them."

The snake stared at me in shock, "Wait is that why you're all blue now? Because you absorbed the lake? What does that mean for the world? What will happen with all the blank souls in the world being inside of you? Oh and also the gods are returning! Oh this is not good. Not good at all."

I laughed again, "Yes that's why I'm blue. What it means is that all new children will be born as vessels from this point forward. I'm not sure yet but I might be able to help with that. However, first I need to figure out how to stabilize the world. Everything is in chaos and the world is beginning to die. So I need to deal with that first and then we can start working through all the other problems."

The snake just stared at me again though this time with amusement more than anything, "Do you not remember what the Life King said? You will become the ruler of all the lands and you will be their new King. From the forgotten lands were you first forged and from here will you rule. Call to the people of the land and they will answer you."

I looked back at the snake incredulously, "What am I supposed to do? Just yell into the void and hope for a response?"

It was the snake's turn to chuckle, "Something like that yes. Focus yourself like you did before when you would bring up the maps. Imagine yourself touching and permeating the land. Become one with it and speak. The people will hear you."

Sitting down and closing my eyes I already felt somewhat foolish. However it was all I had to go on so I figured I would try it. I took a few deep breaths slowly pushing out my thoughts. As I did I slowly pulled the map to my mind recreating it in every fine detail that I could remember. Remembering every bit of my journey through the five kingdoms and how it had made me feel. All of the various emotions I had gone through and how they had crafted me. Suddenly something clicked in my brain and the map sprang to life. I could see every living soul in the world before me represented as small glowing points. Some brighter than others which seemed to represent the strength of their soul.

Now I continued to breathe deep and on every exhale I pushed my essence out onto the map. Little by little suffusing myself into the map and thus the land itself. Once I could see my presence across the map I took one more breath and spoke, "Um hello to everyone." I could hear my voice echoing from seemingly everywhere at once. I breathed and spoke again, "This is Xea formally known as the vessel. Some of you know of me and some of you have actually met me. I am the one who killed the five Kings of the land and led the world into chaos. However I'm now here to fix that issue.

I'm speaking to all of you from the center of our world. A place left forgotten by both the world and the gods. I'm speaking to you to tell you that I am your new King. I will bring peace and prosperity back to the lands. For that to happen though you all need to work with me as well. The time of fighting is now over. It is time to go back to the way things were before. A time where the five kingdoms stood side by side and hand in hand. Where the elements flowed freely across the lands because we all understood that to survive we had to work together.

This is now more important than ever. We've allowed things to fall into disharmony and our world has suffered for it. It won't be easy but I know that we can all do it." I took a deep breath again allowing myself to come back to just me. I looked at the snake, "Well? What do you think?"

The snake sighed, "You got your point across. I think it was good but now you'll need to go out and find out how the people took it." The snake suddenly slithered away and went into hiding by sliding into a small hole. I looked behind me to see the god storming towards me with a look of fury twisting his face.

I stood up going ahead and pulling the sword from its sheath pointing it at him, "You look displeased. Before things get ugly try talking to me first."

The god stopped short of me by five feet from the blade eyeing it warily, "Yes I'm displeased! What was that speech about? I mean, just declaring yourself King! You of all people!"

I lowered the blade slightly, "You told me to fix my planet. So that's what I'm doing. Did you not know the Life god passed down a prophecy that I would come and kill the Kings? That I was supposed to unite the land and could take it down one of two paths. One of peace or one of war. I know you want war but I don't! I'm finished with war." With that I lowered my blade completely but didn't sheath it.

The god stood in front of me dumbfounded, "That sneaky bastard! He knew I would come eventually. So he played the long game. Yeah I told you to fix your planet but I didn't think you would actually do it. You're finished with war? Don't make me laugh. Death and bloodshed is how you got here! Understand now Xea war will always follow you no matter where you go. You were forged in the fires of war and you'll die by them too. The next time you see me you better not put that blade down. Now go and try to lead your people. See what happens." With that the god began to laugh and simply fade away from my view. Soon there was no one standing there but the laughter continued on for another few seconds.

I sheathed the blade and sighed rubbing my shoulder, which was starting to ache from holding the blade up for too long. I closed my eyes and brought the map to my mind again. I slowly spun in a circle till I was facing the fire kingdom. I stretched my muscles a little, muttering to myself, "Best to start where it all began." With that I took off running. I was surprised at how wonderfully light my new body felt while I ran. It was almost exhilarating to actually feel the muscles tensing and releasing as I ran. There was a slowly building burning sensation in my legs and my chest was already getting tight.

Soon I had to start slowing down, finding that my body was becoming tired. This was definitely a new sensation for me. I was going to have to get used to no longer being a vessel. My body was no longer tireless and would actually require me to pay attention to my own needs. Both of my thighs were burning from where the Water King had run his icicles through me. Now I was at a brisk jog even though I had to start slowing down from that as well. Occasionally I would stop and check my map just to make sure I was still on the right path. At this rate it would take me another couple of hours before I reached the fire kingdom.

I now walked at a brisk pace breaking out into periodic bits of jogging. After a hour and a half I could feel a rise in the overall temperature around me. Though this heat seemed more friendly overall than when I was last here. I noticed that I was starting to sweat which again was new for me. I wiped my brow and smiled at the sweat. While having all these new aches and pains wasn't always the most pleasant I was still in wonder at the sensations of being more alive. I had always been alive but now I was like everyone else. I hurt, I felt, and yes I even sweated. Though I did realize that others would probably not find it as interesting as I did. All of these things were new to me so even though some were not always fun I still found them all worth it.

I could see the border up ahead of me now and I could also see a group of knights standing at it. They all had their weapons drawn but they were standing at attention as if they were waiting on me. When I got close enough to speak I called out, "Can I help all of you?"

The men nervously looked at each other before one stepped forward. He waited till I was in front of them before he bowed to me, "On behalf of the whole army of the fire kingdom we would like to apologize. We recognize your heroism both here in the fire kingdom as well as around the rest of the lands. We are ready to accept you as our new King and follow you to our dying breath."

I smiled, "Stand up brave knight. Your apology is graciously accepted. I would like to offer one as well for my behavior when I was last here. While I was still new and fresh to this world I met violence with violence and in the end people died and suffered for it." I bowed to the knights now, "With that said let us put it all behind us and move forward. Great danger is coming for our world and we must be as prepared to deal with it as we can."

All the knights looked at each other before the one in front spoke, "Excuse me King Xea but you weren't the great danger of our world?"

I smiled and started walking past him patting his shoulder, "Unfortunately not. Now let us go out to the people and see if they need help. Fill me in on how well you've all managed since I left. I know that when I left the volcanoes were becoming active and causing destruction. What has come of that?"

The knights all turned and ran to catch up to me. The one I assumed to be their leader started talking, "Well some people had to be relocated. Sadly some people did die. Though the worst is that what little food we were able to grow has all but stopped. Many people have begun to starve. We've been passing out all the rations that we had available in the castle but we will be out soon."

Suddenly I stopped and fell to the ground clutching my head in pain. Visions were coming to me rapidly in faded images. I could see black soil and me standing over it. A soul leaving my hand and entering the earth. From that soul did new plants begin to grow. I then saw a river of lava underground where many lizard type creatures lived. Knights were sitting them and taking their meat. Capturing others for cultivation and breeding. As soon as it came on the visions disappeared. I looked up at the head knight, "Send your fastest runner to the earth kingdom. Tell them King Xea says that he only needs two handfuls of seeds. With him send another to the kingdom of air and tell them I need four birds capable of great lengths of flight."

The knight stared at me for a moment and then started barking orders. Two of the knights with us immediately shed their armor and began to run. I slowly pushed myself up groaning, "I think I need food and water. These new sensations take such a toll on the body. Has your water begun to cool yet? If the people of the water kingdom listened to me then they should have renewed their streams to your lands. Also what is your name good knight?"

The knight nodded, "Yes King Xea. While the water is still warm it no longer takes us a long time or a large investment of energy to make it drinkable. Come with us. There is a village nearby where we can get you food and water. My name is Filon, my King." They led me for another half hour till we came to the village. Immediately I could see that things truly were falling apart in this land. Over half of the houses were in disrepair having been damaged in the natural disasters. The spirit of the people while damaged was not broken though. As soon as the villagers saw me they jumped up and began bowing to me.

I waved my hand at them, "Please stop. There is no need for such formality. I've come to try and help all of you but first I have a request. Do you have any food or water that I may partake of without taking too much from all of you?" The villagers all looked at one another for a moment and then scattered. I could see them rummaging through homes and boxes. Soon there was a bucket of water and a small plate of food before me. The food appeared to be some of the fruit I had seen here before. There was also a small hunk of tough looking meat.

One of the villagers hung his head, "I am sorry my King that we can't provide you with more."

I drank from the bucket sighing in relief and then took a bite from the meat. While it was indeed tough it had a particularly rich flavor to it that I found rather delicious. I smiled, "Lift your head. You have no reason to feel any shame. You have done as I asked and brought me what you could. You have shown me great kindness and I intend to do the same for you. Could you tell me where the nearest patch of black soil is?"

The villager lifted his head with a smile, "You grace me with your words King Xea. Once you finish eating I will happily show you to the black soil."

I looked past the villager and noted that some of the others were trying to hide from my sight. While they showed their respect to the new King they still feared what they thought me to be. Nothing more than a vessel. Their eyes showed contempt for me coming and taking their food. I knew that all of these people were still hungry and did not like that I was eating it. I slowly stood with my plate and approached them. They all stood steadfast though at least a few looked like they wanted to flee. I held the plate out, "Take this and eat. I have eaten enough for now but I know that all of you are still hungry. Please understand that yes I was a vessel and I came and killed your King. You have more than enough reasons to not like me. However I have changed and want to fix what I have done. As we talk I have people working on this very problem and soon your lands will be bountiful."

The small group of people stared at me before a woman who looked to be a mother to some of the children in the group took the plate. She passed it to her children and then looked at me, "I will not forgive you King Xea but if your words are true then I will be a loyal subject to you. With time I may give forgiveness but for now a plate of food will not make me forget your sins and what you are."

I smiled, "What I was. I am not a vessel any longer. I hope a day will come that you can forgive me. Because all I truly want is for all of you to be able to live happily and without fear. In a world of peace and harmony." With that I turned back to the man who had brought me the food, "Please take me to the black soil."

The man hurriedly ran out of the village beckoning us to follow him. I looked at Filon, "Come with me. I have more orders to relay."

Filon followed me as I followed the man. We passed by many cracks and vents in the land that were pushing out hot air. Hot enough that I actually had to be careful and avoid them. As we walked I called out to the villager, "Are these vents new? Or have they always been here?"

The man stopped and looked back at us, "They are new, my King. They came when the great volcano erupted and have been going ever since. It is like the earth is trying to get rid of some of its heat so that the volcano doesn't erupt again"

I nodded as we caught up to him now, "How much further until the black soil?"

The man started walking now doing his hardest not to run ahead of us, "Very close. Just a little further and then we will go behind this small hill we are coming up on. There you will find all the black soil you could want. Though I must ask. What will you do with it?"

I smiled, "I will make things grow in it of course. Then the people of this land will have food to eat again. Different food than before." We turned at the hill and indeed there was a large expanse of black soil before me. I sat down in front of it and then looked at the man, "Go back to your home. When the runner from the earth kingdom returns, bring him and five of your fastest planters."

The man bowed, "Yes my King." With that he started running back to the village.

I now looked at Filon, "Somewhere in this land is a cave filled with rivers of lava. In that cave are several lizard-like creatures who are quite fierce. When the first fruits from this soil come to be ripe you are to take some and go tame these beasts. Bring back as many as you can and domesticate them. Use them as another food supply. Between them and the fruits of this soil you will be able to always feed this kingdom. Now go from me. I must speak with the land." Filon bowed and walked away.

I looked out at the black soil wondering why I was sitting here. Something had compelled me to do this and I wasn't sure what it was. Finally I decided to close my eyes and try to connect to the land. I placed my hands palm down on the ground and took a deep breath trying to clear my mind. My thoughts kept nagging at me though pulling my focus. Here I was thinking I was going to help these people and I had no clue what I was doing. Doubt was filling my mind and I couldn't stop it.

I opened my eyes now, sighing and laying back looking up at the sky. I felt truly tired and I couldn't think of anything. I closed my eyes and tried to relax my body. I figured I would try to sleep. It wasn't something I had ever done before and I really had no idea what to expect. Soon though I managed to fall into a deep slumber.

I opened my eyes and I was at the lake again. At first all I could think was had I died again. I thought this part was done. Then I realized I was actually inside of the lake and I could feel it inside of me all at the same time. There were millions of voices all murmuring as one all around me. I looked around and called out, "Please tell me what I'm supposed to do here? I want to help these people but I'm clueless. I'm kind of just going along and trying to make it up as I go. So please help me."

The voices all started speaking louder and louder eventually coming into one, "Use us and heal the land. You are the lake now and our power is yours to command. Souls are powerful things and can be used in a multitude of ways. Figuring out how though will still be up to you. Now it is time to wake up."

The lake slowly began fading away and I opened my eyes again staring up into the night sky. I sat up and looked around to see if anyone was around. I sighed in relief that no one had seen me sleeping. I didn't know why but I felt like others might view me differently if they saw me so vulnerable. I once again placed my hands flat on the ground and started emptying my mind. Soon all that was in my head was the map of the fire kingdom focused down on my general area. I slowly released myself into the land feeling it all around me as I became it.

Every crook and cranny, every vent of superheated air, and every little scurrying creature both above and below the surface. The land was indeed trying to heal itself. It just needed time and a little help along the way. My plan would work wonderfully, all I needed to do now was wait for the runner from the earth kingdom to return. I could hear the souls swimming in my body murmuring in agreement. For the first time since I had become the new me I felt a sense of peace overtake me. I was going to help and heal this land, the god be damned.

I sat with my eyes closed for the rest of the night enjoying the air and the quiet. I would drift in and out of sleep occasionally until the sun rose. Not long into the day Filon returned with the runner who had been sent to the earth kingdom. I smiled at them both, "That was much faster than I anticipated. I'm glad to see you back so soon."

The runner bowed his head obviously tired, "Yes my King. The land seemed to move and guide me, helping my feet along as I ran. While I am tired, it is much better than it normally would have been. I have returned with the seeds you asked for and the planters will be here soon."

He handed me two bags that each filled up my palms while holding them. They had significant heft to them as well, "Did they say how many seeds they gave you? These bags are quite large and weighted."

The runner nodded, "They said there were five hundred seeds in total. Five each of a hundred different types."

I smiled even bigger now as I could see the planters coming up to us now, "That is perfect! Wonderful news indeed. Thank you for doing this. It will be of great help to this land."

The planters came forward and extended their hands. I handed each of them five seeds of the same type though each planter had a different type. I pointed to the soil and told them, "Plant as you normally would and I'll take care of the rest." So the planters went about their work and they planted the twenty five seeds into the black soil. It wasn't long before they were done and they stepped away.

I now stood and walked into the soil carefully avoiding all the spots where the seeds had been planted. I lowered myself down to one knee and placed a hand on the ground. I closed my eyes and focused on my own body singling out one soul that seemed eager to be used. I pulled it down to my hand and released it into the earth. Immediately little sprouts from all the plants began to rise up out of the earth. I stood and smiled at it all before turning to the people, "Water them everyday at this time. Just enough for the soil to become moist. In one weeks time they will be ready to be harvested. After that simply replant them and begin the process again. Soon there will be more food than you could all eat.

I stepped out of the soil now and looked to Filon, "Come. We have more villages to visit and more seeds to plant."

Sorry this one took so long folks. We're in new territory now and I'm just as excited and uncertain about Xea's journey as you all are. Hopefully you all enjoyed it. If you did then please heart, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. Till next time. The next chapter and the original short story will be linked below.

Next Chapter

Original Short Story

Series
5

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.