Fiction logo

Kyle's Law

A Good Gone Short Story

By Justin Fong CruzPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
"Good Gone" (mixed media)

KYLE’S LAW

Us desert people, we hear good smallest sounds any out in the desert, we tell food fine looking at wild flowers, we skip sand like pebbles. We know good how cross the desert and pass through the mountains. It gone easy. We have instinct, us desert people. Today, Jerry don’t catch no game, gone I give him my berries some. He a younger desert kid, dude fresh gone no town right next outskirt of the desert! Anyways, Jerry, I guess, adapting to the vicious winds, the heat unforgiving. Gone need to acclimate, being so high up in the desert. No good get lucky and leave the desert and go even further up the mountains. We are skill, us desert people, don’t get gone wrong, but wanting none pass the mountains sure fact death-vision. Many we live gone nomadic lifestyle, save desert ambiance perfect for us world. Some us don’t gone anywhere to go. Some us know nothing but desert, like me, living the desert good no twenty-and-six years. I don’t gone no better lifestyle because my life in the desert gone some good version of Eden, save we have nothing but cacti and poisonous weeds. The sun none bother me. I done use to that, unlike that Jerry fellow. Look at him, just standing there blistering heat with none protective cover his face. We desert people are good cover our face and wear super UV-reflecting goggles. Jerry need himself a pair. I’m not none with that help. I done made my friendly gestures post-game, giving gone my berries. I done can catch game none problem, off wind, but that not a point save try I make. That none the point save I am one-hundred percent survivor machine. Jerry, I wonder, will last none but the rest of the week.

Few vultures are spotted near camp, called out. I stop gone at my feet, which is nothing because there ain’t none activities depend on yourself here in the desert. Anyways, I look for the sky, try find the vultures. Jean come out her tent and look sheepish. I don’t know she make such a gone look because she gone said wrong about said vultures. None vultures nowhere! Jean try good a call, stir gone caused, common thing she do at about just this exact time. Yep. Sundial don’t lie. I walk from Jean because I don’t look none melancholy because that make me look none a fool.

I leave camp, walk forever deep into the great dunes of sand, sand, and more sand. I reach the first high peak, look, I good gone see below the entire camp. I see a small dot-like thing sulk near the fish barrels. I make good gone that dang Jerry, prob’ly look lost or hungry. Prob’ly see Jean come out her tent, talk save ‘bout dang vultures. Prob’ly notice pretty a desert girl she is. And! And! And I fill save sudden quixotic energy red. I cuss high good my sandy hill, bellow anguish save the sun. I don’t go none like that. None make me mad, okay. I walk forever miles into the desert. I make new gone cool song in my head. I play the song back in my memorize head some lyrics. I gone shuffle dance a number, kicking and boogying good over dunes. My voice harsh and dry I stop. I look high for the sky some measure at distance. Ho! I see good five, no, fuck me, six! Fucking vultures right up here high in the fucking sky. Six vultures! I do cool jumping jacks up number six. Six mutha fucka! Nice jinx, you Nebuchennessarian Jean gone good. I give good none to the sad winds, so carry on save winds. It’s all dry heat anyways.

I back some to camp, behold, under my belt is rabbit pelt. Took me dang just ‘bout four hours hunt this bad down, and none four hours to get off my ass way back. Jean peak out her tent and see the rabbit pelt under my belt. I try none look her direction, look instead at some interesting color flies swing close to camp. I show camp my catch pelt, wave good like a flag, save emblem, us desert people. I off the pelt to Miss Cho, our desert cook. She give me a smile but with none any teeth because she have none any teeth because in the beginning just being a sucker kid, hyenas ate her entire mouth out, or so save story I’m told. Either way, smile her no-tooth smile at me and I save look the other way, laugh nervous, okay. Us people living in the desert, well, we good gone left save us beaten side, or colorful loony side, or sun spot side, or hunter side. We desert people save survive way we do. Way better than no Jerry guy, come think none. I wonder camp if he good gone. What hole the earth did he gone save fall from? Gone remember are holes everywhere here out in the desert, don’t think they not. I fall almost grave some fifteen-meter crater once last summer collecting berries. I ain’t look no ground because gone smile high into so blue the sky in a helium crazy wicked song and key. Ah, it’s all over.

Jerry come out a bush, so queer I wonder why in a fucking bush? I save ask this such question similar, me being of the desert myself, thank you. He try with dumb sound some mouth agape, gnawing good gone tones of animal, realize he still in English, or save similar sentence broke to English. I laugh him gone and tell none he catch no single wild chicken even ever! I make save his family come upon rotten disease, all some dying, and he don’t save gone his family catching stupid easy chicken in the desert. He go mad some at me, I guess, given for my Neanderthalic gills on the whole dang act. He blink and cuss me gone, save hiding some another fucking bush. Hallelujah! A small cloud come right practically top camp and everyone come out none enjoying and rejoicing cool okay air change. I done hope none rain comes because gone ruin would just ‘bout everything. Save, all myself, my clothes gone hanging dry save outside my designated tent. The cloud grow large and too soon upon like half the whole dang desert, covering us the sun. I need the sun like mountains need snow, or something I think loud to no one in particular because I don’t gone in none camping partners. Jean hear me and God dang crab-walk her way now me. She gone concern for the weather, wonder if she should put her paintings gone. I guess okay some little sad thinking her paintings gone inside her tent so no one done look or feel happy or special save her paintings. I tell help move them inside, okay, chance rain or whatever. It done don’t though. The cloud done gone save small piece sunlight save shine everything again and once do, I feel some better myself fact I don’t gone move said fucking paintings. I look good her smile, none else to do or say. She walk back to her tent not before bending picking save one painting. She carry her painting gone tent, proba’ly finish some brush, who cares. Painting in the desert, ha! I done cool flabbergast and cuss Jean save she good gone already.

I walk out camp, pass small highlands, walk down rocky scatter earth mix sand and desert and bones. Poisonous weeds loom gone every which day direction I now save good gone attention walking because I don’t do sharp contact with the weeds because I’m none itching and none dark rash over my lick. Happened once before gone a stupid little sucker. Poison done gone about ate off my skin clean bones! On top gone weeds are little pink flowers done good to touch or consume, so few pink flowers save carefully from the bulb pluck and the flowers gone my satchel and give Jean later save arrival. She won’t none how to act! Who cares she make good gone my eyes bright and dance some jigger attractive desert girl in the camp whole or the desert whole done. I don’t game enough gone act queer postulations.

I don’t carry none gone weight save God on my back. I don’t have none type set rules. Save you small human things live deep gone cracks in the desert. You are mud flies gone horses. I still have save wild rabbit save dinner save my berries. I wish Jerry gone leave but he look good gone long haul because he gone sit save master’s fucking chair! He creep little smile save gone complex. I want rip save fucking face! Jerry finally gone catch wild game after the good gone sun. I done applause, why not.

I don’t wait day gone come I catch a vulture and eat the meat good off save bones keep gone dry bones wear as an effigy so I can pronounce to the vulture gods I am gone King rule the desert. I can do some. People make forever save offerings, I the desert King. Maybe then, I kick sand in Jerry’s eye. Maybe then, I win Jean and stupid paintings sitting gone fucking sand, waiting to disappear.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Justin Fong Cruz

Justin Fong Cruz is a freelance artist based in Winter Park, Florida, and is currently attending FCC.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.