Fiction logo

Kurgurri Alliance

Part One

By J.B. MillerPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
1
Part one of a serial YA Sci-Fi Fantasy

The Blurb: Humans are screwed. They have created mini black holes that are causing sinkholes globally. Thankfully, there is a race of Aliens that are willing to help. At a hidden price.

Chapter 1

Morganton, North Carolina

Who would have ever thought that sinkholes would be what proved the existence of life on other planets? No one from Burke County, I can tell you that.

Back in 2003 when they first came out with theories and documentation that using the Large Hadron Collider that CERN had built could destroy the world, people laughed.

That was until sinkholes began to open up all over the globe a few years after the report. They told us it was perfectly safe. Even after tragedy after tragedy struck, no one thought that it could be micro black holes.

Thousands of people were injured and killed. They could open up anywhere and swallow a whole house in seconds. Let's face it; there is no safety training for the earth opening up and swallowing you whole. Then five years ago, the world as we know it came to a grinding halt.

We found out we were not the only ones in the universe and all the religious people freaked out. I mean they really lost it.

Do not get me wrong Mama raised me in the church. I went to church every Wednesday night and twice on Sunday until I was twelve. I finally put my foot down and told Mama that I loved her, but I didn’t agree with the church, and I did not want to go anymore.

It's not that I don’t believe in God, because I do. Now more than ever. I just could not agree with the preacher and the congregation that the aliens were sent by the devil and we should gird our loins against them.

That was when we stopped going to church and started to work on Human-Kurgurii relations. My mom always had this thing for equal rights. She said it shouldn’t matter what species we were that we should be judged for our deeds and not our species.

That is the name of the aliens by the way. They are the Kurgurii. They pretty much look like us, only bigger. The average height of a female Kurgurii is just over six foot and the males come in around seven feet. Oh, and they are silver. Talk about your stories of little grey men! Their skin tones can run from an ashy grey to a glittering silvery hue. Think of grey cats but skin instead of fur.

Their hair is anywhere from white to black or combinations of the two. The eyes are the cool bit though. They have elliptical pupils and a third eyelid, just like our cats.

In fact, I have read that their primordial ancestors were cat-like. They have super night vision and can see a lot farther than we can. Evidently, evolution took care of the problem of partial colour blindness and short-sightedness. Because they can see everything. Some of the haters learned that the hard way.

Anyway, I'm getting off-topic again. Sometimes, my mind wanders when it is on the Kurgurii. I do have an excuse though. My dad is one of the ambassadors to them. He is a career military man and after they saved our collective butts five years ago and continue to do so, the military love them. For now anyway.

So that brings us to where we are today. Five years after the Kurgurii decided to reveal themselves and save us. Five years after civil wars, where the haters and religious freaks went bonkers and tried to kill either themselves or everyone they thought sympathized with the alien invaders. And just one year after the world started to look normal again.

Normal also means that I have to go to school, do homework and starting next week after school finished for summer begin my internship at the Youth Diplomacy agency. I have a dream and it's to see the stars. One day, I will be a diplomat to the Kirgurii alongside my dad.

***

"Meghan, hurry up you're going to be late. If you want to make the program you know you can't have any tardies."

"Coming Mama," I yelled back. I threw my diary under my pillow and grabbed my bag before heading down the stairs.

The time on the wall clock in our kitchen said it was 6:45. "Mom," I groaned. "I still have ages!"

"Not if you want to get ahead of the rest of the hopefuls you don’t young lady. Besides, I have a surprise for you this morning. Have a look outside."

What in the world could Mom have outside for me? It was barely daylight and that was only because of the time of year.

When I opened up the front door and looked outside, I saw an outline of a man leaning against mom's car. I squinted before I squealed and nearly took the door off in my excitement to get to him.

"Daddy, Oh my God Daddy, It's really you," I screamed as I threw myself in my father's arms.

"Hey Pumpkin," he grabbed me up and twirled me around. "Did you miss me?"

"Oh my God daddy! When did you get home? Why didn’t mama tell me? How long do you get to stay?" So many questions were tumbling through my head but on top of everything was the repeating mantra…"daddy's home."

"Slow down, baby girl," he laughed. "I'm home to get the diplomatic youth program up and running. I was hoping you might want to head up with me at the end of the week to get settled in," he raised an eyebrow waiting for the shoe to drop.

It took a moment but when it did, excitement began to bubble over. "I'm in? Are you serious? I made the program? OMG… I made the program!" I screamed.

I began to bounce my synapses were in overload. "I made the program! Mom," I yelled. "Mama, I made the program!"

"I heard," she chuckled as she watched from the front porch. I think half the county did as well. I don’t think Mr and Mrs Berry are too impressed to hear the news this early in the morning though."

I cringed and turned to face our neighbour's house across from us. The lights were now blazing and the front door open. Mr Berry stood with a frown on his face and his arms crossed. Mrs Berry shook her head, her rollers never moving.

I waved at them sheepishly, "I'm so sorry for waking you up." I apologized.

Mrs Berry waved back. "Never mind that my dear," she smiled cheerily. "We are happy for you aren't we George?" She nudged her husband who stumbled slightly under the pressure.

He nodded to my dad before answering. "Glad to see you home Michael. Aside from waking decent folk up before the sun rises Meaghan Richards," he mock glared at me before cracking a smile. "You deserve it girl. You have a good head on those pretty shoulders of yours. Your Mama and Daddy should be proud to have a daughter like you."

"We are George, we are," Mama spoke up as she smiled at daddy. All the attention was starting to get to me and I began to blush. Being fair only meant that I turned redder than a pickled beet when I became embarrassed. Daddy noticed and took pity on me.

"Well Meaghan girl, you ready to go?"

I glanced at my phone but it was still hours before school started. School did not start until 8:45 and it wasn’t even seven yet.

Daddy lifted a corner of his lip in a smile and shrugged. I thought we could go get pancakes Pumpkin, but if you don’t want to…" he trailed off.

I was in the car and leaning out the window before he could say anything else. "Well, are you coming or not? Pancakes wait for no woman!"

Mama and Daddy shared a look between them. I knew that look and I groaned. That was the PDA is about to begin look. Dad grabbed her and spun her around before pulling her close for a kiss.

"Wanna come with," he asked her huskily.

"No, you two go have some father-daughter time. When you're free after lunch maybe you can spend some time with me. Just the two of us?" The last mom whispered but I have great hearing.

Ewww… that was code for parental sex time. I knew it happened but it was not something I ever, and I mean never ever tried to think about. I prefer to think that I sprung fully formed like Athena. Yeah, we would go with that one. Denial was a wonderful state to live in.

"Ahem." I cleared my throat and both parents looked at me indulgently. "Right," Dad said. "Pancakes for us and I will see you later beautiful." With one last kiss, he turned from Mom and got in the car. The Berry's waved us off and we drove off down the road to the local Denny's.

If you enjoy the story and would like to help support the author please tip!

It helps so much with being about to produce more work and it is greatly appreciated!

Sci Fi
1

About the Creator

J.B. Miller

Wife, Mother, student, writer and so much more. Life is my passion, writing is my addiction. You can find me on Linkedin at https://www.linkedin.com/in/brandy28655/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.