Fiction logo

King Kahlil 2

Kahlil Uncaged

By Joe PattersonPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Kahlil Davis has been held in the county jail for the past 2 months since he created the King Kahlil challenge. Thousands of people nationwide have reenacted the challenge with promises of the challenge growing unless Kahlil is exonerated for violating quarantine. As Kahlil sits in a jail cell, a loud chorus of cheers from fellow inmates throughout the cell blocks is underway, with inmates chanting his famous King Kahlil challenge quote “K-DEE BAAAABY”.

Inmates: K-DEE BAAAABY! K-DEE BAAAABY! K-DEE BAAAABY! K-DEE BAAAABY!

INT. Kahlil's cell - Kahlil is laying back on his cell bed, looking up at the ceiling with a smile on his face as he listens to his fellow inmates continuously chant his famous catchphrase. Officer Evan Parker enters the cell block furiously ordering the inmates to cease their chant.

Officer Parker: ENOUGH WITH THE LYNCH MOB CRIES OR EVERYONE IS GOING TO THE HOLE TONIGHT!!!

INT. County Jail Front Lobby – Officer Evan Parker returns to the front desk where police chief Karl Meisner is anxiously waiting for Parker to return after surveying the cell block at Meisner's request.

Chief Meisner: Good lord, are they still at it?

Parker: Gettin louder and louder sir.

Meisner: Did you get a chance to speak with the boy?

Parker: No sir, the inmates were too loud for me to get a word out.

Meisner (Sighing): Alright, get the kid out of there and bring him to me.

INT. Cell block D – Officer Parker returns to the cell block to retrieve Kahlil amidst the simmering chants.

Parker: Alright kid, let's go, the chief wants to see you.

Kahlil (sarcastically): Really? I was just startin' to miss big 5-0.

Parker: I'd ease up on the smart mouth if I were you, he isn't exactly in a cheery mood due to your little revolution, you know.

INT. County Jail Lobby – An agitated Meisner is now face to face with Kahlil since he first put him away 2 months ago.

Meisner: How you doin Kahlil?

Kahlil: Well I haven't exactly been stayin' at the Ritz Carlton drinking Arnold Palmers all day, every day, but hey, I'm still tickin'

Meisner: What was I supposed to do, kid? You broke the law and you knew it came with a price.

Kahlil: Yes I did and I don't regret it one bit. I knew what the consequences of my actions were and I accepted them, still do. But the question that remains is, can you handle the consequences, Chief?

Meisner (nervously): I know you know what's going on Kahlil, and let me tell you, this isn't a game. The civil unrest your challenge has created is getting dangerous. We have kids and adults alike squaring off in the streets over the right to play sport, these protest are turning into riots. Fights breaking out and property being destroyed. How are you going to feel if someone gets seriously hurt behind all this? Is that what you want?

For the first time since their conversation started, Kahlil is no longer smiling and has started giving serious thought to Meisner's words.

Kahlil: I don't want anyone to get hurt chief, I just needed to let the world know how so many of us soon to be graduates felt about not being able to play sports our final year in high school. I don't expect you to care because you're not in our shoes, so-

Meisner: Don't know how it feels? Kahlil did you know I have a 17 year old son and a 16 daughter who are seniors at YOUR school?

Kahlil (puzzled): Know, I didn't. You kinda failed to mention that.

Meisner: Well, I do. My son is on the basketball team and my daughter is a cheerleader.

Kahlil: Well, how do they feel about all this?

Meisner: When the quarantine started my daughter cried nearly every night for the whole first 2 weeks. She loves cheerleading and misses her friends.

Kahlil: And your son?

Meisner: Well there's the real punch-line. My son just made varsity on the basketball team.

Kahlil (shocked): Wait a minute, Jump Shot JM, Jason Meisner. The new kid, he's your son?

Meisner: Yeah.

Kahlil: I was there when he tried out and made the team, we were all looking forward to seein' him play in this season.

Meisner: Me, my wife Helen, and my daughter Elena were all so proud of him when he gave us the news that he was on the team and when the government put us in quarantine it ripped Jason's heart out to know he wasn't gonna get to play this season.

Kahlil: --Or any other season at that.

Meisner: That's not fully so, just yet. The mayor has considered lifting the ban on sporting events and seasons being that regular in-person, face to face class meetings are getting ready to start back.

Kahlil (confused): Seriously? With all the trouble I've caused you mean to tell me he's actually considering the idea of us getting our season back?

Meisner: Yes, believe it or not, he's actually been very moved by the protest and he understands where everyone is coming from. He's considering the idea of letting sporting events to resume with extreme safety precautions being taken into account.

Kahlil: Well what's stopping him from puttin' that idea in motion if he has the power to do so?

Meisner: The growing civil unrest. Believe it or not, I really do understand what this year means to you Kahlil. I understand because it means the same thing to my kids...my family.

Kahlil (chuckles): That's why you didn't have any hard feelings about this from the jump. You won't admit it chief, but you secretly agree with the challenges.

Meisner: I saw a smile and a look of hope on my son's face for the first time in months since the quarantine began. The challenges really lifted his spirit, my daughter's as well , and as much as I hate to admit it, the King Kahlil challenge has lifted my spirit too. Now you see Kahlil, I know why you did what you did and if I say so myself, you've made your point in that respect, but now it's time for the civil unrest to end. Even from behind these walls you've seen the news coverage of the protest. The world knows and understands how we feel Kahlil, so now it's time for you to be the voice that simmers the fire before someone is hurt or worse

Kahlil momentarily sits quiet with a sense of understanding of where Meisner is coming from. His deep thought is suddenly broken by an announcement from Parker about a developing story from the news.

Officer Parker: Chief you need to see this.

Female News Report on TV: A large angry group of protesters have gathered outside Green County Highschool with baseball bats and bricks. The crowd has been met by local police and a SWAT unit preventing them for entering the school's locked gymnasium.

Chief Meisner: Jesus, I gotta get down there and reason with them before this gets outta hand.

Kahlil: Take me with you chief, I know how to end this the right way.

Meisner looks over at Parker then back to Kahlil and gives him a confident nod of approval. Kahlil, Meisner and Parker all pile into the chief's squad car and make their way to Green County High. Once they arrive to the front of the school, the trio quickly get out of the car and Kahlil approaches the crowd, surrounded by police, angry protestors, and a television news crew. As Kahlil stands in front of the crowd, everyone goes silent.

Kahlil: Listen everyone. The world has felt our pain and everybody knows our story, and now, as the person who created this challenge, I'm asking everyone to cease and desist with the protest, so that no one gets hurt. We made history over the past couple months and now a change is gonna come, but if we want to see that change, we have to be that change. So lets put out the fires and take a knee so tomorrow can have a chance at being a better day.

The once divided crowd silently lingers over Kahlil's words for a brief moment. After both the police and protestors quickly have a quiet chat among their respective groups, the two groups embrace each other with civility and understanding, shaking hands and giving hugs before turning to Kahlil and giving him a round of applause as the news crew records them all. Letting out a sigh of relief, Kahlil, Meisner and Parker all return to the chief's car as the trio heads back to the county jail.

Three hours after the resolved conflict, Kahlil is waiting for Meisner to give him a verdict on his fate in the county jail lobby. Meisner and Parker walk back in...

Meisner: Well Kahlil, we just got off the phone with the mayor and here's the verdict...

Kahlil (nervously): And...

Meisner: Well you're not goin' to jail, but you are gonna do some community service for the next month.

Kahlil (lets out a sigh of relief): Whew, guess if you can't do the time, then don't do the crime.

Meisner (laughs): Follow to me to the interrogation room, I have someone I want you to meet.

Kahlil follows Meisner to the interrogation room to meet the man he will be serving his community service with. As he makes it to the interrogation room, Meisner opens the door to which Kahlil is greeted by the look of a puzzled stranger holding an A-K 47 rifle in his hand.

Kahlil (confused): Uhhhh....who is this?

TO BE CONTINUED....

Script
Like

About the Creator

Joe Patterson

Hi I'm Joe Patterson. I am a writer at heart who is a big geek for film, music, and literature, which have all inspired me to be a writer. I rap, write stories both short and long, and I'm also aspiring to be an author and a filmmaker.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.