Fiction logo

"Just Get the Giraffe"

those were my only orders from corporate...

By Jenna SediPublished about a year ago 1 min read
"Just Get the Giraffe"
Photo by Wolfgang Hasselmann on Unsplash

Bonk! Its neck whacked into the top of the cage opening. Crap.

"It doesn't fit, Jones." I growled, pushing harder on the stinky, reticulated rump.

"Make it fit!" He yelled from the idling cab.

How do you convince a streetlamp horse to lower its head and crawl into a dark, unfamiliar box? Turns out you don't.

My lungs exploded when the monster's head swung back, slamming into my chest with pointy ossicones. A warning smack, thankfully. "Holy heck," I wheezed.

The giraffe screeched, stamping its hooves and whacking me across the face with its feathery tail. I radioed to base after catching my breath, "How are we supposed to fit this beast? Why didn't boss send a bigger truck?"

"W'dya mean, dimwhit? The cage is plenty big!"

"George, I'm staring right at the damned thing! Eye to eye with its stinking winker," I turned my head, coughing through another assailing giraffe fart.

"Eye to eye? God bless yer stupid souls." He grumbled, "Y'all s'possed to get the baby. The albino one. All white, yeah?"

"Oh." I glanced up a tall yellow and brown back just in time to see the ossicones swinging my way again. "Shit."

"Just get the giraffe."

Short StoryMicrofictionHumor

About the Creator

Jenna Sedi

What I lack in serotonin I more than make up for in self-deprecating humor.

Zoo designer who's eyeballs need a hobby unrelated to computer work... so she writes on her laptop.

Passionate about conservation and sustainability.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Feral R. Wilderabout a year ago

    This is really cute! If you decide to expand it in the future, I would like to read the longer version as well :)

Jenna SediWritten by Jenna Sedi

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.