Fiction logo

Just a Thoughtful Word

Kindness always matters…

By Katya DuftPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 8 min read
1

Every morning starts the same on our school bus. Alex plonks himself down next to me, elbows me in the ribs, and screams, "Yo, fatty, what did you have for breakfast? A ten egg omelette?" I just smile politely and look away. It's always the same joke; eggs, or bacon, or sausage, with slight variations. Other kids laugh and cheer; Alex jumps up and jokingly bows in every single direction. Being a class clown is his only resort from becoming an outcast, like myself. I understand and don't argue. I am used to it.

It would be safe to say that Alex and I are the poorest kids in class among two dozen students from middle-class families. My Mom raises me and my sister by herself after Dad had cheated on her and left. Then a terrible car crash happened, that almost claimed his life, and he hasn't really been able to work since; so we don't get any financial help from him. I shouldn't complain though, it's even worse for Alex. His Mom unexpectedly drowned in a lake on vacation years ago, so now his Dad has been drowning himself in alcohol, not being able to get himself together. He has been doing some consulting work from home, when sober, but that is apparently not enough to provide for his growing son. I have never been over to his place, but I heard my Mom talk about his family with a neighbor. We both wear old clothes to school and getting a car as a gift for our 15th birthday this year is out of question for both.

Alex is on the school basketball team and is doing pretty well. The athletic scholarship is the only way for him to ever afford a college. And it makes him a least a little more popular with other kids. I am good at math, and hope to get a scholarship too, but with weight like mine, mean math skills don't add anything to one's popularity. I don’t really care anymore, but Alex needs constant reminder that they accept him, so he elected to bully me. Well, it's the easiest way, what can you say. I used to complain to Mom. "You are so kind, and are an easy target. Just smile and don't let it get to you," was all she said. I know she is busy at work, so I try not to upset her with my silly complaints.

I enjoy school, but PE is the only class that fills me with terror every single time. I can't climb the rope or do a triple jump. Maybe a little bit of soccer, but I am usually out of energy within just ten minutes. The teacher always rolls his eyes, and almost looks like he would call me names too if it wasn't considered unprofessional. It would be fair to say that I spend half a class catching my breath at the bleachers. Alex never misses a chance to show me my place by throwing a ball in my face or giving me an atomic wedgie, when running, especially when others are around.

That day I was reading for a test in a park in front of my home, when I heard a familiar voice. Alex and a couple of our classmates were riding their bikes through the grass. I startled and squeezed my book tightly. You never know what to expect…. “Hey, fatty!” exclaimed Alex. “I’d invite you for a bike ride with us, but I bet you don’t even own one, because you take too much space in your room already. And you would break it anyway!” The other two cracked up and high-fived him.

It had only rained last night, the grass was still moist, and I felt that my pants were soaked. I got up and started walking home. The dynamic trio got off their bikes, and was smoking cigarettes by a tree. “Hey, what is this wet stain on your ass, did you pee yourself?” I heard Alex run towards me and picked up some speed. Suddenly I heard a thump and a storm of swear words to follow. I turned around. Alex was lying on the grass, squeezing his ankle and moaning. “Smith, you idiot, quit pretending, let’s go!” demanded one of the guys. “I can’t, I sprained or dislocated my fucking ankle!” Alex was almost crying. “Pussy! We are going home!” They picked up their bikes and rode away; I was left with an unknown situation, and wasn’t even sure how to deal with it. My first reaction was to just walk home and leave him there, but Alex looked like he was in some serious pain. “How did this even happen?” “I slipped on some stupid banana that you probably just ate! Or on your fucking pee! Go home, fatty, I can deal with it!” I turned around and kept walking. When I looked back, I saw him still rolling on the ground, rubbing his foot and crying powerless tears. I reluctantly came back up. “Listen, you know my Mom’s a nurse, right. You can hop on one leg over to my place, and I will help you. Either that or an emergency room for you.” “What emergency room? Dad has no money and will kill me if I go!” I tried to pull him up, but to no avail, he just proceeded to screaming louder.

I walked home to get Mom. “Alex Smith??” At first she couldn’t believe her ears, but then she is a nurse, and has to help people, no matter what. We hurried back. He was still stretched on the ground, sobbing. “If this is not Mr. Smith…” exclaimed Mom jokingly. “Now, just relax, honey, and don’t look!” She examined his ankle, it was seriously swollen, and was slowly turning red. I was really starting to feel sorry for him, despite everything that was happening in the past. “Tell him a joke, Andy!” While I was trying to come up with something, she suddenly pulled on his foot, and we all heard a cracking sound. He howled like a wolf, but then calmed down, and Mom tightly wrapped his foot in layers of gauze. Then he put his arms around us and slowly hopped to our house. We placed him on the couch, and I brought an extra pillow, so he could put his foot up. “Now several days off your foot, sweetie. I will call your Dad to pick you up, and then I will see if I can sneak you in for f free X-ray later.” He blushed, thanked her, and closed his eyes.

Mr. Smith showed up a couple hours later. He reeked of vodka and cigarettes and looked exhausted. “Thank you so much, Cinthia! You and your son are so sweet, I will show this jerk at home! I know he bullies Andy, and now you give him all this free care. I wouldn’t be able to afford medical bills right now!” “Andy, put the kettle on, please!” In my Mom’s language it usually meant that she wanted to say something she didn’t want me to hear. I went to the kitchen, put the kettle on, and shut the door. Fifteen minutes later I saw Alex slowly hopping outside, with his arm around his Dad’s shoulder. I looked him in the eyes, and noticed that he was crying. He caught my eye and turned away. His father looked devastated too. “Oh, no, Mom must have ripped them both a new one. He will kick my butt next time I see him at school.” The pictures of future terror filled my mind, so I put my headphones on, trying to escape them.

Alex was away from school for about two weeks. I started getting used to having the bus bench all to myself, plus the kids didn’t bother teasing me, when he wasn’t around; they were too busy discussing their studies for a driving permit. So, when I got on the bus that Friday morning, I didn’t expect to see him. He smiled from ear to ear. “Yo, fatty!” My heart sank. “Yo….Ok, Andy, guess what, I am back on my feet! Can’t run yet, but will get there soon! Should walk in the meantime to retrain my muscles and thought that maybe you should walk with me. It will do you good, and you should finally lose some weight and get at least a B in PE this year!” I looked at him in shock. “Are you for real?” I still couldn’t believe it and felt very skeptical. Other kids stared at us, a little confused, but since Alex wasn’t aiming to provide entertainment anymore, they immediately switched to their own conversation, and forgot about us. “I am for real. It’s ridiculous that you can’t even get a good grade, and you are a smart guy otherwise. Just willing to help! You guys helped me, and your Mom is a sweet lady!”

“A sweet lady?” I spent the remainder of the day, wondering what my Mom had told Alex and his father that day. Did she promise them a serious beating from her wrestler brother, when he comes to visit? Did she threaten to sue them? Did she say no more medical help unless he treats me better? Why is this sudden change of heart from Alex? I have never been that impressed with my Mom in my whole life. And I thought she didn’t even care.

I hurried into the kitchen right after coming home. Mom was sitting at the table, feeding my sister, relaxed and serene, and not looking like someone who had just sorted a bully out. “Mom! What did you tell Alex and his Dad? He was like a new person today! He wants me to exercise with him! Did you tell them Uncle Eric will come and kick their butts or something??”

I have never heard my Mom laugh so hard before. She was cracking up for a very long time and crying tears of laughter. “Oh, honey, that’s not it at all! I just told Alex and his father that people like us should stick together. We have no money, so our happiness has to come from other places. I told him that bullying you will never make him a stronger person, but being your friend will, because together you are a real power. And I said, I know he lost his Mom, but I don’t mind being one for him as much as I can, so both him and his Dad should join us for lunch at least every weekend. Everyone just needs a little bit of kindness, a thoughtful word, to be able to feel that you are loved. And popular. And important.”

family
1

About the Creator

Katya Duft

Katya Duft is a public transit blogger (Tales From the Bus) and a three-time Moth Story Slam winner; frequent participant of storytelling shows in Los Angeles. She is also a linguist working in post-production.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.