Fiction logo

Just A Dream

Or a Winter Nightmare

By Amber ToneyPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
Just A Dream
Photo by Ian Schneider on Unsplash

My bed is gone. The world has gone white. I can’t see the moon, but it reflects off a million snow crystals making the world just bright enough. I look down at my frozen toes and let out a scream. The sound is completely swallowed up by the snow blanketed forest. My boots have been ripped away by curved black claws. My pants replaced by mottled grey and white fur. My knees are bent the wrong way, and my thighs are pure muscle.

I fall forward catching myself on paws bigger than my hands. A snarl rips from my throat as I sense movement in the thick undergrowth. Plumes of hot breath billow in front of me as I cut off the growl and stare at the rabbit twenty yards away. My heart beats faster, my breathes even out, and every lean muscle in my body prepares for the run.

I spring forward. The forest is a blur as I hunt down my prey. The rabbit sees me too late, barely a movement in its body before I snap it’s back with my razor-sharp teeth. Blood fills my mouth, rich and warm. I rip into it’s still-warm body and devour everything but the tuffs of fur that cling to the melted snow around me and my dinner.

I jolt awake, relieved to be warm in bed. I lift a hand to rub my eyes and see my palms coated in sticky blood and rabbit fur. Just a dream?

Fantasy

About the Creator

Amber Toney

I'm a mom of two who enjoys writing and drawing in my free time. I especially love drawing pictures for the stories I write! I'm powered by coffee and limited only by my imagination!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Amber ToneyWritten by Amber Toney

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.