Fiction logo

JUNGLE

A FIGHT TO THE DEATH

By mark william smithPublished 12 months ago Updated 2 months ago 1 min read
1

I don't want to die in this steaming hell.

The night sounds, buzzing mosquitos, flapping wings, and scurrying animals, are somehow……different.

There is an added sound; the bending of wet grass, lots of it.

Our bellies press against the rotting earth. Our rifles aim into the sweltering blackness.

I adjust my night vision goggles and realize that the jungle is moving. Everywhere.

They are too many.

I pray that in the darkness they will pass.

The silence is maddening.

My fear becomes a murderous rage.

Screaming, I fire into the smoldering night.

Adventure
1

About the Creator

mark william smith

I have been writing now as a hobby for 20 years.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alison McBain12 months ago

    Great scene! Makes you want to find out what happens next.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.