Fiction logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 28

By Kelly RileyPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
1

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue.

Chapter 28: Smoke in the Air

When I saw Nicky standing on the riverbank I felt a wave of relief. He was all right. But what was he doing here? Joseph and I needed answers.

June: Thank God. It looks like Nicky's okay.

Joseph: What the hell is he doing here?

Ferryman: We need to tie down the boat. Can you toss me the rope?

Clue #1

Nicky spotted us as we secured the boat.

Nicky: Joseph?

June: Nicky, what is going on?

Nicky: June!

June: For the second time in my life -- I could strangle you, Nicky Bennett.

Nicky: Joseph, I can explain.

Joseph: I can't believe you, Nicky. You disappeared. We called the police! Do you have any idea how hard it was to find you?

Nicky: I'm sorry. The villagers needed my help and I couldn't refuse them. I didn't think I'd be gone this long.

Clue #2

June: These boxes are full of medical supplies.

Nicky: That's the thing. The villagers are really sick.

Joseph: But you didn't tell anyone, Nicky. I'm a doctor, too. I would have helped!

Nicky: I'm so sorry, Joseph.

Joseph: Thank you. Now, tell us what's going on in the village.

...

June: We found your truck abandoned by the side of the road in Lagos.

Nicky: The village elder flagged me down while I was making house calls. She asked me to come immediately. People were dying. They don't have any doctors here. I set up this makeshift clinic but I still don't have half the things I need.

Clue #3

June: Herbs. What kind of illness is this?

Nicky: I haven't been able to diagnose it exactly but it's respiratory. Quarantining the sick hasn't helped. More and more people are falling ill every day. And the only thing I have to treat it with is herbal tea!

Uyai: Doctor Bennett, we need you. Oba's taken a turn for the worse.

Nicky: Damn. I'll be there right away.

Joseph: I'll help you.

June: We both will. What can I do?

Nicky: I need my medicine bag, then we can get going.

Clue #4

The medicine bag was the same old one Nicky had always carried. It was already worn when we were together; now the stitching was coming apart. But nothing could ever make him part with it.

Nicky: Thank you, Oba's house is on the outskirts of the village. Let's hurry.

...

Uyai: I fear for my husband, Doctor Bennett. I thought he was getting better but now he can't get out of bed.

Nicky: All right, well it's important he keeps eating and stays hydrated.

June: I'll get the water.

Clue #5

I lifted the jug and noticed the room was covered in a layer of soot.

June: Nicky, there's black soot everywhere.

Nicky: I know. It's from the coal mines that surround the village. I think the soot might be exacerbating the illness.

Joseph: If the soot is toxic, it could even be the cause.

June: I didn't realize this was a coal mining town.

Uyai: It is not. The coal mines appeared around us almost overnight. They keep digging closer and closer to the village. The air has become filled with smoke and now people are getting sick.

June: What was that loud noise? It sounded like an explosion!

Clue #6

June: There's a plume of smoke over by the trees!

Uyai: Oh, that? That's just the blasting from the coal mines. We hear it all day long. Sometimes at night, too.

June: My goodness. The smoke smells foul. I want to see this blast site.

...

Nicky: The air is so thick with smoke, it's suffocating.

June: I can barely breathe. I need to find something to cover my face.

Clue #7

June: If the coal mines are giving off this much smoke, it's no wonder the villagers are sick.

Nicky: It can't be normal for a blast to cause this much smoke.

Joseph: No. And it's far too close to the village. I'd be shocked if this isn't the cause of the illness.

June: We need to find out who is operating the coal mines.

Nicky: We need to tell them how much harm the blasts are doing to the villagers.

Joseph: If they don't already know.

Nicky: I can't imagine that they'd continue with all this if they knew.

Joseph: I hope you're right about that, Nicky.

Clue #8

June: "Peel Industries." This must be the name of the mining company.

Nicky: Hmm. I think I met the owner briefly on the boat ride here. She said she had a house a few miles from the village.

Joseph: Away from all the smog, I assume?

June: I think we should pay this woman a visit.

...

Arabella: Hello there, my name is Arabella Peel. How do you do?

June: Hello, Mrs. Peel, my name is June Parker. You have quite an estate here.

Arabella: Oh yes, it's important for one to feel at home while living abroad.

June: We would like to ask you a few questions about the coal mine.

Arabella: Jolly good. How about we discuss it over a game of croquet?

Clue #9

June: Playing croquet now would be rather like fiddling while Rome burns, don't you think?

Arabella: What do you mean, dear?

June: We think the coal mines are harming the villagers, Mrs. Peel.

Nicky: The air in the village is thick with smoke, and more than half the village has fallen ill.

Arabella: Well, it's not because of the mines! The health inspector approved everything. You have some nerve making such accusations, Miss Parker. Peel Industries isn't responsible for any illness.

June: Mrs. Peel, people are very sick.

Arabella: I think you should leave now. Good day.

Nicky: She... she just walked away.

June: Well, let's not let this be a wasted trip.

Clue #10

June: This is a letter from Peel Industries. It's warning Mrs. Peel about you. "The locals have brought in an English doctor. He might start asking questions."

Nicky: That doesn't make any sense. Why would she be worried about me?

June: It sounds like she's got something to hide. Her office address is on the letter. Let's find out what she's hiding.

SeriesMysteryfamilyAdventure
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.