Fiction logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 20

By Kelly RileyPublished about a year ago 5 min read
Like

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through all each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue for chapter 20. More chapters will be posted soon.

Chapter 20: Old Wounds

I found out Clare had been looking for our estranged mother, Irene, and she had called Sam Watts for help. I had no interest in talking with that man, but Virginia encouraged me to look into it.

We arrived at Rikers Island to talk to Sam Watts. I hadn't seen him since his trial. Virginia insisted on coming along, but I didn't want him to see her.

June: Virginia, I want you to wait here. I need to talk to Sam alone.

Virginia: What? Aunt June--

June: Don't argue with me about this, Virginia.

Clue #1

Sam: June, I'm surprised you wanted to see me.

June: I don't want to see you. But I found the photos that you took for Clare. She was looking for our mother before she died. How did you get involved?

Sam: I had connections in the FBI that could locate your mother. Clare asked me for help.

So Clare went to Sam for help, and it ended in her death. I had a thousand things I wanted t say, but I didn't know where to start.

June: So what about my mother? Did you find her?

Sam: I tracked her to New York City and sent those photos to Clare. That was before... everything.

June: Before you killed Clare and Harry you mean.

Sam: If I could take it back, I would.

June: I'm done here.

Clue #2

Sam: June, wait. I can help you find your mother.

June: I don't need your help. And don't ever contact Virginia again.

...

Virginia: How did it go, Aunt June?

June: Sam confirmed he helped Clare look for our mother.

Virginia: And? The photos showed her in New York. Is she still here?

June: I don't know, Virginia... maybe if we had Sam's files we could find out, but...

Virginia: Hmm. Would Sam's files be in the FBI archive by any chance? I remember reading something about the archive in the paper this morning.

Clue #3

June: "FBI files moved to new building after fire."

Virginia: What do you think? Shouldn't we go there?

June: I don't know, Virginia. It seems like a long shot.

Virginia: It couldn't hurt to look.

...

Virginia: The article says the archives are located at Broad Street downtown.

June: Broad Street? Hmm. Are we on the right line?

Clue #4

June: Oh, it looks like we're only a couple stops away.

Virginia: So tell me more about Grandma.

June: I told you already. She was a criminal. She abandoned us.

Virginia: Yes, I know. But what was she like?

June: She was beautiful and full of life, and then she left.

...

We arrived at the FBI's new archive, but I still wasn't sure I wanted to find my mother.

June: You know, the FBI won't just let us look through their files.

Virginia: Well, what if we create a diversion?

Clue #5

June: There's a fire alarm. That would clear the place out. But it's highly illegal.

Virginia: Since when has that stopped you? Come on. You and Grandma are the only family I have left.

June: Okay, Virginia. Cover your ears.

...

June: Okay, the fire alarm will only buy us so much time. We have to move quickly. So the documents would be filed under Sam's name.

Clue #6

June: I found it! Sam's file on my mother, Irene Parker. Montenegro, Shanghai, Leningrad...

Virginia: She didn't stay put, did she? I guess she's probably left New York by now too.

June: Let's get out of here before someone catches us. We can take the file home and look it over. I don't think anyone will miss it.

...

The file was like a diary of all those missing years. When I started high school, my mother was in Taipei. When I had my first crush, the Prince of Luxembourg's crown jewels went missing. And when I moved back to London, she was across town stealing Lord Clifford's signet ring. I could have pored over the file for hours, but the phone rang.

Clue #7

Sam: June? It's Sam Watts. I know I'm not supposed to call... But I asked around about your mother, and there's a guy here who said he knew her. He said he heard she was arrested a couple weeks ago, but that she was in a bad way.

June: What do you mean?

Sam: She's sick. She's in the hospital. June? Are you still there?

June: Yes. Do you know what hospital my mother's in? And where?

Sam: I don't know exactly, but my source said she'd been working out of a city in Germany. Maybe that's where she was arrested and taken to the hospital.

June: Hmm. A city in Germany. Hold on.

Clue #8

June: It looks like she keeps surfacing in Würzburg every few months.

Sam: Huh, you found my file. Of course.

June: I guess I should check the hospitals in Würzburg.

Sam: Good luck, June.

...

I had no real desire to see my mother again. But if she was as sick as Sam's source suggested, it might be the last chance I had. But when we arrived at the hospital, things were in chaos.

Virginia: Is that an alarm going off? What's happening?

June: Why do I have the feeling that my mother is at the bottom of this? Let's look for her.

Clue #9

June: This is Mom's bed, but where's Mom?

Virginia: What does her chart say? Maybe she's being treated in another part of the hospital.

June: It says she was brought in with pneumonia. She's listed as a high security patient. Hmm. There's something odd about this chart.

Virginia: What, Aunt June?

June: The doctor didn't prescribe any medicine.

Virginia: If Grandma had pneumonia, why wouldn't the doctor prescribe any medicine?

June: That's the question. I'm beginning to wonder if she's really sick.

Virginia: Wasn't she supposed to be in police custody? Maybe there's an officer here who knows.

June: Actually, I don't think that's necessary.

Clue #10

June: She slipped her cuffs. Well, that explains the alarm. Of course, I came all the way to Würzburg, and she's not even sick.

Virginia: So what now?

June: We'll find her. She can't have gone that far.

MysterySeriesfamily
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.