Fiction logo

It Takes Two

A Microfiction

By ReileyPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
1
It Takes Two
Photo by James Fitzgerald on Unsplash

I gazed down at Tom who stood at ground level. "Keep a look out," I whispered. "This next part is going to be tricky."

Tom peered around the darkness before returning my glance. "Are you sure you don't need any help, Leona?"

"No." I then craned my neck to admire the gleaming silver object levels above me -- waiting for me. After plotting for a week, Tom and I agreed to share equal parts of its glorious contents.

I silently crept up to the next level. Then the next where I almost struck the alarm.

"Careful!" Tom warned.

When I finally reached the top, I laughed a little inside. Finally! Finally it was ours. I carefully slid the object toward the edge. "Ready?"

Tom ensured the position of the cushion. "Yes."

I pushed the object downward, where it soundlessly landed on the thick cushion. I hurriedly climbed down, my movements causing glass to shatter.

"Leona!"

"Go hide it! I'll distract them."

I leapt into the next room, seeing the staircase light come on. Footsteps sounded from up above, and I sat at the bottom, waiting. Just look cute, right? They were only treats, and I was their cat after all.

HumorMicrofiction
1

About the Creator

Reiley

An eclectic collection of the fictional and nonfictional story ideas that have accumulated in me over the years. They range from all different sorts of genres.

I hope you enjoy diving into the world of my mind's constant creative workings.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.