Fiction logo

It Started In The Sea

a mermaids love

By MizuNaniaPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
1

The water always felt amazing to me. I hated being on land. I hated the heat of the sun, the heat of the sand, and the wind. In the water, you can't feel any of that. All you feel is the water moving your hair, touching your skin, and the salty taste. The water is where I belong and where I live. Everyone else wants to go up to land and have fun. They want to run, walk, dance, and just have a good time. Going to land is like a vacation for us merpeople. I always preferred going to another part of the sea for my vacations, though.

My name is Vanessa, and I am a mermaid. I'm also happy to be one. No one can change my mind on that. I have a strong purple tail and a blue top. My hair is brown and braided, and my eyes are blue. I live with my family in the Atlantic Ocean. They all want to go on land for a vacation. They always talk about visiting Florida or California. I couldn't care less where they want to go. Unless it's in the ocean, I'm not going.

One day, I was swimming to collect flowers for my mom. It was her birthday, and I wanted to surprise her. I ended up bumping into a handsome merman. He had green eyes, blonde hair, tan skin, and an orange tail. "I'm sorry I didn't see you there," I say, flustered. He smiled at me, making my insides do flips. I never was interested in romance, but he may change my mind. It was obvious that he had a lot of vacations on land. His tan told me. "Don't apologize; it was all my fault," he said.

I cleared my throat to gather the courage to say something. I was so afraid that if I let him out of my sight, I'd never see him again. "What's your name?" I asked. "It's Liam, what's yours?" "Vanessa," I stuttered. "Nice to meet you, Vanessa. I'll see you around," he turned to swim off, but before he could, I blurted out, "Will you join me for lunch, please? You seem very interesting, and I want to get to know you." He looked at me and smiled, "I'd love to."

After that day, we spent a few weeks together. Each day I fell more and more in love with him. We did everything together. We went on swims, went dancing, visited shipwrecks, went to the human museums, and even went dancing. Everything was magical. "Vanessa," Liam said. I smiled, "Yes?" I was hoping today he'd finally ask me to be his girlfriend. "I need to tell you something," he said. I leaned in closely so he knew I was listening. "I'm not a merman, I'm a human, and I'm on vacation here. I have to go back tomorrow, but I've caught feelings for you, and I want to know if you'd be willing to come back with me?"

I stared at him in shock. I couldn't believe it. He was human and loves me. I quickly left. That night all I could think about was him. Was I really willing to go on land and maybe live there for him? Is he worth it? The next morning, I met him at the place we met. "Have you made a choice?" he asked glumly. I'm sure he expects me to tell him no. "I have." He looks to the ocean floor, "and what would that be?" he asked. "You tell me," I said before grabbing him and kissing him. He kissed back with such passion. I knew from that day on that I'd do anything for this man, even if it meant living on land.

LoveShort StoryFantasy
1

About the Creator

MizuNania

I'm an amateur writer who hopes to become a professional writer in the future. I mainly enjoy writing fiction and reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Cezanne Libellen10 months ago

    Awww, another cute one Mizu.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.