Fiction logo

IT SHOULD HAVE ENDED.

.

By Tejas AryaPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
1
IT SHOULD HAVE ENDED.
Photo by Riccardo Chiarini on Unsplash

It should have ended. Those four words echoed through my mind as I stumbled through the dark woods, my heart pounding with fear. I knew that I had made a mistake, that I should have turned back when I had the chance. But it was too late now. I was lost, and I was being hunted.

It had all started innocently enough. My friends and I had decided to go on a camping trip, to get away from the stresses of everyday life. We had chosen a secluded spot deep in the woods, far from any civilization. It was supposed to be a fun adventure, a chance to bond and to enjoy the beauty of nature.

But things had started to go wrong from the very beginning. Our GPS had malfunctioned, leaving us without any way to navigate the wilderness. We had also noticed strange noises in the woods at night, noises that sounded like something was stalking us.

At first, we had dismissed it as our imaginations. But as the days went by, the noises grew louder and more persistent. And then, one night, we had seen it. A shadowy figure, lurking just beyond the light of our campfire.

We had all screamed and run in terror, our hearts racing with fear. But that was just the beginning. Over the next few days, we had been relentlessly pursued by the creature. It was fast, agile, and seemed to know the woods better than we did. It was like it was toying with us, waiting for the perfect moment to strike.

And now, as I stumbled through the dark, I knew that it was closing in. I could hear its ragged breathing, could feel its hot breath on the back of my neck. I knew that I was going to die, that I had made a fatal mistake by coming here.

But then, something strange happened. The creature stopped pursuing me, as if it had suddenly lost interest. I turned around, expecting to see it standing right behind me. But it was nowhere to be seen.

I was confused, disoriented, and utterly terrified. I didn't know what was going on, or what had happened to the creature. All I knew was that I had to get out of the woods, to find my way back to civilization before it was too late.

As I stumbled through the darkness, I suddenly heard a voice. It was a faint, whispery voice, like someone speaking from far away. I couldn't make out the words at first, but then they became clearer.

"It should have ended," the voice said. "But it didn't. And now you're here, in the darkness, alone and afraid."

I tried to ignore the voice, to push it out of my mind. But it was like it was inside my head, taunting me, driving me deeper into the darkness.

And then, I saw it. A glimmer of light in the distance, like a beacon of hope. I stumbled towards it, my heart racing with anticipation.

As I got closer, I realized that it was a cabin. An old, rundown cabin that looked like it had been abandoned for years. But it was the only shelter I had, the only place where I could find refuge.

I stumbled inside, my heart pounding with fear. But then, I realized that I wasn't alone. There were others in the cabin, people who looked like they had been there for a long time. They were all staring at me, with blank, expressionless faces.

"It should have ended," one of them said. "But it didn't. And now we're all trapped here, forever."

I tried to run, to escape the cabin and the horrors that lay within. But the door wouldn't budge, as if it was locked from the outside.

And then,

Young AdultShort StorySeriesScriptSci FiSatireMysteryLoveHumorHorrorHistoricalFantasyFan FictionfamilyFableExcerptClassicalAdventure
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.