Fiction logo

It's A Date

My Inner Bull Is Raging

By teisha lesheaPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
12
Credit for photo can be found at sealslax.com

Story 1: Love In Two Days - Part of a three-part story series

"Have you heard of the Raging Bull County Fair?"

Ever since getting out of Ozan's car yesterday, we've been in constant communication. Our text thread alone looks like we've been in a three-year committed relationship. I feel a sense of relief talking to him. I've never felt this way towards a man before, and I must say, "I like it here."

"I've never heard of it. If that's something you want to do, I wouldn't mind going."

"Great. We should get there early so we can leave early to avoid the huge crowd."

Did I just set up our first date? Grinning through the phone, I can feel my stomach having butterflies and my face blushing. I could talk to Ozan for hours. He's brought ease over my body that I didn't know existed. In the middle of our conversation, I received an incoming call from Angie. I haven't had a chance to catch her up to speed on Ozan.

"Ozan, I hate to interrupt, but I have an incoming call that I need to answer. I will call you back." I can tell in his voice that he didn't want to leave; he understood and mentioned that he'd be doing some overtime for the rest of the day, so we agreed that he'd pick me up. With his baritone voice, he casually said that he would pick me up at 11 a.m. "Ok, see you then."

Clicking over to Angie, I didn't know where to being. I wanted to keep it secret, and on another side, feeling giddy, I felt the urge to share with anyone who would listen. Before I clicked over, I took a deep breath to relieve the excitement I felt for almost twenty-four hours. As soon as I clicked over, Angie, a raging bull herself, wanted answers, nosey and treating me like an older sister asking about my whereabouts. "Where the hell have you been? I haven't heard from you since yesterday." With an embarrassing grin again through the phone, I explained that I was busy at work and I had a couple of projects Martha wanted me to work on, so I didn't have time to socialize. Angie wasn't buying it; she explained that I'm only at work for nine hours, and at some point, I would've had to come home, eat dinner and go to bed.

Embarrassingly, I said, "You got me. I've been talking to Ozan since I left work yesterday." With a sound of disgust, Angie asked, "Who in the hell is Ozan?" It was at that moment I realized that I hadn't talked to Angie longer than I thought. "The lovely man who dropped me off yesterday is named Ozan. We met at the new coffee shop Checkmate." With a sudden gasp, Angie wanted to facetime to get the details. Talking over the phone isn't as satisfying to her as I thought. After hanging up, she faced timed me a few seconds later. Hesitant and excited that I'm currently happy. "So, drop the details."

"Well, there is some back story." Although I've known Angie for years, I still feel a cloud of embarrassment about my fairytale romances. She's concerned about my well-being and happiness; that's why she's so protective. I finally told her about ManMan Geriseuz. "Wait; you paid $100 to see a witch?" I quickly stated that she isn't a witch; she's a healer. "The only thing she's healing is her bank account," Angie said with an attitude. "How could you?"

Before I allowed her to scold me like one of her imaginary children, I explained that I met Ozan the day after that prediction. "What if it was a coincidence?" I sat in silence for a couple of seconds; it almost felt like an eternity I responded. "What if it's not?" Allowing my imagination to lead the way, Angie reiterated that she loves me and she's here to support me in my journey. Without interrupting my happiness, she stated, "Let me know how it goes." After agreeing, she quickly changed the topic.

"So, do you want to try that new club Green Light Kitty?" For weeks Angie has been dying to get me to that club. I'm not a club person, but I did promise her a visit this month. "I have plans." After those few words exited my lips, I instantly regretted telling her no I've always found it challenging to turn Angie down. She's heard no so many times throughout her childhood that I didn't want to add another one to her list of people she couldn't trust. "Why? Because of Ooooozan?" she said teasingly. I smiled and quickly said, "Yes, it's because of Ozan. I wanted to show him a good time at the Raging Bull Fair." She rolled her eyes and understood. "Maybe next time." I felt terrible hearing the sadness in her voice, but this is a once-in-a-lifetime process for me, and I feel excellent about how things will turn out with Ozan and me. "Well, call me with this date is over. If you're up to it, we can visit the club after." I agreed that I would call her as soon as it's over. It's currently 11:30 p.m., so we both decided to end our phone call.

After getting off the phone with Angie, I jumped up from the couch and skipped to my bedroom to figure out what I would wear to the Raging Bull Fair. Before covering my bed with a pile of clean clothes, I opened the weather app to see what I need to look forward to 65-72 degrees seems like an abnormal summer day in LA, but I can't complain as someone who despises summer. Staring at my French Bulldog, I desperately asked, "What should I wear, Boss? Uninterested, he stood up from his laying position and walked to the living room. After staring at my closet, I felt a thick layer of anxiety flood my body. Questions entered and exited my mind like a traffic stop.

"Will I go on any rides?"

"Do I plan on playing any games?"

"Shorts or skirt?"

"Tank top or crop top? I have to do thirty crunches."

For the next ten minutes, I was having an internal debate on what to wear to this fair. My phone blinked with an alert from Ozan.

Template From Canva

I sat on my bed and admired the text message for a few more seconds before responding.

Template From Canva

I looked at the pile of clothing on my bed and tossed them on my lounge chair by the closet. I figured that I would cross that bridge with I get there. I laid on my back, staring at the ceiling, playing scenarios on what tomorrow may look like; my body felt a warmness like a high schooler excited to see my crush on the first day of school. Looking at my phone, it just turned midnight. I rose from the bed and whispered, "Two Days." I plopped back down on my pillow and shut my eyes. I have a date tomorrow.

Stay tuned for part three...

***********************************

If you haven't joined the Vocal+ community what are you waiting for? Join now to be a part of a community of creatives to share your content. Click here to join now.

***********************************

If you are looking for a group of writers who supports, provides feedback, reads, like, and provide tips, then join Vocal Creators Saloon. A small community with tons of advice and writing prompts will help you through your writer's journey.

Love
12

About the Creator

teisha leshea

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.