Fiction logo

Island of Blood Diamonds

Crazy, not Stupid

By Hilda AlexanderPublished about a year ago 19 min read
2
Island of Blood Diamonds
Photo by Shai Pal on Unsplash

So I got on the plane, and I went to the Island. Yes, the Island.

I know I’ve done a lot of crazy things in my life, but this one tops them all. Going ahead to do something as brazen as this could only mean one thing, I was so tired of my life and I needed a change.

Up until two weeks ago, I was an ordinary single mom to a 2-year-old, working a part-time job, and trying but failing to make ends meet. I had applied earlier for a full-time cashier role in a supermarket and I’ve been called for an interview the next day.

So the day before, I had left Eileen with a neighbor to babysit and had gone to the groceries shop to get some groceries. I hate bringing Eileen into town, it could be dangerous and you never know when you need to start running for your life. Just two days ago, I watched on the news as the cops chased a man down this very road, he was caught just by the river, having nowhere else to run to after running through some shops. I wouldn't want to have her with me if such a thing happened.

Besides the shop was a second-hand suits shop, and since I had an interview the next day I decided to get one as those were the only kind I could afford.

Now, I’ve always been a model citizen and have never stolen even a pin my entire life, my only mistake up till that moment had been falling in love with the wrong person and having a beautiful baby girl with him. But if ever I’ve been tempted to steal, it would be at that moment cos I saw the most beautiful jacket ever. It was first the cool blue color that caught my eye, then the stylish cuts and buttons. It looked like it would fit perfectly and I was beginning to get excited until I checked the price tag behind it. Disappointed, I settled for the boring black one behind it. It was a job interview after all, not a fashion show, it should get the job done. When I got home, I checked the pockets as I normally do for any second-hand clothes I buy before washing, just to see if the previous owner left any ‘goodies’, and that’s when I felt it, a note. What could it be, a love letter? I snickered. Inside it was what I thought was a stone until I opened it to find out that it was a stone alright, just not the kind I thought. It was shiny and crystal, a beautiful piece of...glass? It had to be glass. I took it out and opened the crumpled note, on it was written;

There’s more where this came from. Meet me on the island for cooks, on the day of the Queen, where the bride weds. Come with the stone.”

I swallowed hard, this was a message meant for someone, someone clearly not me. There’s more where this came from. What is this?

I opened my hand slowly to take one more look at the stone, the most beautiful I’ve ever seen. Shiny, lustrous, polished, these and more beautiful words were what I could describe it as. It had to be glass, just glass and nothing important, I reassured myself as my heart began to throb loudly in my chest. But I had to be sure. If this is what I think but dare not think it is, then whoever left it would be looking for it, and who left it? Could it be the mafia, some crime Lord, who? Just then I heard a loud noise and a commotion outside and I almost jumped out of my skin. It took me a while to realize it was just my neighbor having his usual brawl with his baby mama.

I quickly made dinner for Eileen and put her to bed, then I returned to the stone.

There’s more where this came from.

If it is truly what I think it is, then there’s more. But where? Who do I ask? There is no phone number on the note, and no address either. I quickly dried my hands and went to the note again

Meet me on the island for cooks, on the day of the Queen.”

That’s surely some sort of code, one that I’m not privy to. But no need to get ahead of myself. I had to first be sure this wasn’t just a beautiful glass. I had to call Paula, her brother owned a pawn shop, he would be able to help. I called and we agreed to meet the next morning, but that night, I couldn’t sleep a wink. I had the blinds closed and the lights off, and I opened my eyes at the slightest sound to see if someone had come for the stone.

I got up at the first sign of dawn the next morning, got Eileen dressed and ready, took her to Daycare, and left to meet Paula, and together, we went to her brother’s shop in the other part of town. I watched in silent trepidation as he inspected the stone under a magnifying glass. At that point, I didn’t know what I wished for. Did I want it to just be glass so I can go back to my ordinary, boring life? I hadn't even missed my interview yet. I could just pick up where I left off, Or do I want it to be real? and maybe then, just maybe, I could have a bit of an adventure.

After a minute or so of inspecting, Rufus cleared his throat and looked up at me,

“Where did you say you found this?” he asked.

I released the breath I hadn’t realized I’d been holding,

“It’s a long story,” I replied. “What is it? Glass?” I asked.

“It looks pretty real to me,” he replied. “And huge too, this is about 200 carats. The second largest in the world is a little over 300.”

As soon as I heard that, I almost fainted. Paula brought me a chair to sit on and Rufus immediately closed his shop with us inside, and after I had drank a glass of orange juice, I told them about my ordeal the day before and showed them the note.

“There’s more where this came from” this kept hounding me.

“The island for cooks, what does that mean? Paula asked.

“I didn’t know cooks had an island, this is surely a code for something,” I replied.

Just then, as if in a trance Rufus said, “Cooks Island.”

“What?” Paula and I asked in Unison.

Cooks Island is an island in the pacific ocean. That could be it,”

Immediately, Paula brought out her laptop and typed “Cooks Island" on the google search bar and we waited anxiously for the results.

“Indeed it is,” I said quietly as an image of the beautiful island appeared on the screen.

“It says here they celebrate the Queen’s birthday on the first Monday of June,” Paula said again, pointing to the screen.

“On the day of the Queen,” the note said. Today is Saturday, Monday is in two days, that would be the first Monday of June. We have a place, we have a day. What about a time?

“What of the last sentence?” I asked. “It says where the bride weds.”

“I’m not sure,” Rufus replied.

“It could mean a wedding, I’ll be sure when I get there.”

“Get there? You don’t mean you want to go to cooks island.”

“I have to, this is my chance for an adventure.”

“There’s a reason why adventurous people do not live very long, it could be dangerous. You don’t even know who these people are,” Paula said and she was right, she was very right and I knew. But how am I to know that I am safe here? How am I to know that I won’t be found out as the one with the stone? If I were to own this, I had to at least know where it came from, plus the note said there was more.

So Sunday, after making all the necessary arrangements for Eileen, and reassuring Paula and Rufus that I knew what I was doing, I boarded a plane, first to Honolulu and then to Rarotonga. All the while I said one thing to myself, I must be crazy for doing this. Crazy, but hopefully not stupid because in recent times I’ve realized there’s a difference.

At Roratonga, things were in a frenzy, maybe because of the Queen’s birthday, I thought, until I got into a taxi to get to the Airbnb I had rented with the money Paula lent me, then I asked the driver what was going on.

“Oh, you don’t know, it’s the wedding,” he said.

“What? A wedding?”

“Yes, Mr. Laniakea’s daughter’s wedding is today."

Where the bride weds,” the note had said, we really did get the clues right. Also, the way he said the man’s name, it was as though he expected me to know who he was.

“Mr. who?” I asked.

“Mr. Laniakea, He’s the richest man on the Island, and his daughter is getting married to the Prime Minister’s son. The wedding is all everyone talks about.”

I really couldn’t believe it, there was a wedding, there was a WEDDING!

“Where’s the wedding?” I asked.

“At Aitutaki Lagoon Resort, it starts at 2 pm today.”

I quickly glanced at my watch, it was just past 9, but since I wasn’t sure there would be a wedding, I hadn’t brought a dress. That meant I had roughly 4 hours to get a dress, and not just any dress, a dress that showed I was supposed to be at the wedding of the daughter of the richest man on the island, a dress that showed I was the rightful owner of the stone I had hidden in the most bottom part of my suitcase.

“Do you know where I can get a dress? I need to be at the wedding,” I asked.

“Oh, I do know where you can get a dress, but not just anyone can go to the wedding. You need to have an invitation.”

Of course, what did I expect? That I could just waltz my way into the most important wedding on the island just because I had stumbled upon a stone? Of course, it would be packed full of important people and security, and who am I? a struggling, single mother from an unknown town. Even my hair was a mess and I hadn’t had a good night’s sleep in three days. My adventure had ended, I should just get to my room, have the much-needed sleep, and then board the next flight back home.

When I looked up, I saw the driver looking at me from the rearview mirror,

“But if you really need to be there, I can help you,” he said in a mischievous tone. A smile appeared on his face when he saw my eyes shine with excitement. That was the first time took note of the man driving the cab. He was a middle-aged man, his beard had some streak of greys on it. he looked a bit rusty but handsome.

“Really? You can?”

“Yeah, I know someone that knows someone,” he said with an air of importance. And then with a low tone, almost a whisper, he said, “I have one, you want to see?”

“Yes please,” I replied, and like a kid showing a favorite toy to a friend, he reached into the pigeonhole and brought it out, then handed it to me.

It was the most beautifully crafted wedding invitation I had ever seen. It was chic white with intricately detailed gates folded in from either side to enclose the insert with the wedding detail which was printed in gold. To wrap it all up was a Satin ribbon that gave a stunning look. The gates featured the most delicate embossings I had ever seen.

“It’s beautiful,” I said, lacking words to describe it aptly.

“I know, it was a miracle that I was able to get one. Now let’s get you a dress and find a way to get you one too. And with that I smiled, maybe my adventure was not over yet.

I saw that the Invitation card was addressed to Mr. and Mrs. Haaheo as I handed it back to him.

“Mr. Haaheo,” I called out

“That’s me,” he replied with a smile.

“Thanks for showing me your card, my name is Sarah.”

“Nice to meet you, Sarah,” he replied, placing the card back in the pigeonhole.

I had dozed off for a few minutes by the time he stopped in front of a shop.

“Here we are,” he said calmly, not wanting to startle me.

I woke up and looked around, in front of us was a dress shop, and from the window, I could see several dresses made from colorfully printed, traditional fabrics. We went into the shop and a woman, tall with a sturdy build much like Mr. Haaheo greeted us very warmly.

"Sarah, this is my sister Cahya and her husband makes Ei katu, that is flower garlands in the inner room. Cahya, this is Sarah. And Sarah needs a dress….for the wedding.”

“Ooh, the wedding” Cahya replied wide-eyed. “Come look over here, these dresses are the best in town.”

While I looked for a dress to wear, Mr. Haaheo went into the inner room of the shop to discuss with Cahya’s husband how to get me an invitation to the wedding.

Finally, I settled for an off-shoulder, floor-length dress made with a bright-colored fabric. I loved it as soon as I tried it on, standing in front of the floor-length mirror, I could see it fit in all the right places.

Cahya had a smile on her face as she looked at my reflection in the mirror,

“One more thing,” she said as she went into the inner room and brought a flower garland, then she placed it on my head.

“There,” she said, a satisfied look on her face.

By the time Mr. Haaheo came out of the inner room, I had paid for the dress and changed into my own clothes. But the look on his face was that of disappointment.

“What happened?” I asked.

“Today been the day of the event, there’s no more Invitation card left,” he said and I felt the air in me leave my body slowly like I was been deflated.

“But, there was a mistake on mine,” he said again as he brought out his card, his demeanor, somber. “it says Mr. and Mrs. Haaheo. If you do not mind, you can come with me as Mrs. Haaheo.”

“But what about Mrs. Haaheo?” I asked and suddenly, the exuberant taxi driver I had known was unable to speak, he just looked down, staring at his hands. It was Cahya who replied after a moment of silence,

“She died two years ago, during childbirth,” she said.

I was stunned and wasn’t at all ready for that, “I’m so sorry, what about the baby?” I looked from Cahya to Mr. Haaheo, and when none of them replied, I shut my eyes, what was wrong with me, why did I ask?

I turned to him then and held his hands, “Mr. Haaheo, it would be my pleasure to go with you to the wedding.”

“Are you sure, do not feel like you should,” he said to which I smiled,

“I’m sure,” I replied.

By the time we arrived at my lodge, it was almost 12 pm. I had roughly 2 hours to get ready before returned to back to pick me up. I bade him goodbye and opened my suitcase to check if my stone was still there, thankfully it was and I breathed a sigh of relief. I have had this diamond with me for only 3 days and since then I was sure my blood pressure had catapulted to great heights, I wondered then how rich people lived, people like Mr. Laniakea. Did they live with this constant fear that all they had could be taken away from them? Do they sleep every night always waking up to the slightest sounds? Do I really want that for myself?

At 2 pm, I heard a car honk and I knew it was Mr. Haaheo. By then I had washed up, dressed up, and was looking every bit Polynesian, especially with the Ei katu that laid beautifully on my head. When I got down to meet Mr. Haaheo, he was dressed in a black tux, he had loosed the hat he wore earlier and was looking rather handsome, and in place of the taxi cab was a limo and a driver.

You look beautiful Sarah,” he said.

“You don’t look too bad yourself, Mr. Haaheo,” I teased.

“Please Call me John,”

I smiled, “Nice ride, John,”

“Of course, I couldn’t go to such a wedding in a taxi,” he said. He opened the door, took my hand, and helped me, and all of a sudden, I felt like a teen again going to prom.

Aitutaki Lagoon resort was a paradise, short and simple. Upon entering, I felt like I had died and gone to heaven, with its turquoise blue waters, and long swathe of palm-fringed champagne sands, it looked out of this world, and for a moment, I forgot why I had come in the first place.

“It’s beautiful,” I said mesmerized. I just couldn’t aptly put what I felt in words, just like I did with the invitation card. “I seem to say that a lot, don’t I?” I said and he smiled.

“Wait till you see the sunset, it’s to die for,” he said.

There’s more, right more, the diamonds.

The wedding was held in a hall and we had to show our Invitation to get in.

“Mr. and Mrs. Haaheo,” the security called out the name on the card and we smiled in response.

“You’re welcome, please go in,” he said and I breathed a sigh of relief. Finally, I was here, I made it. Where the fair bride weds, this was the last clue. From here on, I had no idea what to expect. Worst-case scenario, I came here just to attend a very high-profile wedding.

While looking for our tables, I noticed something on one. While all other tables had flowers as centerpieces, one had a vase in the shape of a diamond. I looked at the tables around, there weren’t others like it, just the one. This had to be it, I had to sit at that table. Then what? The real owner of the diamonds come to get me. What if I sat close to it but watched it very closely? No, that won’t do, I had to sit on it. But I had no weapon, no means of protecting myself, not even a razor blade. What should I do?

“Places everyone! the wedding’s about to commence,” Someone with a mic said, and I don’t remember if I sat first or Mr. Haaheo did but we ended up sitting on the diamond table. Was I still just crazy, or now both crazy and stupid? cos I felt like a sitting duck, like just about anything could happen to me here. But thankfully, I was not alone. I had Mr. Haaheo here with me, but what would a middle-aged taxi driver do if it really came down it?

Just as I was there contemplating whether to get up or stay put, a waitress came by and without saying a word, dropped a note on the flower vase and walked away.

Mr. Haaheo was trying to make small talk but I wasn’t paying attention. I had to pick up that note in a way that wouldn’t look suspicious, and it seemed like the angels above heard my prayer because a few minutes later, Mr. Haaheo got up in search of a toilet. As soon as he left I picked up the note, and it read;

You made it, meet me in the ante-room. Come with the stone.

I made it? Whoever sent this note saw me, does it mean they didn't know who they were expecting?”

With Mr. Haaheo not back yet, this would be the best time to check this out. I slipped a fork into my purse and went into the room. It was dark and I couldn’t see a thing.

“You’re welcome.” I heard a voice say, suddenly a huge screen came on that lighted the room a bit.

“Please place your stone on the coaster in front of you then sit and watch.”

I did, and for fifteen minutes a video played showing illegal mines both on cook island and in other locations where all manner of illegal acts were done, from underaged miners to brutal working conditions and low pay. I was in tears by the time the presentation was over. The lights came on suddenly and I saw that I was not alone, the room was full of men and women obviously wealthy and they all stared at me. Quickly, I wiped my face.

“What was that?” I asked, “That was…” and as usual I lacked the words to describe it aptly, “..horrible,”

“Calm down now, we understand you’re shocked.” a man among them said. “Many of us had the same reaction when we first saw this, but this is natural and is expected to occur where there is strong and weak, one would prey on the other.”

“I cannot be a part of this, I must leave,” but before I could strong men blocked the entrance.

“What do you think you’re doing? I know some people, important people and if they don't see me soon they'll come looking.” I bluffed.

The man that spoke earlier came closer to me, "I doubt it....Sarah." he said and I stared at him wide-eyed.

"You didn't think I would know who my diamond ended up with, did you?" he said, then he looked at the men that had grabbed me by now, "Take her away."

Just then, the door burst open and a group of policemen came in guns blazing, led by who? the Handsome Mr. Haaheo, my taxi driver.

As they cuffed them, he walked up to the man that had spoken to me all the while,

"I've been waiting for this day, Mr. Laniakea,"

They took them all away and I was left alone with Mr. Haaheo, still trembling,

"What just happened? and who are you?"

"I am Mr. John Haaheo, a police officer, and with your help, we've been able to apprehend these criminals, thank you."

I was still stunned at the turn of events when he said, "come on, the sun would set soon, you should see it."

As we stood watching the sunset, and having the diamond out of my possession, I was finally able to relax.

"It is truly beautiful," I said.

Then he turned to me, "You're beautiful." he said.

Short StoryAdventure
2

About the Creator

Hilda Alexander

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • kolawole olatundeabout a year ago

    Hilda, this is awesome. Thank you for not disappointing with your stories - always a delight. I never saw that ending sha lolz. Looking forward to more captivating contents from you. Well done

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.