Fiction logo

Iria: Rogue A.I. (Chapter 1)

Sci-fi Fantasy Series

By Cyber DragonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Iria: Rogue A.I.

Just put it over there, Anthony. Mr. Thompson walked around the small room inspecting all the donated toys that had been delivered to the Shelter. Anthony carefully placed his box near the back of the large living room. There was not furniture here, only mounds of boxes stacked carefully.

“Is that all of them Mr. Thompson?” Anthony asked as Mr. Thomson continued his inspection.

“I think that’s all there is, Anthony. Alisa should be bringing the truck I rented tomorrow after her studies. Just go ahead and take a break.”

Mr. Thompson turned around to face Anthony with a great smile. “I really appreciate all the hard work you kids have done for this place. You know the children will appreciate all this hard work, Mr Thompson adulated as Anthony gave a sigh of relief.

“I’m always up for helping, Mr. Thompson, this is my city after all,” Anthony said. “Well I’ll see you tomorrow to help with the truck-loading.”

Mr. Thompson shook Anthony’s hand as he made his way to the door of the old Victorian style home. As they both made their way to the door, a knock met them. Mr. Thompson opened the door to a young black girl. Anthony knew who she was. Janet Ponter, his childhood friend, now has grown into a confident and strong young woman.

Janet is an avid blogger and activist. She takes part in guerrilla activism for causes she feels are close to her heart. She had been coming to Mr. Thompson’s home to document the project, however, Anthony knew she had other intentions that included him.

Janet brushed her mound of braids behind her head as she peered at Mr. Thompson.

“Ah, Janet, how are you, young lady?” Mr. Thompson inquired.

“I’m doing well Mr. Thompson, I just wanted to take a few more pictures for my blog if you don’t mind. I still want to document all the stages of this charity event you have going on here. It was called “Toys for the Needy” right?”

“That’s right,” Mr Thomspon confirmed,” I want to collect these toys and give them to children that may not have someone there for them. People often take for granted their parents or loved ones who provide for them.

Janet smirked. She knew growing up in Boltston City, not to take parents for granted. She had both been born into a broken home. An absent father and a hardworking mother meant there was little time for being a child. Growing up with Janet, this was something Anthony witnessed first hand in their lives.

“Well I’m for the pictures when you are, Mr. Thompson.” Janet affirmed as she pulled a digital camera from her purse.

“Hold on, I’m just going to finish examining all these boxes. There are too many here for me to shuffle through myself. That’s why Anthony is here with me” said Mr. Thompson.

“Anthony is always here. This is his second home, Mr. Thompson,” Janet said with a sarcastic smile as she looked at Anthony.

Anthony rolled his eyes back at Janet.

“Where is Jerome, Janet?” Anthony said, “Isn’t he where you spend most of your time nowadays?”

Janet’s smile deepened as she shyly glanced away. “He’s doing some stuff with Markus,” Janet replied as her gaze met Anthony,” Y’know, stuff you could be helping me with.”

“Well I’ll let you two keep talking. Give me a few Janet.” said Mr. Thompson.

“Will do, Mr. Thompson.”

As Mr. Thompson walked away, Janet moved her way into the home and positioned herself in front of Anthony.

“You know tonight is the night” Janet whispered,” We can’t be wasting any more time to expose these fools. You know I’m ready. Jerome and Markus are ready to back me up but where are you Anthony?”

Anthony averted his gaze. For the fifth time, Janet has been trying to recruit him into her guerrilla activities. But this is where Anthony and Janet took two separate paths in life.

“Look Janet, I know you are passionate about this stuff but leave me out of it. There are better ways to try and change the city or the world for that matter.”

Janet rolled her eyes.

“You give up so easily Anthony. I wished you were more of a fighter. Plus you put too much damn trust in these folks that are in control. Not just the city, but the world, y’know?

Before Anthony could reply, fast footsteps in their direction caught Janet’s attention.

A young child quickly appeared next to Anthony with the footsteps of a twenty-something black girl with glasses quickly chasing after him.

“Can’t catch me,” the little boy exclaimed excitedly.

“Chris, calm down, you know Mr. Thompson doesn’t like you running around the house like that, the girl said, “You are going to get us both in troub…”

The girl paused as she looked up to see Janet.

“Oh...hi, how is it going?” the girl asked Janet nervously.

Janet stared annoyingly at the girl for a few seconds before ignoring the question and turning her gaze back to Anthony.

“Anthony, I’m just begging you to reconsider. In fact, I’ll go get Jerome to show you our plan and…”

“Janet” Anthony interjected with an annoyed look on his face, “Iria asked how you were doing.”

Janet huffed at Anthony’s response.

“I’m here just for you and this charity.” Janet replied. “Not for her. I’m going to go and get Anthony. He’ll show you how good this plan is going to be, I promise.”

Anthony, still annoyed, replied, “Do what you want Janet, I don’t think you can change my mind.”

“I need all the help I can get so I will keep trying,” Janet said as she turned around and made her way out the door.

“I’ll be back in twenty, tell Mr. Thompson. I’ll be back.”

With that, Janet flew down the stairs and down the street, out of view.

“She still hates me, doesn’t she,” Iria said, sighing as she folded her arms.

Anthony put an arm around Iria.

"Come on, let's go take a ride someplace. I think that will help clear the air for you," Anthony said as he signaled a car parked close by.

"I need to drop off Janet later but after that, we can hang out."

(To be continued...)

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.