Fiction logo

In the Final Moments...

What's Next?

By GodwinPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Serenity

I heard his voice in my head gasping for breath, crying, pleading for help! It was me! I was dying all alone in the hospital bed in a private room…a lonely room! There are times for privacy but this was not one of them! I don’t want to be alone! I want to be with my family! I want to tell them… I want to see them! I want to say I love you to each one of them! Why can’t they be here now? To hell with safety protocols! I know my time is up. I know I am fading… I cry for myself. I cry for my family. I cry for my wife, my sons, my daughters, my father, my mother…They have to carry on without me now. They have to cope. They have to be okay. I need to tell them they will be okay without me somehow. I don’t know how but what else can I say? They need to be encouraged. They need to see me smile one last time or maybe it’s better this way. Maybe they should hold on to the best memories from before and not see me like this. Maybe this would make it easier for them. Oh, but I’m scared for me! Where will I go? What will happen to me? Will I go anywhere? Will there be a me? Is it just a sleep as I have heard or will there be flames and punishment? I don’t know now. I have to believe. I have to be strong for myself. I always believed in heaven. I believed that’s where I would go, so that’s where I will go. I will be me and I will go on. But I am not ready to go. I don’t want to go. I don’t want to be alone. No one said how hard it will be to let go of my life.

Is it hard though? I think I can let go. I think I just have to stop crying. I just have to relax…Yes, I think that’s it. The pain is not so bad now. I’m not burning up anymore. It’s not so hard to breathe anymore…It’s not so bad…It’s getting quiet now. I don’t hear the monitors beeping anymore. It’s getting brighter. Where is the light coming from? I…wait! I can see someone. I see a man standing there in front of me.

“Hello, what’s going on. I was dying in a lot of pain and now I don’t feel any pain. I feel light and free”. He points below my feet so I look down.

I can see myself! I can see me in the hospital bed hooked up to the ventilator and other machines. The door swings open and a nurse runs in. She looks at me and the machines and runs back out. She returns almost immediately with a couple of doctors and another nurse.

They are trying to bring me back! One of the doctors, I remember his name was Gabriel Lawson, but he told me to call him Gabe. He was picking up some paddles and a nurse squirted some gel on them. The other doctor was already performing chest compressions. He made way for Gabe to use the paddles on me... My body…I’m not sure that’s me anymore.

They try to shock me back to life is the only way I can describe it. Time and again they tried. I couldn’t feel any of it. It seemed so much like how they do it on tv and so unreal that it is happening to me now. I didn’t realize it when it happened. I just wanted peace. I wanted the pain to stop and I couldn’t breathe.

I wanted to tell them to stop: I don’t want to come back to that pain and suffocate again. I don’t want all that misery all over again, but they only tried once more before they stopped. I noticed it was as though they heard me and everyone seemed to freeze for a second before the other doctor, Michael Greenway, said something and they disconnected the machines. Dr Gabe lingered a couple of seconds and held my hand. I could see he was saddened as he pulled the blanket over me-my body- and they all left. I looked back at the man in front of me and I heard him say “Welcome!” and everything went white!

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Godwin

A bit of a Philosopher, Poet and Photographer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.