Fiction logo

In My Dreams

A Short Memory

By Joe LopezPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Late nights were a lonely wilderness that isolated my imagination, limiting it to a cluttered universe the size of my bedroom. My mind's eye wandered to the planets floating on the ceiling and the ghostly nebulae that emitted vibrant auras around them as I sought uncharted regions unknown to me before.

My phone vibrated and I was jolted back to reality. I held it in my palm and a white heart emoji was depicted on the screen, which brought a soft smile to my face.

"Didn't think you'd call back", I said and a sweet, soothing voice called out to me.

"Well, I did, didn't I?"

Her words were the pink noise that stimulated my senses and I wanted to hear more.

"About time! I've been waiting for your call forever." I calmly responded.

"Shut uuuup!", she giggled, "I miss you so much."

"I miss you too, babe."

It wasn't long before gravity took its course and our eyelids became heavy with drowsiness.

"I'm tired, babe, " she yawned, " and I don't know how long I can hold on."

"Then I'll let you sleep, alright?", I replied.

"But I wanna keep talking to you!"

In that same second, I had the most colorfully wonderful idea.

"Dream with me."

"What do you mean?"

My smile grew wider as I pondered at all the possibilities and before my sight blurred and my thoughts slowly faded, I whispered one last phrase.

"Meet me in Paris."

She was already on her flight and I was barely boarding. The moment I looked out that plane window, the universe gazed at me and I stared back at it. I was off to unknown territory and it didn't seem so lonely anymore.

The cool spring breeze carried melodious chirping that originated from the local songbirds. The scent of freshly-baked baguettes invaded my nose with an warm, elegant embrace and the pink magnolias and cherry blossoms majestically rained on the cobblestone streets. I stood in front of the River Seine with the Eiffel Tower in the distance and a rogue petal fell on my shoulder. I slowly turned around and there she stood; the sun on her back, a flowing white dress and a golden chain hanging from her neck. She looked like an angel, a Greek goddess humbling descending from the golden fields of Elysium to walk the lush, green Earth with me.

"Didn't think you would come, babe."

"Well I did, didn't I?

I knew exactly what to say.

"Finally! I've been waiting for you at the terminal."

"I might've caught an early flight", she responded gleefully. We lost ourselves in our eyes and I held her cheek in my hand, wiping away her crystal tears. My lips reunited with hers as time was forgotten and our moment was all that mattered. We were happy and we were free. Finally.

My eyes opened suddenly and I was back in the arms of my world. It was a lifetime in paradise and I refused to leave, but I knew tomorrow night is a new dawn over the horizon. And she will be there, waiting for me by the river with a baguette in her hand and a joyous tear in her eye. The cosmic space that inhabited my bedroom didn't freeze my skin as it once did, but rather a cozy, mellow hug that reassured my peace. Home was where she was and since she was always with me, I was already home.

And soon I will see her in my dreams.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Joe Lopez

a young poet and storyteller creating his world one word at a time.

enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.