Fiction logo

In Flight Movie

Pass the popcorn

By Meredith HarmonPublished about a year ago 3 min read
I'll wait. Patiently.

I was smuggled aboard the regular way. But I was not expecting so many others to be my secret companions.

Normally, I work alone. I'm good at my job, thank you. My specialty is creeping through duct work, sneaking along like that character in that Christmas movie. I even call myself that name when I'm on the job. Yippee-ki-yi-yo, you know?

The work's good, the pay's good, and all the chow I can pack in. What's not to like?

But working with a committee - no thanks, cowboys. I work solo. That's my thing, that's my gig. But as soon as we were free to move, I stayed behind a bit. Let the others get ahead, get killed if they have to. When I've got a job to do, I want to do it right.

I smelled an intoxicating scent in the air. It made me angry and anxious all at once. I was glad I was alone - I would have snapped at anything that moved.

I had to do this carefully.

I could hear the alarms being raised. My companions were not even trying to be discreet.

Sigh. Amateurs.

So much for being stealthy.

It sounded like they were killing everyone on board, not just our target!

And the passengers were fighting back! What a frigging mess.

That made my job all the harder. Great. Thanks, guys.

I took my time getting to the air vent. And I took my time getting into position.

Whups, there goes the electric. That wasn't me. They would get someone to fix it soon enough, and more people would unnecessarily die. What an absolute disaster this was turning into.

Think like John.... Think like John....

I was too small for larger caliber firepower. Luckily I pack my own, thank you. I don't trust bought weaponry any more than I trust bought mercs. Never know what quality you're getting, right? And listening to the chaos tells me we all got more than we bargained for.

I'm small. Smaller than most, really. That stinks when you're wooing the ladies, but right now, squeezing into tighter and more cramped spaces, it was juuuust right.

I'd better get into the perfect position before someone thought to-

Too late!

One of our targets was wise enough to depressurize the plane!

I hissed some bad words through my teeth. I wedged into a tight spot, and hung on for dear life.

The screaming was intense. None of my targets were sucked out, but all of my compatriots were.

They thought they were safe. There was talking, I could make out words here and there.

My associates had gotten the pilot. I see... So, I guess our employer didn't expect any of us to make it back?

Oh, that made me mad. I'd have to pay him a rather lengthy visit when this was over.

They found someone else who might be able to manage landing. They'd better, or I'd nail them too. I was going to survive this somehow.

I could see my target, sitting there, with his guard. The other guard was dead, as were many of the passengers. They were talking about treating the wounded. Fine, whatever. My target sat there, with that chest so tempting a target. I would wait till they landed, when they were relaxed, then leap. And do what I do best.

Yippee-ki-yi-yo!

Such a mouth on his guard! I didn't speak their language well, but I could figure most of it out if I concentrated hard enough. But complaining about my mother and coitus? Why yes, mister, she did. She produced me, didn't she?

I would get him next. But first, I had a job to finish.

My guns were loaded. A tiny drop of poison as the end of each deadly fang.

The plane was landing.

Get tired of MY kind, will you?

Prepare to be boarded, matron-fornicator....

Fan Fiction

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Jeff Newmanabout a year ago

    Cool story! Love the Die Hard references. Interesting first person insights seeing the character work methodically.

Meredith HarmonWritten by Meredith Harmon

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.