Fiction logo

Improper Mage - Ch 3

Scandalous introductions

By Taylor WestwoodPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 11 min read
4
Improper Mage - Ch 3
Photo by redcharlie on Unsplash

Liana attempted to escape the ball and find a quiet corner to hide in. Before she could though, someone approached her.

“Excuse me, miss. May I introduce myself?” the man asked formally with a slight bow of the head. Liana gave him a respectful nod back.

“You may.”

“I am Beta Mooncliff of the wolf pack.” A shifter, and wolf at that. Liana was surprised that he bothered introducing himself. Although they lived in the same city, and Triaedian boasted itself as a kingdom of diversity, the species did not intermingle romantically. There were plenty of interspecies business deals. Even the neighborhoods of Sacta Vallis had become quite mixed, in fact, the Monroe’s neighbors included a shifter to the right and a vampire family at the end of their block. Despite that, the various species had not dared to cross the line of romantic involvement. At least not publicly where the gossip mongers could spread the news.

“I am Lady Liana Monroe, daughter of Lord Michael Monroe.”

“It is an honor to meet you, Lady Liana. I noticed you sitting alone and thought you might like a dance. Would you do me the honor?” Liana hesitated to take the man’s outstretched hand. It wasn’t forbidden to dance with someone outside of their own kind, but it certainly was not approved of. He sensed her hesitancy and added on, “I know it is not exactly proper, but I could not stand to see such a beautiful young woman missing out on the fun. Please, just one dance.”

She’d already garnered enough attention this evening, especially from the king, but the man asked so kindly and was bold enough to do so. Liana nodded, not meeting his golden, vibrant eyes. Her mother would faint when she saw them dancing.

Her body remained stiff as they began the dance, holding the man’s hand while the other rested on his shoulder. “Relax, Lady Liana. No one is paying us any mind.”

That dragged a laugh from her, and she met his eyes with humor. “I sincerely doubt that, Beta Mooncliff.” He was a tall man, as all shifters were, which worked in her favor considering her height issues.

“Why is that?” he wondered. He smirked down at her, his golden eyes twinkling with humor, golden curls falling into his eyes. The man was handsome to be sure with his square face and blond hair that made his light eyes stand out all the more. The rough stubble along his cheek and unkempt curls gave him a rugged exterior, vastly different from the stuffy mage males she was used to.

“Not only are you a shifter and I a mage, but I am also the city’s pariah. I believe all eyes are on us.” She could feel them too, even if she forced her own to stay on his.

“A pariah? Surely because your beauty is too great for anyone to be around for too long in fear of becoming ensnared forever,” he teased.

“Hardly,” she scoffed right before he twirled her in time with the music. “They think me inept because I do not wish to spend my time dawdling with stitching or gossip. They protest my opposition to their conformist and oppressive society.”

“Strong words from a lady,” he pointed out with a curious brow raised.

She sighed, looking away from the shifter. Liana thought he might be different from the mage males. That he might value a woman like the shifter culture was rumored to do. It must have been gossip as usual.

Liana gave a simpering smile. “But of course, I speak too boldly as usual. Do not let me bore you with my woeful tales. How are you enjoying your night?” she asked, settling for a neutral topic.

He frowned as they split and exchanged partners for a step. When they came back together, he said, “I didn't mean to offend, my lady. I was only caught off guard by your brazen honesty. I find it rather refreshing, especially from a mage female.”

She tried to hold her tongue, yet again insulted by his sexist remark. “Are you surprised that a female could have a mind of her own, or specifically a mage female?”

He sighed heavily. “I believe I keep fumbling my words. Please, forgive me, Lady Liana for I am simply too caught in your enchanting mind to create sentences that are not insulting. I care not what you are, nor do I find females inferior. Shifters worship females, as should mage males.”

Liana nodded. Her tongue was causing trouble yet again. She needed to move on

and quickly. A ballroom was not a place to assert her independence with a man she didn’t know. “There is nothing to forgive, Beta Mooncliff. Let us move past this.”

He smiled. “You are a wonderful dancer.”

“Thank you. I enjoy dancing very much. You are surprisingly light on your feet for such a large man. I didn’t think I would have any toes left by the end of this dance.”

A deep and rumbling laugh erupted from him and caught far too many stares. “And here I thought you hesitated to take my hand because I was a shifter.”

“Not at all. I was worried about my delicate feet and slippers. They are new and I do not wish them ruined.” He chuckled again.

“Then I shall endeavor to keep your new slippers and delicate feet free from damage.”

He twirled her on cue then took her hand again and she noticed how warm he was. Concerned for the shifter as he dripped with sweat and probably near to passing out, Liana wondered what was wrong.

“Beta, if I may be so bold again, are you alright? You feel very warm and are sweating profusely.”

He tugged at the collar of his formal jacket. “Shifters run warmer than everyone else and these formal clothes are stifling.”

“The room is rather warm,” she agreed. Glancing around demurely, Liana checked to see how many were still looking their way. Most had returned to their conversations while some still stared in open distaste. “If you may permit me, Beta Mooncliff, I could perform a spell to cool you off,” she whispered so quietly that she could barely hear herself.

His eyes widened in surprise before shuttering back to neutral. “I wasn’t aware a lady would know of such spells, but I am beginning to understand that I should never underestimate Lady Liana Monroe. I’d be delighted if you assisted me.”

It was true that most female mages didn’t know many spells. Liana craved magic and spells though. It was what she excelled at. She backed herself into a corner though because there was no exact spell for what she needed. It needed to be far more discreet than the breeze she conjured in the carriage earlier, but it needed to last all night and not be noticeable by others which meant she also needed a concealment spell. This would require more magic than she thought and never should have opened her mouth.

She’d have to come up with a unique spell which was unheard of in mage society. Only a Master could create new spells and even then, it was extremely difficult. Master Ranville only created two new spells during his five years as Master. Liana found it entirely too easy however and didn’t dare speak of it to anyone for fear of becoming even more of a pariah.

If that weren’t enough, she feared the indications of what such power would bring. If anyone were to discover that she was as powerful as a Master and had created dozens of spells, she couldn’t imagine what would happen. Just the thought of anyone discovering her powerful magic had her heart beating in terror. Such thoughts always brought a rush of terror she couldn’t explain.

If someone did find out, perhaps they would leave her alone. Perhaps the king would keep her for his own gain. Or perhaps someone would do something far more nefarious. People were unpredictable when it came to power. Liana knew though, that the only predictable thing about power was that everyone wanted more of it.

Holding his hand, Liana stared into his eyes and murmured the words under her breath so that no one else would be able to hear or understand what she performed in secret.

“Sweat be gone, temperature calm. Keep thy skin cool tonight and release this spell with morning light.” He gave an instant sigh of relief as the sweat stopped and his skin cooled. She added a concealment spell afterward to keep other mages from knowing what she did.

The song came to an end as soon as she completed the spells. “Another dance, my lady?”

“Perhaps later. I do believe the people can only handle one dance at a time from such a scandalous pairing. Best give them time to settle.” He laughed again then bowed, placing a kiss on her knuckles.

“Then allow me to thank you, the gods sent me a blessing in you. Sincerely, you have done me a great service and made my night far more enjoyable.”

She blushed understanding he meant the spell but couldn’t help imagining he spoke of her company as well. “You are very welcome, Beta Mooncliff.”

“You are an unexpected delight, Lady Liana Monroe. Please, do find me later. I’d enjoy another conversation.” She nodded before walking off the dance floor. Keeping her eyes on the floor, she didn’t dare look at anyone as she passed.

Unfortunately, Liana walked right into her mother’s path where she silently dragged Liana away. Anger poured off her mother in sinister waves which had Liana bracing for the scolding to come. When they were safely away from prying ears in the hall, her father lagging behind, Lady Monroe turned on her daughter.

“How dare you dance with that shifter, Liana! Your father and I were trying to find you a good match tonight, but you’ve ruined that completely.”

“It is not a big deal, Mother. It was just a dance, not a marriage proposal,” Liana countered with annoyance. All she wanted was to be left alone.

“It was not just a dance. Everyone saw it. Everyone is talking.”

“Let them talk,” Liana interjected angrily. “All they do is talk about me anyway.”

“Because you give them so much to talk about,” Lady Monroe countered angrily. “If you behaved like a proper lady, like your sisters, then they would not talk.”

“Those idle ninnies would talk no matter if I were perfect or not.”

Lady Monroe gasped even as her father coughed out a laugh. “Michael, do not laugh! This is serious. Your daughter is insubordinate, and she will never find a husband if she keeps up this behavior.”

“Your mother is right, Liana,” Lord Monroe said gently. “You must behave and find a husband that will provide you with a comfortable and safe life.”

“I do not need a husband. I will provide for myself.”

Lady Monroe scoffed. “Not this again,” she complained. “And how do you propose to do that? Sell yourself on the streets?”

It was Liana’s turn to gasp. “Mother! No, of course not. Why can’t you understand that I don’t want to marry one of these prissy gentlemen?”

“Argh! I blame this on you!” Lady Monroe accused Lord Monroe. “You spoiled the girl. You let her believe she could be something other than a wife and now look where we are.”

“That is unfair, Mama,” Liana said.

“No, it is not. I understand, Liana. I have a mind too. I know how to use it just as well as any man which is why I am telling you to stop with this foolish independence and find a husband. A woman is nothing in this world without a man to support her. Once you have a husband, do as you please. Learn all the magic you want. Do what you please as long as you have a husband to fall back on,” Lady Monroe declared before walking away in a huff.

Lord Monroe hugged his daughter. “You know I do not like to admit it, but your mother is right, Liana. She usually is. Find a husband then do whatever you please.”

“Why can’t I just live with you forever, Papa? You don’t care what I do.”

He sighed heavily before pulling away. Keeping an arm wrapped around her shoulder he walked her back to the ballroom. “As much as I would love to never let any of you girls go, one day I will be gone and there will be no one else to take care of you. You need someone of your own.”

Liana nodded. She always knew she would eventually marry. She knew there was no getting away from it forever no matter how much she resisted. As her mother said, if she wanted to continue on with her odd ways, she must hide it all behind a marriage.

“Now, pick someone you can stand before your mother picks someone for you,” he teased but it held a merit of truth. He made a very good point on that.

____________________________________________________

Wondering who might be next in line to meet our fierce Liana? Keep reading... Improper Mage - Ch 4

Fantasy
4

About the Creator

Taylor Westwood

A day dreamer and adventurer finally writing and exploring all her ideas. Lover of sci-fi and fantasy.

Follow me on Insta @paranormalauthor93

Or find me on my website Taylor Westwood

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.