Fiction logo

If You Liked 'Big Little Lies,' You'll Love These 17 Must-Read Books

Intrigue, Betrayal, and Twisted Truths: 17 Riveting Books Similar to 'Big Little Lies

By NovelNest BooksPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like

If you were captivated by the gripping drama, complex characters, and twisted secrets of "Big Little Lies," then you're in for a treat. In this blog post, we have curated a list of 17 must-read books that share the same addictive storytelling, intriguing mysteries, and compelling exploration of human relationships. From psychological thrillers to domestic dramas, these books will keep you on the edge of your seat and leave you craving for more. So, if you're ready to dive into a world of suspense, betrayal, and hidden truths, let's explore these captivating reads.

This post contains affiliate links from Bookshop, an online bookstore that supports independent bookstores.

1. The Dinner by Herman Koch:

"The Dinner" takes you on a suspenseful journey as two couples meet for dinner at a fashionable restaurant. Behind their polite conversations and elegant facade, lies a dark secret that will test the limits of their loyalty and force them to confront the unimaginable.

2. The Girls in the Garden by Lisa Jewell:

In "The Girls in the Garden," a picturesque neighborhood harbors hidden secrets. When a young girl is assaulted at a local party, the story unravels the tangled relationships, betrayals, and the shocking truth that lies beneath the surface of a seemingly idyllic community.

3. The Widow by Fiona Barton:

"The Widow" delves into the complex dynamics between a husband and wife when the husband is accused of a heinous crime. As the truth slowly emerges, the novel explores the dark spaces that exist between spouses and the lengths they will go to protect their secrets.

4. All Is Not Forgotten by Wendy Walker:

Following a traumatic event, "All Is Not Forgotten" tells the story of a woman struggling to regain her memory. With the help of a controversial treatment, the layers of deception and the truth behind the crime are slowly peeled away, leading to a shocking revelation.

5. The Marriage Lie by Kimberly Belle:

In "The Marriage Lie," Iris's seemingly perfect life is shattered when her husband dies in a plane crash. As she uncovers the truth about his past and the secrets he kept, she embarks on a quest that challenges her beliefs and puts her in danger.

6. The Woman in Cabin 10 by Ruth Ware:

In this chilling psychological thriller, "The Woman in Cabin 10" follows a travel journalist on a luxury cruise where she witnesses a woman's disappearance. As she investigates, she becomes entangled in a web of lies, manipulation, and a race against time to uncover the truth.

7. Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris:

"Behind Closed Doors" introduces Jack and Grace, a seemingly perfect couple admired by everyone. But behind closed doors, their marriage holds dark secrets and a horrifying truth that will leave you questioning the true nature of love and the lengths people will go to maintain appearances.

8. The Vanishing Year by Kate Moretti:

"The Vanishing Year" follows the life of Zoe Whittaker, who has a seemingly perfect existence with her Wall Street tycoon husband. However, her past catches up with her, and she must confront the secrets she thought she left behind, leading to a thrilling and suspenseful tale.

9. Fractured by Catherine McKenzie:

In "Fractured," Julie Prentice and her family move to a new town to escape a stalker. However, they soon find themselves entangled in a web of harassment, secrets, and danger. As tensions rise, the fault lines within the community and Julie's own family come to light, leading to a shocking climax.

10. The Couple Next Door by Shari Lapena:

"The Couple Next Door" revolves around a couple whose baby goes missing during a dinner party. As the investigation unfolds, dark secrets, betrayals, and the lengths people will go to protect themselves are exposed in this gripping and suspenseful read.

11. The Twilight Wife by A. J. Banner:

"The Twilight Wife" follows Kyra Winthrop, who suffers from memory loss after a diving accident. As fragments of her past resurface, she begins to question the relationships and events surrounding her. This immersive thriller explores the blurred lines between memory and reality.

12. I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh:

"I Let You Go" tells the story of Jenna Gray, who moves to a remote coastal town to escape a tragic event. However, her past catches up with her, and the gripping tale explores the devastating consequences of secrets, grief, and the pursuit of justice.

13. No One Knows by J.T. Ellison:

With "No One Knows," Aubrey Hamilton's husband goes missing and is declared dead. But when she starts to receive mysterious clues, she begins to question everything she thought she knew. As the lines blur between truth and deception, this suspenseful thriller will keep you guessing until the final pages.

14. Bittersweet by Miranda Beverly-Whittemore:

In "Bittersweet," Mabel Dagmar befriends her roommate, Genevra Winslow, and enters a world of privilege and hidden secrets. As Mabel uncovers the truth about the Winslow family, she finds herself entangled in a dangerous web of deceit and betrayal.

15. The Perfect Neighbors by Sarah Pekkanen:

Set in a seemingly idyllic neighborhood, "The Perfect Neighbors" explores the lives of three women whose secrets threaten to unravel their carefully constructed lives. As the facade begins to crack, the story delves into the darkness that lies beneath the surface of suburban bliss.

16. All Things Cease to Appear by Elizabeth Brundage:

In "All Things Cease to Appear," the disappearance of George Clare's wife sets off a chain of events that exposes the deep-rooted secrets of a small town. The novel weaves a haunting tale of deception, marriage, and the consequences of the past.

17. You Will Know Me by Megan Abbott:

"You Will Know Me" revolves around a gymnastics prodigy and the dark secrets that unfold within a close-knit gymnastics community. As the line between ambition and obsession blurs, the story explores the desperate lengths people will go to protect their dreams.

Conclusion:

If you were enthralled by the gripping storytelling, complex characters, and twisted secrets of "Big Little Lies," then these 17 must-read books will undoubtedly satisfy your craving for more. Whether you're drawn to psychological thrillers, domestic dramas, or mysteries with a touch of suspense, these novels will keep you engrossed from the first page to the last. So, grab a cozy blanket, prepare for suspenseful twists, and immerse yourself in these captivating reads that will leave you questioning the depths of human nature and the secrets we keep. Happy reading!

SeriesYoung AdultShort StorySci FiPsychologicalMysteryLoveHumorHorrorHistoricalFantasyfamilyClassicalAdventure
Like

About the Creator

NovelNest Books

Book Recommendations

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.