Fiction logo

If memories can be deleted

"Wow, you live in such a small rundown house and have the ability to help me erase my memories?"

By Stephane PerezPublished 2 years ago 11 min read
1

"Wow, you live in such a small rundown house and have the ability to help me erase my memories?"

"Take your time." Dr. Yisni gave me a roll of the eyes, "Only charge you fifty dollars, gibbering like a groundhog."

"Don't be angry, Dr. Yosni is a holy white angel, the doctor is kind, don't bother with me."

This is an underground private clinic, Dr. Yosni specializes in unseen surgeries.

"No more rainbow farts." Dr. Yisni pulled over an oddly shaped three-legged stool, "Sit on this."

I stared at the three-legged stool in deep thought, is this surgical condition serious?

"All the stools at home are broken, just this stitching is still a little better, let's just use it."

The corners of my mouth twitched: "Dr. Bias, I'd better stand, let's just start directly, it's a memory about her, delete it and be done with it."

"It's not that simple, I have to use the detector to retrieve all your relevant memories, the process is a waste of time."

"OK." I just sat on it, Dr. Yawsny put an instrument on my head, and for a moment I started shaking and felt my body a little out of control.

Yes it was her, my high school classmate Liu Jingyi, the girl who bullied me countless times, came to my mind once again.

"Can you not shake?"

"You sit you also shake!" I want to curse, this three-legged stool, really not ordinary people can sit, forget it, after all, delete the memory is a legal prohibition, can find a willing to do and so cheap, just settle for a little.

I stabilized my emotions and closed my eyes.

"Liu Jingyi! Why are you stealing my checkbook again?"

"What is the paper for?" She asked me in a serious manner.

"It's for checking calculations." I froze. Was it for folding paper airplanes?

"So am I checking the math?"

"Yes. ......"

"Then it is not, use the check paper to check the calculation, the best use of things, you are fierce what fierce?"

"But it's my paper!"

"Then I ask you, what is the paper for?"

"The test of calculations for ...... hey no, you come less, hurry up and give it back to me."

"Cheapskate!" She muttered and pushed the check paper in front of me.

I looked down and saw some words written on it: "I like you, look at the back ......" For a moment I actually blushed shamefully, and pretended to turn over carelessly to see that an oversized pig's head was drawn on it.

"Pfft hahaha ......" she looked like she was getting her way.

"Liu Jingyi! You don't want to use my stuff again!"

"Isn't that nice? Why do you need to delete the memory about her ah?" Dr. Yawsny's voice rang in his ears.

"Delete her, delete her, don't you think this person is too annoying?"

"I have a principle as a person, although I am poor, but I will not delete the good memories."

"Give you a hundred, hurry up and delete it."

"Two hundred."

"One hundred and fifty, no more."

"Deal! When the machine completes the entire search, I will delete it for you."

Ah, what a brain-ache, my inner 10,000 groundhogs are screaming.

"Liu Jingyi! Why did you secretly take away my cup?"

"I just wanted to give you some water to drink." Liu Jingyi suddenly became a little bird, my body sweat hair upright, and want to play what trick?

She put the water cup respectfully in front of me: "Nah, drink more hot water." And then obediently sat back in his place, holding his own bear water cup blowing hot air.

In fact, so look, for a moment, I admit that Liu Jingyi is still quite cute.

Could it be that this guy found his conscience and finally understood my goodness? It's also true that she hasn't bothered me these days, was I a bit mean to her last time? Wait, she doesn't like me, does she? I picked up my glass of water and looked at her with a dumb smile.

I just took a sip, my mom, why so salty! I held back my tears and twisted my head to spray.

"Hahahaha, I see that you have been living quite well these days, put a little bit of salt for you."

"I a mouthful of salt soda ......" has not been said, look at her smile so happy, forget it, adults do not remember the small man over, the prime minister belly can hold up the boat.

"Tsk, tsk, really enviable ah, I'm sour, you have to compensate me, and then give me a hundred." Dr. Biasney was again crumbling in his ears.

I was thinking how nice it would be if what happened next didn't happen and she and I kept on fighting like this.

"Liu Jingyi!" Standing under the street light in front of the university, I actually saw the familiar figure, "Why did you peek at my volunteer?"

"Hee hee hee, no one but you let me bully ah." Liu Jingyi dragged the pink and pink girlie suitcase, "still not quickly to help, you are wood?"

"Wow, you can't grab a sheep and keep woolgathering ah ......" said so, but I'm still quite happy to see her again.

"I'm used to it, you're not used to it?"

"Baa ......"

During that time and Liu Jingyi's relationship was surprisingly good, and she did not come to bully me again, I was wondering if global warming, Liu Jingyi also followed the sex change? Until that day, I inadvertently found out that she was with another boy.

It was an unusual Sunday night, I saw Liu Jingyi holding a tall, handsome boy, the two were talking and laughing, Liu Jingyi also pretended to be angry from time to time to hit him.

I used to complain that she was bullying me, but now, how I wish it was me she was beating up.

Obviously winter has not yet arrived, but I feel particularly cold, I ran back to the dormitory into the blanket, what the hell weather! Why is it so cold? Why is my face cold and icy?

"ACE!" The roommate is cursing there, "Will you play the group? The first thing you need to do is to get a good deal.

The roommate's game lost can still start over, while I have everything to lose.

When the class was held on Monday, Liu Jingyi also did not take the initiative to talk to me, it seems, and later will not, before the class was finished, I snuck away, and from then on, I never went to class.

"Ah!" I fell to my knees all of a sudden, "Dr. Yisni, what a broken stool you have, it fell on me!"

"Wow, you people, I haven't told you to pay for it yet, but you are the first to sue, right? Pay up, pay up, 500 no return!"

"You want 500 for a broken stool? Are you going to charge me a thousand if you use your instruments again?"

"That's a good suggestion." Dr. Biasney suddenly smiled wryly, "Junior, I have a new technology to experiment with? If this new technology can be successful ......"

I shook my head repeatedly, this old guy is too unreliable, I still want to live a few more years.

"This technology can see what will happen in the future based on the existing information oh, don't you want to see what will happen after she and the boy?"

"Who cares? Who cares? Cut." I looked disdainful.

I put on the apparatus with the new program and sat down on the stool that now had only two feet left. I didn't care what would happen to her in the future, I just wanted to test out the Yosni apparatus.

"I'll be clear with you now, the program will infer what will happen in the future based on your original life path, according to my tests, the reliability rate is more than 99%. However, any move you make now will affect the future, so then, this technology will have a lot of paradoxical problems and has been prohibited by the state to develop ......" Dr. Yawsney, as soon as he talked about his new technology, was like a duck, quacking and quacking, my goodness, help me, I closed I closed my eyes.

After deleting my memory, I walked on the dark brown street, the roadside dots of light, shining the road ahead, no sadness no pain, but, however, always felt the lack of heart empty, as if lost something very important.

A girl came head-on, more accurately, should be rushed up head-on: "Why do you keep ignoring me?"

"This student, this is the first time we meet, right?"

She came up and hit me: "Pretending not to recognize me, right? You want to run away from me, don't you?"

Suddenly I was beaten by a stranger, I was a bit baffled, although she was quite pretty, but she kept shaking me, I immediately became anxious: "You have enough, right? Do I know you?"

Maybe it's a bit fierce, she froze for a moment and suddenly cried: "You wouldn't have done this before ...... I'll never care about you again!"

She ran away with red eyes, running further and further away. Suddenly, a sharp-turning car rushed out of the intersection, and she fell into a pool of blood.

"Hit and killed!" Pedestrians on the roadside were screaming.

"120,120 ......" For some reason, I didn't know her, but I suddenly panicked, as if something had grabbed me deep inside, I rushed towards her desperately, my hands kept shaking, and my phone was dropped on the ground. "Save her, save her, save her, save her ah fuck!"

Her mouth was bleeding at the corners, but I saw her smiling lightly, and her mouth was saying something I couldn't hear clearly, and in the midst of my painful cries, she slowly closed her eyes.

I took off the instrument, my eyes were red.

"That young man, ah, you see this situation, it is better not to delete the memory, right? As long as you choose another path now, everyone will be fine. Besides, you see about the cost of this, after all, this is new technology ......," Dr. Yawsny winked at me.

"Thank you, doctor." My trembling hands went to my pockets and gave him my wallet all straight away and stumbled out.

Only Dr. Yawsny was left in the room, happily counting his money.

Walking down the dark brown street, the road was lit up with dots of light, illuminating the road ahead.

She came up to her face with raw anger.

"Jeannie Liu! You stole from me again." Once again seeing Liu Jingyi my eyes got a little hazy, tears in my eyes.

"Good for you, the evil one is the first to sue, right? You've been ignoring me, and now you're blaming me, right?"

I suddenly rushed up and hugged her and cried hard, she looked stunned and patted me: "No, don't think about it, I'm not being mean to you, I mean ......"

"You stole my heart, I found that I really can't leave you, can we always be together all the time in the future, you have to bully me all the time, only bully me alone."

"Who wants to be with you, ah, can catch up with me then." Liu Jingyi's face suddenly scalded, "And ah, have you hugged enough?"

I hugged her tightly and refused to let go.

The junction suddenly rushed out of a sharp turn of the car, hit the roadside poles, pedestrians are gathered around the past.

"There seems to be an accident, oops, you hold too tight, let go of me."

"Liu Jingyi, I will never let go of you in this life!"

I do not know why, that day crying particularly hard, snot bubbles are out, causing Liu Jingyi very disgusted, but she did not push me away, just keep gently patting me.

Postscript

That unusual Sunday night, Liu Jingyi holding a tall handsome boy, the two people are talking and laughing, Liu Jingyi also pretend to be angry from time to time to hit him.

"Brother, you hurry up, accompany me to buy a gift."

"Which unlucky person is this going to give ah?" Brother just smiled, "in love ah?"

"Oops what are you talking about?" Liu Jingyi punched at him, "still do not know how to open up to him, I now see him blush, do not know what to say, before would not be so ......"

"Oops, our family's spiteful princess is in love."

Dotted with stars under the night, Liu Jingyi walked in front, kicking the small stones on the roadside, it seems that the heart is filled with the little secrets of young girls.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Stephane Perez

I hope you like my story

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.