Fiction logo

If I Had A Dragon

An adult looking back at the imagination of his childhood

By Madison B. Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 8 min read
Top Story - December 2021
22

When I was little I would look at the world differently then most. It was as if my eyes were playing tricks on me throughout my childhood. Growing up I lived in the city: tall buildings that put my house to shame, and the smog that filled up thousands of peoples burning lungs. Oh the people, the streets were overrun by people, getting from here to there, shoving others out of the way for whatever nonsense they were late too. That is why my brain seemed to resort to the imagination, to the thoughts and ideas that were pulled from me. Things that even I could not even fathom.

The tall city towers that seemed to overlook the world were no match for magnificent oozing yellow claws that struck fear into any who dared to look. Giant monsters with six legs would force buildings to fall to their knees. The debris crushing any unlucky passers-by on the sidewalk. I tried to run, I screamed in terror, but my mother dragged me straight in to the tumbling doom every time. Why did no one ever notice? I was baffled, confused, and somewhat worried that I was the only one who noticed the battles in the middle of the city. Thankfully, and also unexpectedly, we never got hurt from the plummeting debris.

So many things performed before my eyes, and they usually returned for me to see them again. Every winter the dancing snow flakes would glide down and create a snowman, his name was Donnie. He always wore a newly made knitted blue scarf, a black and blue baseball cap, and little black gloves on his hands made of twigs. He had cornflowers blue buttons for eyes, and three mud brown buttons down his chest and belly. He carried a smile everywhere he went, and helped me create fortresses for our snow ball fights. Every year he came, every year we played and laughed, never was there a dull moment. Because of this, because of him, it was my favorite time of year.

But there was one time where I saw something that exceeded all the rest of the images, the movies that my mind created. This one seemed more real than the rest, and I swear on my life that I could've reached out and touched it.

During the spring my family and I take a break from the city, and go out to stay with Grandma for a few months in the woods. Every year I would see many golden butterflies and thousands of birds singing in the trees. Each time we went I roamed in the forest searching for treasure that I believed pirates buried years ago. Sometimes I'd actually find a map or clues to the gold, but alas I never found that treasure box overflowing with shiny doubloons and shimmering pearls. One time I stayed out past sunset, and my eyes were open to new sights and my ears to new sounds. Usually the dark black dome that covers the sky after the sun sinks makes me feel little and I become afraid. However, this time I felt a compulsive urge to dig deeper and confront the forest, which is exactly what I did.

The night became darker and darker still, until all I saw besides the trees inches from my face, was the black looming air. Then a trail of yellow lights, like fireflies, came out from behind, circling around me then into the woods, I followed it. It seemed to stretch out for forever, a never ending ominous trail of dancing yellow lights. Non blinking, neon yellow, shifting eyes that looked right at you, but gave the sense that they were looking in you. They were mesmerizing and I couldn't help but follow them down through to the heart of the forest.

Then there it was, first I heard it, a deep snarl that hushed the forest. A thumping that shook the trees, and a thumping that was beating like a heart. Then an icy cold breath caused my hair to wave and it slid down my back, chills overcame me. I dared not to look behind me, how could I? I was too afraid to move! But my mother always told me to be brave. She said, "be brave my son, don't be afraid of whatever happens. Take a breath, stand for yourself, but always have help with you." Granted, when she told me this she was referring to the kindergarten bully, and besides I didn't have any help right now. I was terrified.

I took a deep breath and turned around to face this thing, this creature perhaps. I slowly moved my feet, one step at a time, until I came face to face with it. Only, I shouldn't say "face to face," for I had to look up above me to see it's eyes. Towering above me was a tremendous creature. His snout was just a few feet from my face, but he had to hunch low to the ground. Small strings of smoke came twirling out of his nostrils. Teeth the size of my hands poked down from his upper lip and gave a scary snarl-like appearance. It took me a minute to look past the head of this beast and to see it's truly immense size. Standing upright on his two back legs he would be nearly as tall as the height of a three story house.

I followed the trail of spines he had on his nose all the way back to his tail. His tail that was twice the length of his body. He had four enormous feet with five claws on each one, each claw longer than my arms. Then I noticed, he had two wings, impressive giant wings that were folded on his back. He opened them once to show off his beautiful wings, and yes they were beautiful! This dragon was a tree green color with sapphire blue that followed his spines, loomed across his wings, and started to blend in with the green on his belly and his legs. In the light of the full moon, highlights of silver shone on him. He had two horns coming out behind his giant ears. He was a lean, thin dragon that stood tall, and his stance came out as aggressive.

His eyes though, his eyes were calm. They were a lovely shade of emerald green, and they looked at me with kindness, and almost seemed a bit empathetic. Like he was worried why a little boy was out by himself this deep in the woods. The dragon moved closer to me, until he was just inches from my face. He moved his head as if to nudge me gently, like a loving friend or family member. I didn't move, I didn't reach out to touch him, I didn't take a step forward or back. But I smiled, and the dragon lifted the curves of his mouth and did the same, he was smiling right at me. He then carefully took a few steps back, looked behind himself using his long neck, unfolded his soaring wings, and flew gracefully into the moon. I watched breathlessly, in shock and awe of this magnificent creature. Once he was out of sight I ventured home, replaying the images of him in my mind.

I had a very active imagination growing up, I would turn anything and everything into a fun activity. The videos and pictures flared in my mind and took me across the globe, across the universe. As I got older, I came to realize that all these movies that played before my eyes were just my imagination. I had so much fun digging through the sand searching for treasures I thought was there. Or hiding under my sheets that way no monsters could see me at night. I was a very creative child.

That dragon in the forest though, he was real. I haven't told anyone my story, for I knew that no one would believe me. It's my little secret that I've kept with me for years. Sometimes, even until this day I will wander these woods searching for him. As a kid I searched often, assuming he would come back like how my snowman friend Donnie did, but he never came back.

I became so desperate to find him, that a few years ago I built myself a house in those woods. I put it where I could be close to my grandma, and deep enough in the trees where I just may be able to find him. Many asked me, "why are you building a house in the woods when you already have a perfect house right now?" My answer was always the same, "because I'll be closer to my family, and that's what I think would be the best!" I finally finished the house and I've lived here for almost two years now. Sometimes, I'll hear distant roars in my dreams that I wake up from. But I can never tell if they were from my dreams, or if they were really from my dragon.

I started to doubt myself, doubt that special moment in my childhood until last night as I laid in bed, and I started to drift to sleep. Just as my eyes started to close, I heard a noise that jolted me awake. It was a gentle low huff that lingered in the air. Then a calm slow breathing whispered through my ears, that was all too familiar. I climbed out of bed, walking towards the closed curtains. My heart beat quickened, my nerves on edge, all my life I've been waiting, doubting myself, hoping this one was real. Afraid that I may never find out.

Drawing in a final deep breath, I reached out, pulled back my hanging curtains, and looked out the window.

Fantasy
22

About the Creator

Madison B.

I love to write stories! I ❤ music (TOP, GD, MCR, SD, SWS, BVB, PTV, MIW, P!ATD, FAB, GS, B-182, FIR, ATL, MP, AY), the MCU, & animals. I hope u enjoy my stories and poems as much as I do! Have a great day! :)

Mystery

Thriller

Poems

Fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.