Fiction logo

Identity Crisis - Pt 11

A New Beginning - Meeting the Grandparents

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 5 months ago 14 min read
1

Identity Crisis

Chapter 11

The plane flight to Indianapolis was tense, but uneventful. Jason, sitting in a window seat next to Anthony stared morosely out the glass as the plane taxied and went airborne. He felt lost, detached. His entire life was dropping from beneath him like the ground below. Anthony, sensing his brother’s mood, pulled out a Nintendo Switch from his carry-on and tried to engage his brother in a game of Fortnite. Jason, reluctantly pulling his thoughts from how much he missed Laura, attempted to become engaged. Meanwhile, Melinda watched a Jennifer Aniston romantic comedy on the drop screen.

Arriving at Indianapolis International Airport, the Trilby’s retrieved their luggage and picked up their SUV from the long-term lot. Melinda sat between her brothers on the drive home. “Jason, you got more pics of your girlfriend?” she asked, twirling her hair nervously with one hand.

“Yes. Her name is Laura. We’ve been dating for a year.”

“Cool. Show me?”

Jason pulled out his cell and showed his sister a couple of shots of Laura at the beach and a picture of the two of them at a school dance from last year.

“She’s pretty. What does she see in you?”

“I don’t know,” Jason said. “But she asked me out first. In front of the whole class. Luckily for me she has more balls than I do.” Melinda laughed. “She’s great. She plans to major in Environmental Science in college.”

Lorraine, listening to the exchange from the front seat, was uncertain of how to proceed. While this was her own child, her flesh and blood, he was as much a stranger to them as they were to him. “Jason, Tom said you were a star player on your school soccer team even as a freshman. He was really impressed with your stats.”

“Yes ma’am,” he replied. “My dad... uhm, Clark… wanted me to play baseball like he did, but he always tried to support my choice. Baseball is a spectator sport – even when you’re on the field. I like the physical exertion of soccer better.”

“Your brother is number two on the school swim team. Central High is number four in the state. Do you swim?”

“I surf a bit and wipe out a lot.”

“You keep stroking those balls and I’ll take care of the breast stroking,” Anthony said with a grin.

“You wish you could stroke some breasts Anthony,” Melinda said.

“Anthony Mitchell Trilby! Melinda Marie!” Lorraine said as Marcus, glancing in the rearview, let out a laugh.

“It’s a swim style mom,” Anthony said, winking at his brother. In spite of herself, Lorraine smiled. Even Jason managed a small smile before returning to looking out the window. It was strange not to see any palm trees.

About fifty minutes after departing the airport, the 2022 Chevrolet Suburban pulled onto a quiet tree-lined street, then into the driveway of 1241 Windwood Dr, Greenfield, Indiana. The house was a light green single story with a flower garden and a large oak tree out front with a bench under it.

As Jason walked into the strange house that was his new home, he felt more lost than ever. “Come on Jason, I’ll show you our room,” Anthony said. “Hope you’re cool with sharing a bed.”

Jason followed his brother down the hallway to the second room. There was a full-size bed under a poster of Michael Phelps, the Olympic swimmer. “Guess we’ll have to add a couple soccer posters,” Anthony said when he noted Jason looking at the poster.

Jason just blinked. “Where can I put my stuff?”

Poking his head into the room, Marcus said “Jason, what would you like for dinner? We’ll order out. It’s been a long day.”

As his new parents ordered pizza, Jason and Anthony worked out a sharing system on the dresser. Anthony turned on his smart tv and put Imagine Dragons on from YouTube.

“That’s my friend Dan’s favorite band,” Jason said, a wistful look in his eyes.

“You want me to change it?”

“Nah. It’s fine. I’m going to make a couple calls.”

“Okay. I’m going to hit the pool for a few.”

“We have a pool?

“Sure do. I practice every day after school.”

“That’s cool.”

After Anthony put on a pair of swim trunks and headed out back to the screened pool area, Jason called his ex-parents and assured them he was fine. Alicia sounded like she was crying. After a painful few minutes he disconnected, texted Dan to let him know he was in Indiana, and then called Laura. His heart went into his throat and he choked up when he heard her voice.

“Quinn!,” she practically squealed when she answered. “How’s Indiana?”

“It’s okay I suppose. Surreal. I feel like I’m stuck in the Twilight Zone. I miss you.”

“I miss you too. I hope you can visit soon.”

“I don’t know. I hope so. Hey, we have a pool here.”

“That’s cool. Bet you’ll miss the beach though. Can’t surf in a swimming pool.”

“True. But I guess I’ll do the best I can.”

“So when will you be starting school there?”

“I don’t know. My mother said it’ll take a couple of days to get registered and get everything transferred here. Probably Monday.”

“No doubt you’ll be ruling the soccer field there within a week or two.”

“You know it.”

“Laura, I love you. I don’t want to be here. I want to be with you.”

“I love you too Quinn…, Jason. I miss you every second. We’ll video chat every day, I promise.”

Jason heard Shelby in the background saying, “Come on Laura. Stop mooning and let’s hit the mall.”

“Jason, I gotta go. Call me after school tomorrow.”

“Will do. Love you.” Jason disconnected. For ten minutes he just sat on the bed, staring at his phone.

After a tense dinner during which Jason fielded questions about his life in Florida, they rented Blue Beetle on Netflix. At ten p.m. the boys retired to their room. Undressing, and taking the side closest to the wall, Jason stared at the powder blue paint until Anthony turned off the light. Lying there listening to his brother snore lightly, Jason tried to hold back his tears. He missed his parents, his friends, and his school. He missed Laura. It was the longest night of his life. Finally, after several hours, he drifted off to sleep.

For the next two days – Thursday and Friday - Jason stayed home as his siblings went to school. He explored the neighborhood, which was pretty quiet. Greenfield only had about 25,000 people, a lot of whom worked in the city. He found a park nearby with a small lake. Walking up to the water’s edge, Jason took off his shoes and trod in the shallows. It reminded him of Lake Davis Park where he and Laura had spent time splashing in the lake.

On Saturday morning he rolled out of bed at nine o’clock and went to brush his teeth. As he was standing there in front of the mirror in his boxers the door opened. “Jason, you want to put on some clothes?” Melinda said with a laugh. “Hey, did you hear Grandma and Grandpa Trilby are coming today?”

Grandparents? I have paternal grandparents. Jason spit out the toothpaste and rinsed his mouth. “When will they be here?” he asked.

“In an hour or so. Everyone wants to welcome the prodigal son home. Mom and Dad wanted to surprise you, but that just didn’t seem right. You’re welcome for the heads up. Hope you like getting your cheeks pinched.”

“Thanks Melinda.” As his sister headed toward the dining room, Jason leaned on the bathroom counter. Christ! More strangers to act like I’m a found puppy. He threw his toothbrush on the counter and went to get dressed, brushing past Anthony in the hall.

Noting his twin’s tense demeanor, Anthony stopped. “Jason, what’s the problem?”

“Nothing. Just more complete strangers coming to fawn over the miracle boy.”

“Grandma and Grandpa? They just want to see you man. You’ve been missing for fifteen years.”

“No shit! I get reminded of that twenty times an hour by your mom and dad. This all sucks! I just want to be home.”

“You are home. This is your home. And they’re your mom and dad too.”

“So, I’m told.” Jason slammed into the bedroom.

Anthony came in behind him. “Jason, this is crap. You act like you’re the only one who’s hurting here man. You have no fucking clue dude! Me and Melinda have spent our entire lives in the shadow of the great Jason - the poor missing brother. Kidnapped, boo hoo! We’ve spent our entire lives in your freaking shadow. This sucks for all of us, but it’s not just about you man. Mom and dad are bending over backwards trying make you feel at home and you’re so ungrateful it’s ridiculous.”

“You didn’t have your entire life ripped out from under you! I don’t even fucking know who I am! My whole life was a lie, but it was my life! I had friends, parents, a girlfriend.” Jason threw a pillow, knocking a swimming trophy from a shelf.

“You’re such an asshole,” Anthony said.

Jason threw himself onto the bed, burying his face. “FUCK!” he screamed into the mattress.

“Jason, I get it…”

“The hell you do!” Jason said, lifting his face from the bed.

“Fine. Maybe I don’t. But, you better damn well be nice to Grandma and Grandpa or so help me God I’ll kick your ass.”

Jason rolled over on the bed, throwing an arm over his face. After about twenty seconds he sighed. “I’ll try Anthony.”

Anthony sat on the edge of the bed and patted his twin’s leg. “It won’t be so bad. Besides, they always give us money when they come.”

“Fucking grandparents,” Jason said.

“Yep. Now get dressed man. You’ve got to stand inspection soon.”

“I’ll get it,” Melinda said when the doorbell rang. Bouncing off the couch, she opened the front door. An elderly couple stood there. The man was stooped but looked like an older version of Marcus. He was wearing a golf cap over a mostly bald head, a knit sweater over a button-down shirt, and slacks. The woman next to him was shorter, about 5’3”, and slightly plump. She had grey hair and was wearing a flower print dress. “Grandma! Grandpa!”

“Hello Melinda dear,” the woman said, giving her a hug.

“Mom, Dad, come in,” Marcus said, getting up and giving his parents a hug.

“Well, where is he?” Grandma Trilby asked, setting her oversized pocketbook on the dining table, and heading to the living room. Grandpa Trilby followed her in.

“Jason,” Lorraine called.

Jason, now dressed in jeans and a blue polo shirt, came into the living room, trailed by Anthony.

Maureen Trilby gasped when she saw him. “Oh my dear lord. Jason?” Striding to him she threw her arms around her newly found grandson. “I can’t believe it. The lord finally answered our prayers.” Releasing him, she stepped back. “Just let me look at you. My lord, you look exactly like Anthony.” Taking him by the cheeks, she turned his head left and right like she was inspecting a horse.

“That’s what identical twins mean dear,” Joseph Trilby said. “Now let the boy breathe. Jason, I’m Joseph, your grandfather. The crying woman here is your grandmother, Maureen.”

“Uhm, nice to meet you.” Jason smiled. “I never had grandparents before.”

“Well you sure as heck do now. We have been praying for this for fifteen years.”

“Hi Grandma. Hi Grandpa,” Anthony said. “Remember me?”

“Anthony. How are you dear? You and your brother getting along?”

“He snores, but we’re working it out.”

"I snore?! Dude, you could keep Rip Van Winkle awake."

"Like I said, were working it out." Anthony gave his grandparents a quick hug and headed to the kitchen.

As the two stared at Jason like he was the second coming, Melinda shook her head. “I had a great time at drama camp this summer Grandpa. Uncle Phil says hi.”

“I hear you played Joan of Arc dear. I bet you were great.” Joseph smiled at his granddaughter.

“Sure did. I’m going to go to Juilliard after high school.”

Patting her head, which action Melinda ducked, Joseph chuckled. “I just bet you will Melinda.”

“Jason, I understand you’re a soccer star. We’ve got some stuff in the car for you.”

“I’m pretty good. I normally play attack.”

“Cool. It’s not football, but I can bone up on soccer I guess.”

Jason rolled his eyes as his grandfather went to sit on the couch.

“Your grandfather thinks the sun rises and sets on Sam Ehlinger and the Colts,” Marcus said with a chuckle. “Mom, Dad, you want some coffee?”

“Sounds good son. Thanks. So, Jason, how’s Florida? Lots of bikinis on those beaches, huh?” Joseph winked at his grandson.

“Jason has a girlfriend in Florida that he’s in love with,” Melinda said.

“Is that so?” Jason replied. “Have a seat and tell us about her. We want to know about your adopted parents, your friends…, everything.”

Anthony patted him on the shoulder. “I’m going to hit the pool for a bit. You have a lot of catching up to do.”

Jason gave a wan smile. “I guess so,” he said.

After dinner that evening his grandparents said they needed to head out. Maureen gave Melinda and Anthony each a hug, palming a $20 bill into each of their hands with a wink. Turning to Jason, she looked at him for a moment. “I still can’t believe it. Thank the lord you’re home Jason.” She hugged him tight and pinched his cheeks.

“Come out to the car Jason,” Joseph said.

Jason followed his grandfather outside and watched as the elderly man opened the trunk of his Subaru. Reaching in, he pulled out a soccer ball and tossed it to his grandson. “Give me a hand with this,” he said, stepping back.

In the trunk was a box with a brand new practice soccer goal. Handing the soccer ball to Anthony, who had followed them outside, Jason pulled the box out of the trunk. “You didn’t have to, Grandpa.”

“Yes I did Jason. You don’t know what a miracle today is.”

Leaning the box against the car, Jason gave his grandfather a hug. Joseph gave a huge smile. Pulling back, he shook his grandson’s hand, leaving a $100 bill behind. Winking at Jason he shouted, “Maureen. Let’s go. It ain’t getting any lighter out.”

Later that night, Jason played Call of Duty with Dan. As he cleared an enemy squad on the screen, he told Dan about meeting his grandparents.

“Dude, they gave you a hundred bucks and a soccer goal? Nice.”

“Yeah. It’s just weird, you know. I never had grandparents before.”

“Man, grandparents are the best. They always give you stuff.” Dan veered his avatar into a building and lobbed a grenade. Virtual blood spattered the screen. “Everyone at school is asking about you man. You need to put up some updates.”

“I will,” Jason said as he used a SAW to hose down some enemy troops.

“How’s that cute sister of yours?” Dan asked.

“Man, you gotta stop that. You’re creeping me out.”

Dan laughed. “I’m screwing with you Qui… Jason. But, to be clear, she is cute.”

“Screw you.” Jason laughed. “You get up the nerve to ask Shelby out yet or has Chester the Molester still got you cowed?”

“Dude! Shelby and Chester broke up! It’s my time!”

“Awesome. You should go for that.”

“How’s your parents … I mean the Marcelluses, doing?”

Jason sighed. “Mom sounds like she’s having a nervous breakdown. She cries every time I speak with her. Dad seems mostly okay, but you know how he is. Gotta be strong for mom.”

“Yeah. I suppose. Don’t worry man. This’ll work out. Hey, you think you’ll be down for Christmas?”

“I doubt it. Apparently, we’ll be in Indianapolis at my grandparents place. Also, I have another grandmother to meet. My mother’s mom is going to fly in from California.”

“That sucks. Not that you’re going to meet your other grandmother, but, that you won’t be coming here.”

“Yeah. It does.”

On Monday, Jason started school.

Young AdultMysteryfamily
1

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Chester the Molester 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I love how direct Melinda is, "What does she see in you" and also for giving Jason the heads up about their grandparents coming. And now Lorraine's mom would be coming too. Gosh that's all just so much to take in.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.