Fiction logo

I Will Find You, You Lout

Tag, You're It Summer Challenge

By Cathy holmesPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
20
Photo by Action Vance on Unsplash

This is my 2nd entry into James and Oneg's Tag, You're It! Challenge. For this one, the writer is instructed to pick a Vocal community and tag/nominate another writer to write a poem or 100-word micro fic about it BUT you only have 15 minutes to write!

Please note, your piece does not have to be entered into the community you are tagged with, just has to be somehow related to that community. Your entry should be submitted as either a poem (Poets) or micro (Fiction).

Here is Oneg's entry that started the ball rolling:

And now for mine, which I'm proud to say I did write in less than 15 minutes (gives self a pat on the back). I was given the community Earth:

The writer, peacefully enjoying a summer afternoon, was shocked and dismayed upon learning that she had yet again been named in The Summer Fiction Challenge, Tag, You’re It.

She had no idea of the identity of the unscrupulous lout who tagged her, for the second time; and the messenger refused to answer her questions. No matter how much torture she applied, no matter how many threats she made, the cowardly messenger would not give up said lout’s name.

The writer, who has always been an excellent investigator, vowed to hunt the unscrupulous lout to the ends of the earth. Through sunshine and rain, through wind and hail, she would trek. Rising oceans, fields of fire or unscalable mountains would not block her determined path. She would find her unscrupulous lout. And she would make them pay.

As she headed out on her journey, armed with only her phone, her laptop and a bat; she was heard to say “God help the next lout that tags me. I will bury them in a grave of molten lava.”

___

Since I don't know who tagged me, I will include the piece from the cowardly messenger (assuming they are one and the same).

HumorMicrofiction
20

About the Creator

Cathy holmes

Canadian family girl with a recently discovered love for writing. Other loves include animals and sports.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler10 months ago

    LOL! Your brilliant mind..I always love what you come up with :)

  • Mesh Toraskar10 months ago

    Haha, this made me chuckle, brilliant as always Cathy :)

  • Cendrine Marrouat10 months ago

    Hilarious, as always!

  • ThatWriterWoman10 months ago

    Haha! Love this! Brilliant, especially for 15m work!

  • I had to Google lout 🤣🤣🤣 You're awesomeeee to have written this under 15 minutes!

  • Tiffany Gordon 10 months ago

    You tore it up! Go Cathy Go! 😁

  • Mackenzie Davis10 months ago

    Lol, I would be terrified if I were said lout. Love how you incorporated the Earth I to your wrath here. The perfect, ultimate weapon, dun dun duhhhh….🙃😂

  • Lilly Cooper10 months ago

    😆 I hope you find them. I promise, it was not me!. The entire concept sounds torturous!

  • Ooooo not something I would like to happen to me, great effort

  • Naomi Gold10 months ago

    I mean you can’t blame him/her for wanting to get more stories out of you. 😆 It’s always a pleasure to read whatever you come up with.

  • Delightfully bitter & chilling, lol.

  • Rob Angeli10 months ago

    A grave of molten lava! Well at least it's quick, though excruciating! Great work.

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Outstanding!!! You should receive the Summer's Extravaganza Writer's Special Achievement award for writing this in 15 minutes. Even your Earth is humorously written!!! 👏 👏 ♥️💕

  • C. H. Richard10 months ago

    lol - Cathy you are the best 😊

  • Dana Crandell10 months ago

    Wow. That lout is probably shaking in his/her boots. Great job, Cathy! I hope you find the unscrupulous heathen.

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    🤣🤣 cracking up! I need to go see what this challenge is about! 🤷🏼‍♀️

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.