Fiction logo

I was relaxing | Enjoying the day at home | Then a package came

How did they find me? | I live atop a mountain. | Is this not absurd?

By Thavien YliasterPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
3
I was relaxing | Enjoying the day at home | Then a package came
Photo by Iewek Gnos on Unsplash

Author's Notes: This is a parody story. Any names of real people or companies mentioned are by mere coincidence. Thank You.

***

Relaxing at home.

I get approached by a drone.

It's from Euphrates.

...

It drops a box off

then proceeds to fly away.

What did it bring me?

...

I take it inside.

Carefully, I cut the tape.

I open the folds.

By Brandable Box on Unsplash

...

It's another box.

An arrow says, "This side up."

It feels cold to touch.

...

I move it with me.

I move to the living room.

I sit on the couch.

...

The Styrofoam's cold.

There's condensed water on it.

I lift off the top.

...

I hear a humming.

I pull out something stunning.

A machine's running.

...

I pull out a tank.

There's a small town with a bank.

A small card says, "Thanks.

...

"There's people inside.

Though they are not of your kind.

They still need to hide.

...

"Their blood is ancient.

With them, you must be patient.

Ready to face them?

...

"Ready to committ?

Yes? Put the card in the slit.

If not, return it.

...

"Prepare for the drone,

outside of your mountain home.

You'll be left alone."

...

I read what it said.

I pondered in my own head.

"Small people have fled?"

...

I peruse a thought.

I put the card in the slot.

To me, what's been brought?

...

I hear a small ding!

Colors shift. I see something.

What did the drone bring?

...

Now, what did I find?

I will stop trying to rhyme.

This is not the time.

...

So, what did I spy?

I saw a few octopi.

They seem to be shy.

...

They all looked at me.

Now, I can't eat my sushi.

By kartika paramita on Unsplash

"Do you need the sea?"

...

One of them walked near.

We both had initial fear.

The tank's glass was clear.

...

Its arm touched the glass.

I did too, not to be crass.

A bond formed at last.

...

Magic? Weird Voodoo?

It's a group of small Cthulhu.

Help, I need a clue.

...

No, they don't have wings.

Yet, they mimic fractal things,

infinite small rings.

By Glitch Lab App on Unsplash

...

My brain was confused.

To others, it then changed hues.

I think that's my clue.

...

They speak through colours.

I hope they know another,

way to talk with me.

...

I go grab a book.

Marine biology, look

at the nice pictures.

...

I showed them a squid.

The leader then had turned red.

Then, I turned the page.

...

They saw a shellfish.

Then, they all got excited.

They were delighted.

...

They wanted to eat.

They wanted a slab of crab.

By Mackenzie Cruz on Unsplash

I flip the next page.

...

They're still excited.

Some of them hug each other.

It's a shrimp photo.

By Esperanza Doronila on Unsplash

...

Turning the pages,

they stop and let out some ink.

"Why did they do that?"

...

The tank filters the

water, everything is clear.

They're camouflaging.

...

I look at the book.

The picture's of a dolphin.

They're large predators.

By Damian Patkowski on Unsplash

...

I rip out the page.

I tear that photo to shreds.

Then, they stop hiding.

...

I show them the shrimp.

They act as if they are saved.

I grab my sushi.

By FLY:D on Unsplash

...

The aquarium

has no openings for me

to try to feed them.

...

I set the plate down.

One of them swims to the top.

It opens a latch.

...

I sit down, in awe.

The creature opens the tank.

A lone scout exits.

...

It points at the shrimp.

I place the shrimp on the lid.

It grabs at the shrimp.

...

The leader touches

the tank again, and I do

the same thing it does.

...

The scout holds the shrimp.

They all look at me, once more.

As if they're waiting.

...

I take the shrimp on

my plate. Chewing it, then I

proceed to swallow.

...

I open my mouth

and stick out my tongue for them

to see what I've done.

...

I show them it's safe

to eat the shrimp without fear

of being poisoned.

...

They tear the shrimp up,

passing it around their group.

They all start to eat.

...

They fill their hunger.

I bring up the book again.

I flip through the book.

By Laura Landers on Unsplash

...

I find a picture.

I show them an octopus.

Image by OpenClipart-Vectors from Pixabay

They show me their joy.

...

They change their colours.

I'm starting to learn patterns.

At least, I think so.

...

The leader touches

the tank with a shell it has.

It makes tapping sounds.

...

I start to realize

that it's speaking in Morse code.

I grab my laptop.

...

With my microphone

I start recording. We start

exchanging signals.

By Chris Yang on Unsplash

...

They feel my laptop's

vibrations through its speakers.

I begin learning.

...

They help clean the seas.

Major corporations are

polluting oceans.

...

"I hate Mack Benson,"

the leader tells me. "That man

has ruined our seas.

By Naja Bertolt Jensen on Unsplash

...

"We had a contract.

He helped us to stay hidden.

We'd help with shrimp farms.

By James Tiono on Unsplash

...

"Our population

dwindled down to what you see

standing before you.

...

"He promised to help

keep the ocean clean with us.

We use our oysters

...

"and sea sponges. They

would use their scientific

machines to help us."

...

Then, they grew silent.

Their colours turned to a dull

grey. They were saddened.

...

"Will you help us, large

friend? My time is running out.

Please, help us live on.

...

"Our people used to

live in every ocean of

this beautiful world."

...

I typed into the

translator. I told them that,

"I'll do what I can.

...

"I am sorry, though.

I will make no promises.

Trust in my actions."

...

They perked up at this.

Their hope was now returning.

They all touched the glass.

...

I sent a message.

"Let's bankrupt Mack's company

together, as one."

...

"How? That man's too rich."

I pulled out another book.

"Simple, we will learn.

By Jonathan Borba on Unsplash

...

"We can buy their stock,

getting us some voter rights."

They were stunned by this.

...

"How will that help us?"

The translator beeped away.

"We'll clean the oceans.

...

"With enough voter

rights of a company we

can change their actions."

...

"You can make them care

about our precious oceans?"

I nodded my head.

...

They celebrated.

"We can also donate our

excess money too.

...

"That way we can fund

charities that already

help clean the oceans."

...

This made them happy.

We would be saving their home,

slowly but surely.

...

That night, I went out.

I went to buy some more food.

I bought some more shrimp

By Streets of Food on Unsplash

More Author's Notes: Since there were so many challenges in such a short time period at once, a bunch of people were confused and joking about what to write. So, this is a mountain of haikus of a fictional story that takes place in a home atop a mountain in which a drone delivers an aquarium.

HumorSatire
3

About the Creator

Thavien Yliaster

Thank You for stopping by. Please, make yourself comfortable. I'm a novice poet, fiction writer, and dream journalist.

Instagram

YouTube

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    I’m always impressed by the way you’re able to write poem stories completely made of haikus like this. 😅 They are fun to read. Great work!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    You actually made this work, and I enjoyed it :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.