Fiction logo

I wanted to study but ....

An old story

By Azhar MalikPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
I wanted to study but ....
Photo by Eric Ward on Unsplash

It was 7 pm, the room was dark and nothing was visible but a few books resting on the bookshelf. I just woke up anxiously as I had an exam the very next day. It was the first time I didn’t prepare well for the exam. I was in stress as I wanted to maintain my top position in school. In a hurry, I just had a few snacks and rushed out to my friend’s place. Two guards outside the villa asked me what I wanted. I told who I was and they called for my friend.

I wanted him to help me since he was a top student too. We both started studying and then we realized that we forgot the main coursebook. We went to another friend’s place but got stuck in traffic. Our friend lived far away from the main city but somehow, we reached there. It was nearing midnight; the street was dark and it was getting colder. We rang the bell, he came outside and upon asking for the book, he refused to help us and said:

“I’m also studying from the same book; how can I give it to you”.

Hearing this from a buddy was devastating, we controlled our anger and left his house without saying a word. Walking on the street, listening to the wind and watching the street lights, we realized the importance preparing in advance. I told my friend that he was responsible for this. As he was the one who became overconfident first. But it was not the time to play the blame game, so we decided to buy a new book but it was too late and shops were closed.

Walking back home, we saw a classmate passing by. He came to us and we discussed the problem. He happily offered us to study at his home. Time was running out and we had to cover the course so we moved to his house. Upon reaching there, it was revealed that the book we needed was borrowed by one of his friends and he didn’t return it. In angry voice, my first friend shouted:

“Why didn’t you tell this before, we don’t have time to play these games” the other friend yelled back:

“I didn’t remember why I give him the book and if so, why he didn’t return it even till this time”

In this chaotic situation, I started to use my mind and came up with the idea that

“We should download the notes and start studying”

“Great idea” they replied.

We turned on the PC and was surprised to find that the internet connection wasn’t working due to unpaid bill.

“What a wonderful time we are having” one of them said. “This is just because of your stupid ideas” the other friend shouted back at him.

“We only have one way out, as far as a I remember, I have hard copies of the important notes at home. I think we should use them” I told them. “Were you been sleeping before this?” one of them asked with an angry look.

We came back to my home and I just gathered those notes. Finally, we had the material to study but now the problem was time. As it was 2 am and we only had around 5 hours to study and sleep. We got busy in studies and at around 4 am, I realized that my house building suddenly started to shake. At first, I ignored that but after a while the entire room started to tremble.

Frightened, I thought it was an earthquake. I saw the radium clock hanging in dark corridor showing that it was 4:30 am. Now the room shook again scaring me out of my wits. I stood and tried to get out of the house. In such hurry, I forgot to inform my family that they should leave also. I came back and mother slapped on my face. I got confused and another slap came which just woke me up and I was saying,

“Leave me, I want to study, I want to study” my mother grabbed me and said “stop dreaming, start studying, you have an exam tomorrow”.

AdventureClassicalFantasyHumorShort StoryMystery

About the Creator

Azhar Malik

I am a finance graduate having passion in writing with years of experience. Writing for well-being, motivation, finance, lifestyle and tips is my hobby. Please like and share my blogs if you like my content.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Azhar MalikWritten by Azhar Malik

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.