Fiction logo

“I Think My Husband is an Alien.”

Everybody has a story. The one I’m going to tell you is a little heartbreaking, maybe even eye opening. It is however, completely true.

By Tasjanah Anderson Published 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
“I Think My Husband is an Alien.”
Photo by Alexander Andrews on Unsplash

This story is about a few things and a few people. I only have the grace of telling my side. I’ve been struggling writing this for a while. Today though, I’m making a breakthrough. I’m choosing to write this because I need to. I hope you enjoy.

By Abdullah Omar on Unsplash

Chapter 1: TheStart

At the beginning, it was magical. I like to think that- that’s how everybodies relationships start. This one for me however, was the first time I fell In love before we met. So alien to me at the time but I didn’t think anything of it. I fell hard and let my heart decide.

The first time we talked was rather quick. Just a hello is all it took.

I found him. A single blurry photo.

By Paul Volkmer on Unsplash

I could tell he was handsome. That’s all I said “Hey Handsome ☺️“

He soon replied

“Hey beautiful 😍”

We exchanged numbers through the app and the next day he texted me. We talked about our jobs and our kids; our goals and physical appearance, we talked about our hobbies and learned that we had a lot in common. He wanted to see more of me so I sent him five pictures. He immediately sent back four. I was awe struck. The photo on the app didn’t do him justice. I was so happy that I decided to message him.

Quickly we agreed that we had to meet. Turns out he was in another state and it would take hours to drive to each other. He wasn’t phased. “Let’s pick a day.” He said. We agreed on a Saturday of the following week. He ended the conversation soon after and told me to call him tomorrow. My next day was busy with work and family so I soon forgot about the handsome stranger and didn’t remember to call untill I got a call from an unsaved number. It looked familiar but I didn’t answer. I wanted to talk to him. So I go to our conversation and see that he was the one calling me. I called back with the quickness and finally heard the voice that would be running ruthlessly around my head.We found each other July 1st. Our first conversation was on July 2nd. The first phone call was July 3rd and by the 4th, he told me he loved me. I had to say it back. I felt the same! I couldn’t believe the connection we were making, we talked all night. Everything he told me about his past I could vividly see. I felt his pain an couldn’t believe how strong he was. I told him of mine and I knew he understood. I knew he wasn’t judging me Or thought any less of me. It was like we were together already. Our separate journeys just leading to each other. He was all I could dream of. The following days, I felt untouchable. Like I was flying. Floating on endorphins that would never end. That’s how he makes me feel everyday. So when we met it was more of a reunion. He drove to me and we immediately embraced. It felt so weird to be embraced with so much conviction.

No way this could be happening. We came together and didn’t separate for months. Almost tied at the hip, we started working at jobs next door to each other.

I couldn’t be happier. Having a love so supportive, consistent, and understanding seemed like an unrealistic idea. However, here it was.

At first I thought it was just me, but now I know better. I noticed ever so often, his face. His eyes. Would change. I was intimidated. Trying to read his mannerisms. I noticed I could only see so far. His eyes held mystery. If only then, I knew what I knew now. Would I make the same decision?

The Wedding:

By Esther Tuttle on Unsplash

We were together for a year before he proposed. It took only six more months for the wedding to come together.

“You may now kiss the bride.” I look from the priest to my amazing husband. And he’s already looking at me with those sweet brown eyes. He slips his hand past my veil, to caress my face and pulls me into the sweetest kiss we’ve ever shared. I forgot that we were surrounded by my family and grab my husband with all my might. So that maybe he can feel the love I have for him. The hooping and hollering from the crowd quickly snaps me back to reality.

We share a moment of eye love you’s then proceed to party with our family’s. My husband’s family was his brother & sister. They grew up in a foster home. He told me his parents abandoned them. I could partially relate. I knew who my dad was but didn’t see much of him. We wanted to be better parents. Better lovers. I would never leave him. I knew he felt the same.

“My wife, my best friend, you are a blessing that I can’t thank the universe enough for. I promise to love and protect you even after my last breath.” I try to focus on the priest's words but my wife. Looks so beautiful. I can’t take my eyes off her. I snap back to reality after I hear “you may now kiss the bride.” Forgetting we’re not alone, I put all my heart into this kiss. Hoping she’ll feel my strength, my compassion, my love.

“I love you.” I look into her eyes. Knowing she loves me.. hoping she’ll love me even after I tell her my truth.

“ I love you more.” I said to my husband. We turn together, hand in hand, to walk down the aisle. We’re headed to our honeymoon. He never disclosed where we were going but he said we wouldn’t be leaving for a long time. I was glad. We worked so hard this year. So many obstacles to get where we are now. It was like someone didn’t want us to get married! My family thought it was soon but ultimately it was my decision. I don’t think they’d go as far as to try and destroy my wedding. My dress was stained, his suite was ripped, someone canceled our reservation, the rings! We couldn’t find the rings. But my husband saved the day as usual. He was prepared with hidden gowns, suits, and rings. Even the location of the wedding was now hosted at his sisters home. She has a beautiful backyard. It was more beautiful than I could imagine.

This was my fourth time being in the same room as his brother and sister so I decided to wave them goodbye, as I looked back to where they were standing. They were already smiling directly at me. In this unnatural nature, as I looked on to the rest of the crowd I noticed my whole family had this menacing smile.

I could only look around and make sure that I wasn’t seeing things. Everyone’s face was contorted and unnatural looking. I grasped my husband tightly by the arm.

“Honey, look at everyone. Look at their faces!” But he makes no noise. I look up at him and his face is exactly the same. I start to back away. I bumped into someone and they grab me. It’s his brother and sister. I try to get away but my family is closing in around us. I’m surrounded. They started whispering, “We know something. We know something you don’t. We know something you’ll never know.” I scream as they all grab for me. As I close my eyes tight. Snap. I’m awake. My eyes shoot open and I realize I was dreaming again. The alarm clock glares at me. (Seemingly redder than usual.) 3:17, I find myself waking up around three more often so I’m not surprised. He’s here too. I feel his presence behind me. My husband..I should tell him I had another dream.

“Honey, are you awake?” I hear him ask at an audible and nonchalant tone.

I almost don’t want to answer.

“Yes.. I - I’m trying to go back to sleep.”

“What was your dream about?” He ignored my statement and pulled me closer to him.

“I don’t remember, I just want to go back to sleep.” I close my eyes and take a deep breath. He wrapps himself around me tighter. I feel claustrophobic.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Tasjanah Anderson

Fireredd . Photographer/ Rapper / Writer

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.