Fiction logo

I’m Your First

Special relationships last forever.

By Mark GagnonPublished 4 months ago 3 min read
6

I went bug-eyed with anticipation the first time I saw you walk into the backyard. Will you be the one? Has my savior finally come to rescue me from my lonely, neglected existence? In my current condition, I’ll understand if you walk on by without a second glance. Maybe you’ll show me some compassion and look past my rough edges and unkempt trappings to see my true beauty. I didn’t always look like this. All you need to do is look at my baby pictures to recognize my true beauty hidden away beneath this time-worn exterior.

Oh my, you’re walking over to me and smiling! Has anyone told you what a glorious smile you have? My sensible self tells me not to get overexcited, but damn, this is so exciting! No one has given me as much as a passing glance, in I don’t remember how long. Are you different from all those who have neglected me?

No, I can tell you’re different. You have a keen eye for detail and an imagination for how if given some time and a little tender loving care, I can change. You will be my prince charming and I will be reborn, transformed into your Cinderella. Is it too much for me to ask the gods for this one last opportunity? I can hear you and your friend discussing me, and it appears you have settled on an agreement. I am now yours!

Feeling your warm hands glide softly along my blemished and scarred surface sends bolts of electricity through my frame. At last, I understand why I have held on over all these years. Just when I think my ecstasy has reached its peak, you share your most intimate secret with me. I am your first, the one you have been looking for your whole life. It is all I can do to keep from falling into an emotional pile of scrap. I know you must leave, but although you promise to return, it is difficult for me to maintain my composure. Trust is difficult, but it’s all I have to cling to.

You return bright and early the next morning, as promised. I’m as giddy as a child on the first day of school, and I can sense your excitement as well. Time is not our friend because I have to leave my current home in six weeks, so you begin work on me immediately. You spend many long hours repairing what you can and replacing the parts that are beyond repair. The way you move over and through my body, one would find it hard to believe that I was your first. Fate has truly blessed me by putting us together.

Our day has come at last. You ease into me, insert the key, and push my start button. I emit a sultry roar, then purr rhythmically at idle as my powerful engine sends vibrations through both our bodies. First, you slide my shifter into first, and gently depress my accelerator while cautiously releasing the clutch, and we move forward; slowly at first. The need for speed is too strong and we slam through the gears. Increasing speed excites us, and it feels as though our bond will never end. Unfortunately, my life never works that way.

Our relationship has lasted for two glorious years, but unfortunately, all special things must end. You now have a family that has outgrown my two bucket seats. We spend less and less time together until, one day, another man hands you money and takes me away. Your expression shows me you are as broken-hearted as I am as we say goodbye. You will always have a special place in my heart knowing that I am your first and only Triumph TR3.

Short Story
6

About the Creator

Mark Gagnon

I have spent most of my life traveling the US and abroad. Now it's time to create what I hope are interesting fictional stories.

I have 2 books on Amazon, Mitigating Circumstances and Short Stories for Open Minds.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran4 months ago

    So sad that his family cannot fit anymore. Poor car 🥺🥺🥺 Never trust a human! They always leave you eventually!

  • Novel Allen4 months ago

    Men with cars..like men in black, they are so sleek together. Although I do love those old cars in the movies, something about them. Love the car love.

  • JBaz4 months ago

    I believe cars do have emotions and feelings. If didn't believe that it would make me crazy....I have talked to every car I owned and miss many of them. I like the feelings you gave to the Triumph TR3.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.