Fiction logo

I'm going to the funeral home

Sometimes I wonder why there are so many supernatural events in the world that science can't explain, or, to put it against science, maybe there is a hell?

By Eamonn DaviesPublished 2 years ago 6 min read

Sometimes I wonder why there are so many supernatural events in the world that science can't explain , or , to put it against science , maybe there is a hell ? I don't know if there is hell in this world , but I do know that I almost went to hell that time . I am a taxi driver , opened a taxi for decades , now , met so many bizarre events , I think , I can no longer set my mind at the stem . But I want to tell them all . In that season , there was a lot of rain in this place , basically every two or three days there was a heavy rain or a drizzle . Of course , it was very cold at that time . As a taxi driver , I love it when it rains , or when it rains all of a sudden , and people don't know what to do with umbrellas , because it makes our taxi business much better than it used to be . "Driver , driver , wait for me , wait for me ." An old lady in her sixties waved to me through the heavy rain . I happened to be empty and drove to the front of the old man . " Come in , old lady , it's raining hard ." . I looked at the old lady soaking wet , and my heart could not help feeling a little anxious . As she got into the car , I asked , " Old lady , where are you going ?" . The old lady's wet hair made me worry if she would catch a cold . Besides , she is easy to get sick at her age . All of a sudden , I don't know when MY heart became so good . Maybe I just saw the old lady and thought of my mother . I hope she is well . The old lady smiled at me and said , " Young man , I want to go to the funeral home . " . I was a little surprised , this old woman so old still go to that place alone ? But I forbear to ask . After all , I was still worried about the old man's heartbreak . Wipers whine and blow away the rain from the front window , probably because I don't want to disturb the old man at the moment because of where he is going . " Old lady , it's raining so hard , I can wait for you outside if you don't get in long ." . I looked down the road , out of the corner of my mirror at the old lady . The old lady's kind face smiled . "Yes , young man , I won't be gone long , please ." " It's all right . In fact , my parents are almost as old as you are . Helping others is helping yourself . " . After taking the old lady to the door of the funeral home , I said , " Old lady , you go , I'll wait for you here . " . The old lady walked soon , I also in the car appears to bore , eyes also to appear some heavy , imperceptibly , so drowsy sleep in the past . The window " pa pa pa " was a burst of sound , was this noisy woke up , suddenly a drop of red things fell on my window . I opened the window and ran my fingers over the red drop . The ice was cold and I couldn't help smelling it on my nose . " Why does it smelled like blood ? " . I leaned my head out of the window and looked over the top of the car , but just as I turned my head , there was a bloody woman's head on the roof of the car . " Stay back , stay back ." . " Hey ? Young man , young man , wake up , wake up , I'm out ." . " Huh ? " . I saw that it was the old lady that had fallen asleep and had a nightmare . I wiped the sweat from my forehead and took a few hard breaths of air . And at this time , I suddenly feel that there seems to be something different about the old lady at this moment , there is a little strange feeling . " Where shall I take you now , old lady ? " . I looked at the old lady in the back seat . " Just drop me off where I got in the car." " . Said the old lady with a smile . " Huh ? " . Now , at last , I noticed something unusual about the old lady . Usually where people come to this place and laugh with , and this old lady is so old to come here to see people , I think it is also very important to the old lady . But what does all this mean ? Nothing to explain , I can only a slight sigh . The rain is getting bigger and bigger , and I can't see the road more and more , can only drive slowly on the road . A young woman appeared on the side of the road . The woman stood on the side of the road to an umbrella and seemed to be waiting for the bus . I started to lean against , but the old man in the back seat slowly said , " Go on , go on , don't pull this woman . " . I wondered , " Why don't you pull this woman ? The old lady . Do you know each other ? " . " Don't know , you also don't ask , you still hurriedly drive away ." . The old lady's tone was a little stiff . I saw the woman's face rise as the car slowly passed her . The woman's face some pale , I thought so , but suddenly , the woman unexpectedly to me strange smile . I turned my head quickly , but when I turned to look in the mirror again , the woman had disappeared . "Ah Old lady , old lady , what is the matter with the woman ? " . I panicked and asked the old man behind me , but when I looked in the mirror , the old man's seat on the back seat was empty . My back was tingling now , and my scalp seemed cold from ear to ear . I looked in the back seat . The old lady was smiling at me from her seat , but now my smile was not kindness , it was horror . "Ah ." I opened the car door and rushed into the heavy rain , regardless of the rain washed , I did not look back on the road running . But at this time , suddenly a green car drove fast towards me . I knew I was dead when it hit me . I tried to get away , but now my legs felt like something was grippe them . And in the two green car drove , I was more afraid , this car , incredibly is a burned to the dead with the paper car ! Sitting in the car was a woman with a strange smile . It was the woman whom I had just met on the road ! The woman who suddenly disappeared . I opened my eyes wide , thinking I was about to die , and suddenly an old lady appeared , the same old woman I had been carrying , and the last thing I saw was the old man pulling me away . All I know is that I narrowly escaped death .

Short Story

About the Creator

Eamonn Davies

An avid lover of stories about ghosts and legends, I love the thrill of having my bones tingle! I hope you enjoy my story.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Eamonn DaviesWritten by Eamonn Davies

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.