Fiction logo

๐‘ฐ'๐’Ž ๐’‚๐’ ๐‘จ๐’‘๐’‰๐’Š๐’… โ€

๐“‚…โœงโŠนโ‹†

By ๐˜๐€๐๐ˆ๐๐”๐„ ๐‰๐€๐‚๐๐”๐„๐’ ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ—Published about a year ago โ€ข 12 min read
1
Reading of โ€œIโ€™m an Aphidโ€ with music and visuals.

๐“‚…โœฆโœงโŠนโ‹†

Iโ€™m an Aphid, small, bulky and round. Us Aphids gently secrete sweet-satisfactory honeydew; leaving twinkling sugar droplets in the moonlight.

Though the sweetness canโ€™t hide my hideous frame and threadlike legs, Iโ€™m happy filling

the world with sugar.

Bugs; like, dragonflies, and butterflies-

They're all better than us.

They hate us.

Unlike them we are soft-bodied and wingless. Invasive pests. They pollinate and propagate, while we lay lazily on leaves, just as emerald as our backs. I rest sleepily in the sun rays, asking the universe, โ€œWhy did God create us?โ€

The tulips above stand tall; they're a hallway of fragrance.

They wave kindly at me from above;

But the doves loom not far away.

Sunny and I are hiding behind a rock from those white feathered fiends, but the bees buzz confidently in the spring breeze.

Weโ€™re thinking no insect would come to extend a wing, but then, a glimpse of glimmering red brushes swiftly past the birds and onto our rock. What an odd bug, he is.

โ€œHello there my emerald jewels!โ€ His voice was sweeter than Goldenrod, โ€œThe humans have brought me here from Europe to take care of you.โ€

โ€œHave you come to save us?โ€ Sunny said expectantly, โ€œWe cannot fly!โ€

โ€œWell then, I suppose I must save you.โ€ He picks us up with the lightest touch, and begins gliding through the air. โ€œYou smell so sweet my sugar aphids.โ€ His tone is so calm and inviting.

Sunny is screaming out in excitement,

but all I can do is hold my breath.

I canโ€™t say it isn't nice though, watching the waves of blue and purple flowers rush below us. โ€œIโ€™ve never flown before!โ€ I call out.

He sets us down on a Magnolia flower, and smiles. โ€œWell of course you haven't.โ€

โ€œMy name is Sunny by the way!โ€ She pushes past me eagerly, โ€œThank you so much for saving us. I hope you make yourself comfortable in the garden.โ€

Glowing translucent wings emerge from his back. He nods, and flutters over to greet the other insects.

Itโ€™s the next day, and all the beautiful bugs are surrounding the new creature.

โ€œWhat is it like in Europe?โ€ Asks the Monarch.

โ€œYour shell is so strong and shiny!โ€ Swoons the Ivory Moth.

โ€œWhat an interesting beetle you areโ€ฆโ€ Whispers the golden winged wasp.

โ€œWho knew red was such a popular color, right Sunny?โ€

I have turned to face my friend, but she is completely enamored by the red bugโ€™s presence.

โ€œHeโ€™s gorgeous,โ€ Sunny says wistfully.

I sighed grumpily, โ€œI suppose he didnโ€™t ignore or insult us like every other bug, but weโ€™re still at the bottom of the food chain regardless. Donโ€™t forget that you are an Aphid.โ€ Sheโ€™s turning to look at me, but in her eyes I can see that my warning has fallen on deaf ears.

Several days have passed and the garden has completely changed. There are red beetles everywhere, causing a commotion, but every bug seems to think it's ok. Sunny and the red bug from before have been talking daily, and itโ€™s clear to me that she has fallen in love.

But every time he comes around my stomach drops, and I tremble a bit. Thereโ€™s something strange about the way he whispers to Sunny, โ€œYou smell like sugarโ€ฆโ€

โ€œI want to propose! Our lives are so incredibly short and I want to spend the rest of it with him!โ€

I stare blankly at Sunny, โ€œYou donโ€™t even know what he is!โ€ Has she lost her mind?

โ€œHeโ€™s here to take care of the Aphids. This is my only chance, no other insect has cared about our kind before.โ€

โ€œSunny, you forgot who you are; your place in this garden. Do not embarrass yourself, he doesnโ€™t love you.โ€

Tears are swelling up in her tiny Aphid eyes, โ€œI knew you were jealous!โ€ She storms away as fast as those threadlike legs can take her. I stand on an oak branch, waiting for the sun to set.

And for it to rise again.

Insects are gathered expectantly in the Goldenrod bush, awaiting Sunnyโ€™s announcement.

The red beetle stood before her in all his grandness,

And Sunny murmured below,

โ€œI love you, with all of my heart. I want to be a part of you for the rest of my life.โ€

A suffocating silence fills the bush.

โ€œI want to get married.โ€

The ants all scoff in disgust, and the dung beetles whisper harshly.

Sunny looks back at me, discouraged. I think to myself, She'll be rejected, weโ€™ll go home, and sleep in the sun rays. I imagine holding her as she cries sugar tears and holding back a well deserved โ€œI told you so.โ€

โ€œI want you to be a part of me too.โ€ His silky-sparkling voice cuts through the scoffs and whispers. โ€œBut marriage isnโ€™t what I had in mind.โ€

โ€œWhat do you want?โ€ Sunny looks at him with bright eyes, and a tiny smile slips away from her leafy face.

โ€œYou are supple to the touch, and beautifully matured,โ€ He leans in slowly, and their antennae are touching. โ€œYour smell is what I love most about youโ€ฆโ€

What happens next lives in my mind as a set of foggy-broken frames. I try to put them together, I try to understand it. This memory taunts me, his words are a mockery. He says, โ€œI want to know how you taste.โ€

The sound of snapping cartilage fills the air,

and a breeze carries Sunnyโ€™s blood into my mouth.

Her face is now mangled, half eaten,

and Aphids are scurrying away,

leaving a trail of blood-curdling screams behind them.

โ€œHelp me! Please, please someone help me!โ€ Her voice is so raspy, she has a throat full of blood, โ€œI beg you,โ€ she coughs violently, โ€œSave me, Iโ€™ll do anything!โ€

Bite after bite, I could only stand there frozen in fear. Why? Why is this happening?

Heโ€™s eating her so greedily, sinking his mouth into her stomach. The sound was like crinkling, crushing, crunching-

Over and over again. The red bug turns around and I can see seven black dots spotting his back. They look at me, like seven beady eyes, gazing upon their prey. Had they always been there?

Torn up and twitching, a fountain of watery sugar sprays out from Sunnyโ€™s face, into my eyes. I am blind, and sobbing, roaring, asking God, โ€œWHY!?โ€ It was like no other bug could hear us screaming; like no one could see the tragedy laid before us. What are we to these bugs? Are we really just food?

Heโ€™s finished.

And heโ€™s looking at me. Oh god, heโ€™s looking at me.

Starting from the bottom of my legs, he drags his antennae across my underside

and up to my chin.

Iโ€™m crying these sugar tears that he licks tauntingly off my face.

โ€œPlease donโ€™t kill me! Please!โ€ He smiles at me.

โ€œWell my little green gem, Iโ€™m a Ladybug, and Iโ€™ve come to take care of you all.โ€ His tone was still-silky smooth, but patronizing.

A Ladybug?

โ€œYouโ€™ve come to kill us all!?โ€ I cried. โ€œDonโ€™t, please donโ€™t eat me!โ€

What am I really? Why did God create me?

He wraps his mouth peacefully around my leg, before ripping it away from my frame. Blood splurts out onto the Goldenrod petals.

I scream and try to push him off, but that only results in him pinning me down.

And as he lifts his head to bite me once more, I know it is my time to die.

He bows down to my face and mutters, โ€œI love how sweet you taste.โ€

And for better or worse, an Idea now flashes into my mind. Maybe I can surviveโ€ฆ

โ€œItโ€™d be a waste to kill me now,โ€ I said shakily, โ€œI secrete honeydew everyday. Keep me alive and you can come back for more.โ€

โ€œIs that true?โ€ He starts to back away.

โ€œYes!โ€ I exclaim with a heavy breath.

I wanted to live, I was scared to die, but still I wondered, Am I making the right choice?

Itโ€™s the next day, and the world feels so much colder. With not enough blood in my veins, and the sun covered by gray clouds, I struggle to suck the sap of Dahlia flowers to create honeydew. I canโ€™t stop shaking and spilling sap all over myself. I know heโ€™ll be here any second and I still have yet to secrete any sugar for him.

I hear boisterous laughter cut through the air.

I peek through the flower petals and see that diabolical ladybug in the spotlight,

once again.

The giggling of the bumble bees, and the swooning of the black beetles Is giving me

a stomach ache.

Itโ€™s a disgusting sight to see.

They had all watched him brutally murder Sunny the day before, and yet the Ladybugโ€™s popularity is unwavering. They are all happy, like nothing ever happened.

How can us Aphids truly matter so little?

Consumed and distracted by my own thoughts, the Ladybug lands behind without me noticing.

โ€œMy darling Aphid,โ€ He calls, โ€œI want honeydew.โ€

I whip around to look up at him.

โ€œ...Yes,โ€ I mumble.

I bend over and force out as many sugar droplets as I can. His eyes light up, and he begins to eat his fill. I gaze up at his seven black spots; they're hypnotic and shining. I wonder, how didnโ€™t Sunny and I notice from the beginning?

โ€œI want more.โ€ His tone is bone-chilling and foreign.

โ€œI already made more than my body could bear. I donโ€™t think I can make more until I eat again.โ€

He grabs pieces of leaves nearby and shoves them into my mouth. โ€œEat then.โ€

I choke and cry.

I canโ€™t scream, or tell him to stop. The air is quickly escaping my body; the color running off my face.

I pull his antennae, and he lets go of me. I spit out the leaves, and cough up blood.

โ€œPut it back in your mouth!โ€ he yells, I jolt back.

โ€œPlease just give me a second! I just ate and my body canโ€™t-โ€ He cut me off, completely ripping off the leg he had bitten before. I Shriek in agony and fall to the ground. He drinks my blood while staring me in the eyes.

โ€œEat. That is, if you want to keep your other front leg.โ€ I eat between sobs, and sink back into the Dahlia petals. โ€œIโ€™ll be back.โ€ He flutters away.

For the next several days, this pattern continues. He feeds off my honeydew,

and hurts me when I donโ€™t make enough.

I used to have 5 legs and now I have 4.

Iโ€™ve lost half of an antenna, and my cheek has a small hole near my mouth.

โ€œMore! Youโ€™re just not making enough, my little jewel.โ€ Says the Ladybug.

โ€œPlease have mercy, Iโ€™m one little bug. You hurt me near my mouth and itโ€™s hard to suck sap now.โ€

โ€œOh? So itโ€™s my fault?โ€ The Ladybug grabs me from behind, โ€œLet me help you out then.โ€ He reaches deep into my body from the back, crushing my organs in order to force honeydew out of me. He covers my mouth so that I donโ€™t make too much noise, and continues moving my insides around until the sugar stops leaking out from me. My brain is trapped in a burning haze, and my tiny eyes have lost sight.

I am worthless. I am weak.

The sun set and rose many times again, and at each sunset I die a little more.

I am nothing anymore. My life has meant nothing. I was the one who said he could come back for more. I was the one that didnโ€™t fight it. I was the one God created to be destroyed.

Today, his friends are with him.

โ€œHow could I possiblyโ€ฆโ€ I say with tears streaming down my face, โ€œHow could I possibly feed all of you.โ€ I know my fate already.

I thinkโ€ฆ Today's weather is very nice. I can hear a dragonfly humming a beautiful song. It smells like sugar and daisies, and I know that if she were alive, Sunny and I would have gone out exploring today. I want to see her again.

โ€œHold her down.โ€

They donโ€™t care at all about my body, and my wails are a joke to them.

I know that I am just food, but a part of me still canโ€™t accept whatโ€™s happening.

The other insects buzz around us like normal as the Ladybug reaches for me for the last time.

All together, they rip me open, all the way up my spine. I canโ€™t make a sound.

Iโ€™m twitching uncontrollably as they eat me from the inside out.

Itโ€™s painful, but strangely enough, I've never felt more like an Aphid than I do now.

I am an Aphid, small, bulky and round.

Though the sweetness canโ€™t hide my hideous frame and threadlike legs, Iโ€™m happy filling

the world with sugar.

This really hurts.

I hate ladybugs.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

๐˜๐€๐๐ˆ๐๐”๐„ ๐‰๐€๐‚๐๐”๐„๐’ ๐ŸŒธ๐Ÿ—

โœฆโโ„˜ ๊•ค ๐Ÿงท

๐ˆโ€™๐ฆ ๐‚๐š๐ซ๐ข๐›๐›๐ž๐š๐ง ๐€๐ฆ๐ž๐ซ๐ข๐œ๐š๐ง, ๐›๐ข๐ฌ๐ž๐ฑ๐ฎ๐š๐ฅ, ๐š๐ง๐ ๐š๐ง ๐š๐›๐ฌ๐ญ๐ซ๐š๐œ๐ญ ๐ฐ๐ซ๐ข๐ญ๐ž๐ซ.

๐ˆ ๐ฅ๐จ๐ฏ๐ž ๐ฆ๐ฎ๐ฌ๐ข๐œ, ๐ฉ๐จ๐ž๐ญ๐ซ๐ฒ, ๐š๐ง๐ ๐ฆ๐ž๐๐ข๐š ๐ฉ๐ซ๐จ๐๐ฎ๐œ๐ญ๐ข๐จ๐ง.

โœฟ.๏ฝก.:* โ˜†:**:. ๐Ÿ’ฟ .:**:.โ˜†*.:๏ฝก.โœฟ

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.