Fiction logo

I Could See Its Eyes Glistening in the Dark

A shiver of apprehension ran down my spine. I was so scared that I could not summon the energy even to yell for my parents. I could see its eyes glistening in the dark.

By Mubassira MahatabPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
5
My heart was pounding against my ribs. But on the other hand I was glad that she was found at last.

The sun peeked out from the clouds in the early morning heralding the day. The sky was a glorious blue, on which white clouds float gently. The birds wheeled and arced, their raucous cries ringing off the trees woke me up in the morning. There was a strange glamour to their timeless call as they soared between the wands of God-golden light. I went to the balcony and smelled the beautiful fragrance of the flowers. Suddenly our next door neighbor Mrs. Norris has started to throw tantrums in our neighborhood, totally ruining the beautiful ambience.

Mrs. Norris is a kind-hearted person who has been living with us in the neighborhood for nearly 10 years. She is really friendly, generous and also she makes such delicious chocolate eclairs. Mrs. Norris had nearly up to 7 to 8 cats in her house and her favorite one was Sophie. I went outside to meet with her and asked her, "what is going on?" Her angelic smile was missing from her face and her eyes looked so feeble like she didn't sleep last night. She told me that she couldn't find Sophie anywhere from yesterday night and she couldn't just bear the thought of losing her. I felt pity for her and thought to help her to find Sophie.

I went to every alley in our place just to find any kind of trace of Sophie. I looked above the trees and even inside of trash cans but still there wasn't any sign of her. I went back to Mrs. Norris and delivered my report to her and she became even more worried sick. I looked at my wrist watch and realized it was already 8:45 a.m. and I was going to be late for school. I rushed to my house and got dressed as fast as I could to catch the school bus. When I came back home I saw that Mrs. Norris was still searching for her and even more tears started to trickle down from her edges of moistening eyes. I wanted to help her so much but I figured out that I have to do a very important assignment for tomorrow.

When I was working on my assignment, my eyes became so tired that I didn't even realize when I fell asleep. Probably after some hours, I heard a noise which woke me up with a start. The side of my face was stuck to the pages of 'To Kill a Mockingbird'. I looked around with my eyes blinking in the moonlight and saw something moving outside the curtains of my balcony. A shiver of apprehension ran down my spine. I was so scared that I could not summon the energy even to yell for my parents. I could see its eyes glistening in the dark. I started to search for something on my table to attack whatever that thing was. I tip-toed and slowly went closer to it. And then I turned on the light bulb as fast as I could and to my utter surprise, it was Sophie! I was still holding my weapon which was a compass directly into her eyes and it was totally fixed in my hand. My heart was pounding against my ribs. But on the other hand I was glad that she was found at last.

Now, I was wondering how can I get her to Mrs. Norris as I was not very much attracted to her? A thousand questions flooded my brain which fought to be asked. I started to rack my brain of what I can do. Suddenly, I came up with an idea of luring her with fish and leading her to her owner's house. I opened the door of the refrigerator and found some tuna fish. I gently put those in front of her. She started sniffing it and also gave me condescending looks. I sat there, my eyes became drowsy and I was feeling sleepy again. All of a sudden, I saw that she was eating the fish and lured her to Mrs. Norris's house.

She was really delighted to see her again. The sadness went off from her face and appeared as a huge grin. Sophie also jumped right into her arms and both of them hugged each other tightly. She asked me how did I found her and a lot of questions. I told her the whole entire story and suddenly she jumped onto me and whispered the words 'thank you' in my ears.

Thanks a lot for your patient reading. If you like this story, please give me a tip and a heart for sure as a gesture of encouragement.

Read also : Her Voice Dropped to a WhisperPlease also find our face book community here.

Short Story
5

About the Creator

Mubassira Mahatab

Hello everyone I am Mahita a student and I love to see the world through my imaginations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.