Fiction logo

Her Voice Dropped to a Whisper

Why reality becomes such harsh over night

By Mubassira MahatabPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
14

The wind broke up the grey clouds and a wandering moon appeared above the crystal lake. The sky was a black tranquility married to a poetry of stars. I had just invited my dear best friend Penny Haywood to have tea at my house. While talking about our studies and private matters a magnificent idea popped inside my head. After two days there would be our summer vacation, so I planned that we could visit Paris. I told this to Penny and she agreed instantly. We started packing our bags and were super excited for what was coming ahead.

After a few days we got our tickets and went into the train station. A gigantic pair of wheels screeched right in front of my eyes. We went inside our compartment and waved our hands in farewell to our parents. A few minutes later we were out of the city. The sun peeked out from the clouds sending a slender beam of light through the trees. Different kinds of shops and platforms were zoomed past us. Penny and I looked outside and saw some farmers ambling by on business. The view changed, an eagle swooped down to a river and caught a fish. There was also a waterfall and the reflection of the sun made it of different colors.

After a few hours later or so we reached our destination. We headed away from the train station and took a taxi to find a place to stay. We booked a hotel, put our bags and went straight out to explore the 'City of Light'. A trip to Paris would never be complete without a visit to the Eiffel Tower. Then we went to take a glimpse of the unique view of Champs- Elysees, the world's most beautiful avenue. Then we went to Notre - Dame de Paris. After climbing the 422 steps of the tower, we were rewarded with one of the most stunning panoramic views of Paris. On our way back home, I asked Penny if she wanted ice-cream and she reciprocated an angelic smile and an apparent nod. We went to the hotel relishing the ice-cream.

The next day, we decided to visit some other places as well. But Penny suddenly felt really sick. Her temperature rose above 100 degrees and suddenly she went unconscious. Having no idea what to do, I called for an ambulance and we took her straight to the hospital. I was feeling weirdly normal. The doctor wasn't letting me to go inside. So, I sat at the bench, my mind was clearly confused at that moment. Penny was perfectly alright yesterday but I never imagined her today in the hospital.

When the doctor came after an hour he asked me some questions first, that whether or not I saw her being sick before. Then I said 'yes', but it was a long time ago and he revealed the most terrible news. She had been suffering from cancer and was on chemotherapy. I was totally shocked when I heard that. I felt strangled by undefined agony. I went inside and when I saw Penny in her illness state my heart sank into melancholy. When she came back to her senses she beckoned me. My thinly disguised sadness was not enough to deceive her. She held my hand and gave a weak smile and I was happy to see that.

The next day I called her parents and explained everything to them. They came to Paris at the first flight. While I was sitting in the hospital bench the wonderful times Penny and I had together replayed like an old familiar movie in my mind. Moments later, I went outside to buy lunch, my phone rang and I was surprised when I heard that it was Penny who was talking to me! I held back my feelings on the edges of moistening eyes. Her voice dropped to a whisper. I kept talking but there was no response. There was a deafening silence at there. I hurried to the hospital and I saw that my dearest friend whom I considered as my true friend had left the world without saying a 'goodbye.'

Mystery
14

About the Creator

Mubassira Mahatab

Hello everyone I am Mahita a student and I love to see the world through my imaginations.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.