Fiction logo

I Am My Father's Son

Short Story Beginning to Novella Part One of the Novel, "The Ballads of Jamie" By: LC Harrison also known as Amy Chris Keiper

By Amy Chris Keiper aka LC HarrisonPublished 2 years ago 29 min read
Like

I Am My Father s Son

In a time and place, where humans were not the only race, a halfling stood on a hill overlooking a field. His waist length hair flowed behind him in the breeze, revealing his pointed ears. He was of a dark complexion, like his father, and his curls made his hair seem like a lion’s mane. My name is James Allan Nathaniel Paul, he thought, such a long name for such a small me. James, it means sup-planter, and I am here to replace my father, the great hero, and follow in his footsteps. My father, the great adventurer bard, that long ago inspired our community to not conform to change. I am nothing compared to him. While he was thinking, his sister’s voice rang out, echoing across the field.

“Jamie, where are you?”

She is the only one who understands me, Jamie thought, as he ran across the field to greet his sister.

“Jamie, there you are!,” she said while picking daisies at the edge of the field.

Her big, round brown eyes looked up at him seeming to sparkle, just like the smile across her face.

“Yes, here I am!,” Jamie said, while thinking, why can’t I be happy like Missouri-Marie.

“I’ve looked for you all afternoon,” said Missouri-Marie. “I wanted to have a picnic with you. It’s such a nice day.”

“It is a nice day,” Jamie echoed back. “Maybe, another time.”

“Yes, another time,” she said.

“We should head home now,” Jamie said as he started to stroll up the path through the woods heading home.

“Jamie,” she said while following him, “why did you ignore Oliver this morning?”

“Oliver?,” Jamie asked.

“You know Oliver, our baby brother,” she laughed.

“Oh, that Oliver. What about him?,” Jamie said.

“Never mind,” she answered. “What did you do all day?,” Jamie asked as Missouri-Marie started to hum and weave the daisies together to make a garland for her hair.

“Oh, nothing,” she sighed.

“Well, here we are, home sweet home,” Jamie said as he opened the door for his sister. “After you.”

“Thank you,” Missouri-Marie said as she walked through the door.

At dinner, Jamie sat across from his baby brother. Looking at Oliver, Jamie thought, he is lean unlike my being muscular. His hair waves to his shoulders eloquently, and mine is just wild and long. He is a more talented musician and poet, than I am. He is more our father’s son than I will ever be.

Just then, Missouri-Marie spoke, “Jamie, now that we’re sixteen, and our lessons and training are finished, do you think things will be different?”

“It isn’t different,” Jamie replied. “There just won’t be anymore formal lessons, but that doesn’t mean that learning stops.”

As they spoke, their red-headed mother looked at Missouri-Marie with a fixed gaze of her odd colored eyes. “You two were in the field again,” she said.

“Mother, how did you know?,” Missouri-Marie asked.

“I bet she saw the daisy garland in your hair,” Jamie exclaimed.

“Correct,” Mother said.

“Why don’t you two ever ask me if I’d like to go to the field?,” Oliver said.

“Just never thought to, I suppose,” Jamie answered.

“We never really plan to go; we just end up there,” Missouri-Marie said. “Maybe next time.”

“Perhaps,” Oliver said as he stared at his plate, now empty. Oliver meticulously laid his fork trine down across the plate diagonally. He stared at the fork, and thought, the plate is my brother to me, and all I want to do is be near him like the fork; and just as the fork can pierce, I wish I could pierce through my brother’s barrier.

Mother began to speak again interrupting Oliver’s thoughts, “Jamie, you could be so much like your father.”

With that said, she then stood and headed to the kitchen with the empty dishes to wash. After watching his mother leave the table, Oliver looked at Jamie with a gaze that seemed to look through him. Jamie noticed this, and slumped down into his chair wishing to himself, if only he wouldn’t want so much of me. I can’t be the brother Oliver needs, thought Jamie. Oliver’s eyes were glazed with moisture as a tear ran down his cheek. He brushed away the tear, thinking, someday my brother will understand.

“I’m going to go study my language books now,” Oliver said as he slowly left the table.

“I just don’t understand why Mother is so disappointed in me,” said Jamie. “I can’t be Father, I’m not him. I’ve got to take some time to find myself. I need to go out and explore. You know, I might even gain some wisdom while I travel. I think I could be successful on such a trip, after all I did well with school and training, didn’t I?”

“You always seemed to do well, and I’ve always thought you to be very bright,” said Missouri-Marie. “But I don’t think Mother is disappointed in you. I think she is proud, because you have so much potential, in her eyes.”

“Do you really think so?,” Jamie asked. “Yes, I do!,” she said putting her hand on his shoulder.

Jamie clasped his hand over hers, and they embraced. Jamie thought to himself, I mustn’t cry. Why do I feel this way? I am loved, at least by Missouri-Marie. What is wrong with me? Surely, I can’t be crazy. I really do need to sort out my thoughts. A trip could be all I need. I could go to the city. Such a place would be bustling with possible new experiences and many people to meet. An experience like that, just might make the difference I need.

He pulled away from Missouri-Marie and said, “Well, it’s official. In the morning I’m going to take a trip to the city.”

“All the way to the city?,” Missouri-Marie said with a sniffle, as she turned her gaze to look down at the floor.

“You could come along, if you’d like to,” he said. “Yes, but you need to do whatever it was you said you need to do,” she told him.

“You wouldn’t be in the way, and besides I shouldn’t travel alone,” Jamie said.

“As well you shouldn’t,” their mother said interrupting. “If you children promise me, that you’ll be home before the Winter Solstice, I think all three of you should go. You’ve been moping about here too long, if you ask me. Besides, I know you’ll be safe. Oliver knows his way around, and Jamie can defend you, if need be.”

Jamie listened intently to his mother, thinking, Mother always knows just what to do, and her decisions always end up being the perfect resolution. Jamie’s eyes traveled from his mother to the direction in which he had heard a noise. He watched Oliver stick his head around the corner of the door case. Jamie thought, Oliver hadn’t gone upstairs, he had been outside the door the entire time.

“What’s all the commotion?,” asked Oliver.

“We’re going on a trip,” Missouri-Marie said ecstatically, practically jumping out of her chair as she sprung up and ran over to him.

“We?,” Oliver asked with a quizzical askance glance towards Jamie.

“Yes, Mother thinks the three of us should take a journey to the city,” Jamie said as he slouched in his chair at his brother’s gaze.

“I remember the day the three of you were born, how happy I was,” she said with a smile and a gaze that seemed to reach back into time. “Now, that you’re grown, I am so proud of you, and I wish you all a safe and prosperous trip.”

“We will need our rest then,” Oliver said glancing again quizzically at Jamie.

“Yes,” Jamie echoed, thinking, I wish he would stop looking at me that way.

“Who will be the leader?,” asked Missouri-Marie. “I think we ought to have one.”

“I could, I suppose,” said Oliver as he shifted his weight, “but I prefer to support a leader rather than to be one.”

“I will lead us,” whispered Jamie very meekly.

“What?,” said Oliver with another inquiring gaze directed toward his brother.

“I’ll lead us!,” Jamie said.

“Really?,” asked Missouri-Marie as she headed back towards Jamie.

“Yes, I will be the leader,” said Jamie.

“I believe you have your leader,” said mother with a smile directed at Jamie, “and I think he will make a fine leader too.”

As the three set out, the sun rose shining warmly across the field. Missouri-Marie rode beside Oliver, both astride their miniature ponies. They had packed for a seasons quarter. Instruments, food, clothes, books, and a few other essentials were either on their backs, or strapped to the strong, sturdy ponies. Jamie walked on foot leading the ponies. It was not long before they reached unfamiliar grounds.

“This is where our homeland ends,” said Oliver.

“And where our journey begins,” said Jamie.

“Let’s call it an adventure instead,” said Missouri-Marie while smiling at her two brothers, “because that sounds more daring.”

“An adventure then?,” said Oliver as he looked at his brother, while tapping his foot.

“Yes, why not?,” said Jamie as his mind began to wander.

I am on an adventure to the discovery of who I am, Jamie thought as he stared at the clouds floating in the blue sky. His gaze moved to his brother sitting tall on his pony. He has more elf in him like Father, and I am more like Mother, Jamie thought. I wish I was more like Oliver.

Missouri-Marie interrupted Jamie’s thoughts. She gleefully asked, “What direction are we to go?”

“I’m not sure,” said Jamie.

“Well,” said Oliver as he stared eastward, “we won’t want to go east to the city, because it snows early there. The roads will be treacherous, and the main paths that lead into it will be blocked.” Oliver fixed his gaze ahead of him before saying, “And just ahead of us, northward, are rocky mountains and cliffs, that the ponies won’t be able to climb.”

“Then we shall go westward,” said Jamie.

“What is westward?,” asked Missouri-Marie.

“I do not know,” said Oliver.

“Well, I do,” said Jamie standing tall and looking his brother in the eye, as he thought, surely, Oliver knows the story. Mother used to tell it to us boys every night. “It is the land of the Druids and Elves,” said Jamie. “They say that once long ago our Father traveled there, and that is where our parents met.”

“Really? Oh, tell us the story!,” said Missouri-Marie enthusiastically.

“Yes, enlighten us, brother,” said Oliver.

“All right, I will,” said Jamie. As they started to push forward, Jamie began to tell the story. “After our father had finished training as a Druid bard, he was inspired to go on a mission,” Jamie said proudly, “He set out on a journey, much like ours. For his mission, he planned to return to his place of birth. He had been away from his home, since the Druids adopted our father, the Elfin orphan. What he did not know is that a halfling named Evelyn was also on a journey to the land of the Elves.”

Jamie was suddenly interrupted by a strange group of traveling humans, that pointed their swords out towards them ready to strike.

“Who goes there,” asked one of the men.

He must be the leader, Jamie thought, because the shield that he’s carrying has a family crest on it. Family crests are reserved for nobility around here, I remember that from my lessons. Jamie stared at the man’s face, and noticed his shoulder length, blond hair and beard and mustache that were neatly trimmed, making him appear very stately.

“I am James Allan Nathaniel Paul, son of Eric Paul, and my companions are my brother and sister,” replied Jamie.

“Why would three halfling siblings be on this road?,” asked the stranger.

“We are traveling to the Elfin village,” said Jamie.

“Why there, and not to the city?,” asked the stranger.

“The path to the city would be covered in snow this time of year,” said Jamie.

“That’s right, but how would you know that?,” the stranger asked.

“Actually, I didn’t know, until my brother told me,” said Jamie.

“I know because I studied topography rather thoroughly,” said Oliver quickly.

“Really, that’s quite interesting. It was one of my favorite subjects as well,” the man said with a smile. “Although, possibly for a different reason than why you found it interesting enough to pay attention to it that closely. Allow me to introduce myself, I am Sir Richard, Prince of Westshire. I’m a ranger, myself. What would be your trades?”

“Pardon, but where is Westshire?,” asked Jamie.

“Oh, Westshire is behind the mountains, and I would assume to the west of the valley,” answered Oliver.

“You would be correct,” said Sir Richard smiling with a chuckle. “Quite clever for a halfling aren’t you? You wouldn’t happen to have some Elfin blood in you, would you?”

“Our father was of Elfin decent,” said Jamie.

“Really,” said Sir Richard, “now about my previous question.”

“How come you seem to know so much about us?,” asked Missouri-Marie bright eyed with an inquisitive expression on her face.

“It is in my trade to know what and who I am speaking to,” said Sir Richard. “Now, about your trades.”

“I’m trained in archery, but I carry a dagger as well,” said Oliver. “My main trade is that of a minstrel, as is my sister’s.”

“I’m a bard,” said Jamie.

Oliver, while glancing at Jamie said, “Jamie, I thought you knew how to wield a sword?”

“Knowing is one thing, but I would never use it,” said Jamie. “Fighting is so violent, and I abhor that. However, if our lives were threatened, I would defend us.”

“Well, it seems your brother has more Elfin ratti than you, Jamie,” said Sir Richard, “if I may call you that?”

“I really do not mind,” said Jamie.

“I do not mean to be naive,” said Missouri, “but what is ‘ratti’?”

“It is the Druidic word for blood,” said Oliver.

“That would be right,” said Sir Richard. “So you trained as a Druid, Ranger?,” said Oliver.

“Yes I did,” said Richard. “Very sharp mind, you are definitely Eric’s son.”

“You knew our father?,” said Oliver.

“Well, let’s say I knew of him,” said Sir Richard.

“If you don’t mind my asking,” said Jamie, “why are you here, rather than Westshire?”

“I am on a mission,” said Sir Richard.

“Really, what sort of mission?,” asked Jamie.

“I really do not know,” said Sir Richard. “My father received a letter from the Elves, that said they needed help urgently regarding something I won’t discuss with you.”

“So, you’re on a mission regarding some duty?,” asked Jamie.

Sir Richard looked at Jamie quizzically, sighed, and closed his eyes a moment. When he opened them, he said, “You could say that. My people do have to serve a certain duty to the Elves. Since the population of their village has waned over time due to various causes, our city has sworn to protect them. Whenever they need to do something that they do not have the man power to do, they call on my father to send me to a meeting at their village about whatever the issue may be.”

“I see, so when the Elves have a conference about something important, you have to go. Is that correct?,” said Jamie.

“Well, yes,” said Sir Richard, who then turned to his companions, “Well, I must be on my way, from here I journey alone. Tell my father if I need further assistance I’ll seek it on my own, or send a request for aide.” Sir Richard walked towards a tree on the side of the road, while the rag tag group of men, that were with the prince, turned around and marched off.

Jamie watched them until the distance between them obscured his vision. He thought, they are so quick to follow orders, just as I am to take suggestions. The ranger had sat under the tree. Jamie thought, he looks rather bothered by something. Jamie noticed his brother and sister were laying on the ground in a clearing filled with flowers on the other side of the road. They appear to be watching the clouds, thought Jamie. The bright sunshine must feel warm on their skin. As Jamie stood on the road in the middle of the ranger and his siblings he thought, I stand alone among some of the most admirable people in the world. Jamie saw the ranger motion for him to come sit beside him at the tree, which was a tall sturdy oak that reminded Jamie of authority.

As Jamie seated himself, the ranger said, “I should tell you why I’m traveling to the Elfin village, because it may interest you. But first I want you to know that I knew your father well. He was a hero to my people. The Elves treasured him as a son. You will be very welcome and respected by them. But before I continue, I must know something. The only reason I can think of for three halflings to leave home is that you are seeking adventure. Am I right?”

“Yes, in a way we are, I suppose,” said Jamie.

The ranger looked down at the grass and watched a spider spinning a web. “Jamie, the mission I’m on involves you,” said Sir Richard, while turning his head in order to gaze directly into Jamie’s eyes. “True, I am going to a meeting, but perhaps, I should confess I do know the substance of it.”

“I suspected when we were first speaking,” said Jamie.

“Oh, so you are as Elfin as your brother. Wise too, which is a very good quality for a leader to have,” Sir Richard said as he reached in his pocket retrieving an official looking letter. “This letter says that the amulet made by your father for your mother has been stolen.”

“I don’t understand.” said Jamie looking puzzled. “If it was given to my mother, why haven’t I ever seen it?”

“Well, she left it with the Elves when your father died, telling them it was no use to her anymore,” said Richard. “The amulet has special powers that can only be used by those who carry the blood of Eric Paul. At the time your father gave it to your mother, it was to protect her while she was carrying the three of you.”

“What sort of powers, and if it only works for us, what would anyone else want with it?,” asked Jamie. “That is why I must go to this meeting,” said Richard. “Your timing for your journey could not be better.”

“If you don’t mind my asking, how did you know my father?,” asked Jamie. “He was my best friend, and we were fellow travelers and adventurers. You see, Jamie, we trained together at the Druid’s guild,” said Richard as he looked down at the ground again. “He died so very young,” said Richard with a sigh as he picked up his head and gazed into Jamie’s eyes again. “He would have been so proud that the three of you are so intelligent and close with one another.”

“Do you really think so?,” asked Jamie. “Yes, he would be very proud, very proud indeed,” Richard said.

“Do you know how he died?,” asked Jamie.

“You mean to tell me you don’t know?,” asked Richard. “No-one ever told me,” said Jamie.

“You should know, but now we must be on our way to the Elfin village. In time, I promise, I will tell you,” said Richard as he stood.

The meeting was called just as soon as the travelers had arrived.

“Let’s get this meeting under way,” said a very old elf, who wore a crown of vines and jewels. “I would first like to extend welcome to the children of Eric Paul. It is unfortunate that our meeting could not be under better circumstances. Members of the Elvenkris, Princes of Eastshire and Westshire, and friend Thor, as you know my people have housed the amulet of Eric Paul for the last sixteen years. It is not with pleasure that I announce, that this amulet, the Amulet of Protection, has been stolen by the dark wizard, Eazel. Eazel has caused us trouble before, but this is a matter that must be discussed. We will have to come up with a decision of what should be done.”

“Your Grace, why should we be concerned at all about this amulet?,” said an elf that seemed to be very young. “Of course, I mean no disrespect to Eric Paul’s children, but isn’t it true that only those who have his blood can use its power.”

“You are very young, Galen, too young to realize the magic of the Druids,” said Onyx with a sigh. “You were not alive when last this amulet was wielded by a halfling named Evelyn. Her husband, the trained Druid hero, Eric Paul, had made it for her. She explained why she wanted to leave it here to be safe. She informed me that when Eric died he had asked for it, and told her he was placing a final spell on it. This spell was to put his entire life-force of power, and magic into this protection amulet. She did not want the responsibility of guarding such an object with small children depending on her, so she came to me. The power of Eric Paul can be extracted. As you probably do know the center stone of the amulet is hollow, and holds a single drop of Eric Paul’s blood. Simply by breaking the stone, and spilling its contents into a goblet of wine extracts the power. If Eazel then drinks the wine and wears the amulet, he then is the controller of the power, and is nearly untouchable. The protection capabilities of the amulet are extraordinary, nothing exists like it in the entire realm. The protection amulet itself has always belonged to Eric Paul’s children. The power contained in it, however, was to be a gift to his first born son when he came of age. Which of you three is this child?”

“I am,” said Jamie.

“What is your name?,” asked Onyx.

“My name is James Allan Nathaniel, but I go by Jamie.”

“Jamie, how fitting,” said Onyx.

“Onyx, how dangerous would Eazel be with more power?,” asked a dwarf from the mines within the mountains. “Does this actually pose a threat?”

Those braids in the hair of that dwarf is a symbol of one who follows the barbaric codes of the far North, thought Jamie. His fur garments appear to be covered in a dull soot, that obviously places him in the Dwarven mines, but why would a Norse dwarf be living in the mines?

“The danger is minimal, because Eazel does not know the spells, that would make it a threat,” said Onyx. “The greatest threat is that Eazel with this amulet could not easily be defeated, if ever he did pose a threat, although that is an unlikely occurrence; however, Eazel has committed a great theft towards the heirs of Eric Paul.”

“Why then should we take any risks to retrieve it, just to return it to these halflings we do not know?,” asked a dark-haired human seated by Richard. The man wore dark clothing, covered by a black cloak, outlined in jewels, embellished by silver designs stitched around them. His hair and beard and mustache were styled much like Richard’s.

His clothes seem to be made of quite valuable fabrics and jewels, thought Jamie. I wonder who he is?

“Jared of Eastshire does have a point, although I do not hold the wishes of the dead in vain,” said Onyx. “There are many more dangers just in the travel to the tower of Eazel, than there is a threat. However, if Eazel has made alliances with a certain Druid, I care not to mention the name of, then there is a great threat. The amulet mustn’t reach the hands of that soul.”

“Is there any indication that this alliance has been made?,” asked Richard.

“No,” said Onyx.

“Therefore, there is no threat. Is that what you are saying, Onyx?,” said the Norse dwarf from the mines. “Because if that is the case I have no wish to suffer perils, not for any cause! The wishes of the dead are not mine!”

“No-one is expecting anything of you, Thor,” said Onyx.

“Let it be known, I would travel through any peril to uphold the sacred wishes of the dead, whatever be the circumstances,” said Galen.

“Thank you, Galen,” said Onyx. “We will keep that in mind as we decide what is to be done.”

“Shouldn’t we be more worried about the amulet getting into the wrong hands?,” asked Richard. “I know the Druid you speak of, Onyx, he is very powerful, indeed. Could he not defeat Eazel and take the amulet from him, as we speak. No alliance is necessary for that.”

“I do not fear Druids!,” said Jared.

“Prince Jared, I could slay you for such a remark, if I had the chance!,” shouted Richard. “Then your father would no longer have to worry about what sort of king you will be!”

“We need not fight, nor spill blood here!,” said Onyx. “If we will not be civil,” Onyx said with a sigh in his voice, “then I feel our best move is to let this matter go, and hope that nothing ill comes of it. We obviously can not agree, and that leaves us shorthanded.”

“We can’t let this matter go!,” shouted Jamie standing up. “I will go and retrieve my father’s the amulet alone, if I must!”

“You will not go alone, Jamie, I promised to go with you!,” said Oliver reaching for his brother, who pulled away.

“Isn’t this a more important matter! You don’t just call meetings, and make people come from all over the realm for no reason!,” Jamie raged as Missouri-Marie looked worriedly at him. Jamie walked over and stood before Onyx, ignoring her.

“I understand your passion, Jamie,” said Onyx, “But it is in vain. Two or three halflings can not defeat a mage of any sort alone.”

“Jamie,” said Galen as he rose from his seat, “you seem like a fine leader, and I sense a presence of magic among you and your companions. I would be honored to serve the children of Eric Paul. I swear, if you go, I will follow you.”

“Will you allow children to just storm off into the unknown?,” said a female elf standing in front of the Elvenkris. She wore a silver vine crown, that was embellished much like King Onyx’s crown. She appeared very stately, and her presence was captivating.

“I will guide them as best as any ranger can,” said Richard as he rose and stood before his seat. “And from what I can tell, between Oliver and myself, we will not lose our way.”

“I will come too, Jamie,” Missouri-Marie said shakily.

“It is too dangerous!,” said Jamie.

Missouri-Marie looked at Jamie, squinting her eyes and standing up with one of her hands on her hip. A tear ran down her cheek as she spoke. “You can’t stop me, Jamie!,” said Missouri-Marie. “I’m coming. I can take care of myself, and I won’t be in the way!”

“You really want to lead these children out into the unknown?,” asked Onyx as he rose and moved to stand before Richard and placed a firm hand on Richard‘s shoulder.

“They are going to go anyway, someone better go with them,” said Richard.

“Who will lead you?,” asked Jared with a laugh.

“Never mind his tone, Jamie, but who will lead?,” asked Onyx as he turned to fix his gaze upon Jamie.

Jamie looked around at the standing individuals that wished to join him, including his brother, Prince Richard, and Galen. He noticed his sister was still sitting. Jamie thought, she looks frightened. Just then the silence was broken by familiar words.

“I suppose, I could, but I’d much rather support one, than to be one,” said Oliver.

“I serve, not give orders, and I choose to serve the children of Eric Paul,” said Galen. “

I would in the name of Westshire, but this is neither my adventure, nor is it for my people,” said Richard.

“I will lead, and I will retrieve the amulet!,” said Jamie standing tall.

“Then it is so!,” said Onyx as he headed back to his seat beside his son. “I believe you have your leader, and I believe he, with his spirit and will, is a fine one, indeed. May you all be surrounded by the luck of Olana. May she grace your paths with safety and courage. If I ever need to contact you, I will do so through Galen, as he is my son. He knows what I mean. May your journey be prosperous. If the amulet has already been broken, the only way to retrieve the power is by slaying the one who holds it. The slayer must wear the amulet, and must be the one, who seeks the power. I hope it does not come to that.”

“Nor do I,” said Jamie; “however, if our lives are threatened, I will not hesitate to defend us.”

“What is this?,” asked Onyx puzzled. As everyone else stared at Jamie shocked and silent.

“Onyx,” said Richard as he moved to stand beside Jamie and wrapped an arm about him, “you have before you the only halfling I’ve ever known, who can wield a sword.”

“Is this true?,” asked Onyx.

“It is, sir,” said Jamie.

“You five will need your rest,” said Onyx. “I call this meeting to a close.”

Everyone left except for Thor, Richard, Jared, Oliver, Missouri-Marie, and Jamie.

“If you would like,” said Thor, “my people can provide armor and weapons that are very strong. Are you interested?”

“Jamie,” said Richard, “I can bless those weapons and the armor, and double their strength.”

“I would be a fool not to accept, thank you,” said Jamie.

“You’re welcome, and mind that,” said Thor, “just cause I won’t risk my neck, doesn’t mean I don’t care.” “I will have the supplies ready for you at the mountains,” said Thor.

“Where is the tower?,” asked Jamie.

“Legend has it that the tower of the dark mage, Eazel is beyond the valley and through the forest of mystery, am I correct?,” said Oliver.

“You are,” said Richard.

“But where is the valley and forest?,” asked Jamie.

“The forest is the Druid’s forest,” said Oliver. “You and Richard were at the outskirts of it, when you sat by that huge oak tree. There are usually many traps set in those woods. The valley lies just before the tower. The mines will be a bit of a side track, though.”

“Well put,” said Richard with a laugh. “You really do know your topography. I couldn’t have put it better. We’ll cut through the woods to get to the mines, and then head diagonally from there towards the valley. After that we’re home free to the Tower of Eazel.”

“I’m going to get some sleep,” said Oliver. “It’s been a very long journey.” Oliver left. Oliver got as far as the doorway, when he turned around and caught a glimpse of Jared pulling Richard aside. He watched as Jared yanked Richard just outside the door before him. Oliver listened as Richard spoke with Jared.

“Are you really going?,” asked Jared.

“Yes,” said Richard. “It is a shame you might get scratched, because it would have been fun being able to play with you.”

“Indeed. Well, you need your rest,” said Jared. “You know it is not me, my father, he expects too much.”

“Oh, I’m sure he does,” said Richard. “You do not know the ways of my life, and you do not know me!,” said Jared. “Now, be off with you, cousin!”

“Before I leave you to yourself,” said Richard, “tell me, how fairs my younger cousin, Jason.”

“Jay?,” said Jared, “he’s just fine. He’s home, where I wish I was, but sometimes we can’t be where we like. Isn’t that right, Richie?”

“I wouldn’t know about that,” said Richard. “And don’t call me Richie; my name is Richard.”

“Whatever you say, cousin,” said Jared.

They left the conference room passing by Oliver, but no-one noticed him as he watched them walk away. He thought, cousin, I wonder, how well do they know one another? Oliver then heard his sister start to speak. He walked back into the room and saw Missouri still sitting in the chair looking at Jamie. Her eyes were misted with moisture and worry showed in her expression. Jamie has frightened her, and I don’t think he’s realized it, thought Oliver.

Her voice shook as she spoke, “Are we really going?”

Oliver looked at his brother’s expression, and thought, Jamie seems shocked by Missouri’s hesitancy, just as he has shocked me.

“In the name of our father,” said Jamie, “we can not allow that dark wizard to destroy the amulet of protection, that bears all the power he ever held as a Druid. The right to those powers belongs to us!”

“You can’t really be serious, are you?,” she asked.

Oliver came from his location just inside the doorway of the conference room and said, “I agree with Jamie.”

“Oliver?,” said Jamie, “I thought you’d left.”

“I tarried,” said Oliver, “didn’t you see me?”

“No,” said Jamie.

Oliver placed his hands on Missouri’s shoulders and said, “You heard what Onyx said, all the power of our father could be used for evil! We must retrieve the amulet! I’ll protect you, and you know Jamie would never let anything happen to either of us.”

“And the ranger will be with us, and that nice young elf, Galen,” said Missouri-Marie with a little sparkle back in her eyes, despite the tear running down her cheek.

“That’s right, see we’re going to be all right,” said Oliver. Thinking to himself, I hope Jamie knows what he’s getting us into.

“We are going to be all right, Missouri,” said Jamie, “trust me. I don’t know how I know, but I’m sure we will be all right.”

“I’m so lucky and proud to have you two as my brothers,” said Missouri. “You’re both so very brave.

At the rise of dawn, the ranger greeted the three siblings with a smile.

“So, we’re off then,” said Richard looking into Jamie’s eyes. He then put his arm around Jamie’s back, and pulled him aside. With a misty look in his eye, and a quick smile, he said as he looked directly into Jamie’s eyes, “Jamie, I see the sparkle of light that I once saw in your father’s eyes. It has been so long since your father’s light has shown in this world. It is good to see it now.”

Jamie thought to himself, I am my father’s son.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Amy Chris Keiper aka LC Harrison

I am a gothic Horror/Fantasy writer and poet, entertainer, musician, artist/designer, metaphysician & Minister (Reverend, Priestess).

"Without knowing imagination, sometimes doesn't it seem overbearing to believe in magic," ACK.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Amy Chris Keiper aka LC Harrison is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.