Fiction logo

How does this night feel

A first encounter

By Jay,when I writePublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
How does this night feel
Photo by sq lim on Unsplash

Tonight feels unreal. I’m looking more ahead of me, and stealing glances at you than I am at my feet to calculate where they meet the ground next. This isn’t how I usually walk when there’s more snow than my clumsy self can handle.

But, I’m afraid of missing something you spot like a cool sign or cute dog, or missing your glance again (which has kept us giggling).

“Let’s sit down over there,” you suggest. And I’m happy to go create a scene in a movie with you.

“Sure, then you can find the poem you promised to recite to me. I wanna know why it’s your favorite.” I’m being playful, yet honestly hoping you’d share yourself just a little more. Give me one of your favorites please. I’ll hold it carefully. I’ll write it down in my journal, and give a gift later down the line that’ll show you I remembered.

You smile. I can’t tell if you’re blushing ‘cause you’re a bit shy or maybe you’re just as cold as I am.

We sit down, and you take a minute to pull up the poem.

“Do you want me to look at you or…” you trail off, and I want to hold your hand.

My answer comes at the time snow begins to fall. I take a chance with my hand.

Is this moment the same for you as it is for me?

You answer my thoughts with a smile that says to me, “tonight feels unreal.”

Microfiction
1

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen3 months ago

    Aw! This is such a sweet new love kind of moment. The magic of new beginnings...hoping it will last. Lovely.

  • Harbor Benassa3 months ago

    This is fantastic! I love how you captured this moment

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.