Fiction logo

Hot Tub Time Machine Chronicles Chapter 1

Life of the Party

By Alex KincaidPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like

The following tale of temporal travel takes place in a universe inspired by the 2010 smash megahit film Hot Tub Time Machine. It is an original story, and does not feature any of the same characters as the film. This is... Life of the Party - Chapter 1.

EXT. ROOFTOP - NIGHT

Two men stand against the edge. They are ALEX CALLEN and CALEB WALLACE — just Cale to his friends. Cale is enjoying a cigarette, and puffs smoke into the air above him.

"Well, it's December 31st. We've waited 365 days for tonight, and I have to say, I'm excited. At first the thought of spending New Year's with you again, and going back to the same party you've been to for," Cale pauses, "What was it?"

"Nine years," replies Alex.

"Nine years in a row! Nine! That's longer than I've spent doing anything. Except for drinking milk and spanking it," Cale admits, unashamedly.

"Right," comments Alex, not appearing to be phased by Cale's crudeness.

"Anyway," Cale continues, "Last year I wasn't so psyched. But, after watching what happened. Seeing how you somehow magically weaved your way into our lives without us even realizing it. I think we have a fifty percent chance of either getting wasted, getting our asses kicked or getting laid tonight."

"You can't have a one in two chance between three different things," Alex corrects him.

"Yeah, whatever. So, are you nervous?" Cale asks.

"What kind of question is that? Why? Do I look nervous?" Alex fires back.

"Well, not so much on your face, but you did just buy salsa and Cheetos," explains Cale.

"Intentional," Alex responds, "All part of a calculated move that I have spent the better part of a decade planning. Tonight is going to be my night."

INT. CALLEN HOUSE - ALEX'S BEDROOM - DAY

10 Years Earlier

We pan across Alex's room. It's a mess. Under lit because the drapes are closed, but the outline of bright sun peeks through the edges. Alex snaps awake. He's late. Again.

"Ah!" shouts Alex, as he looks at the clock. It reads 2:30pm.

He runs into the connected bathroom suite, and comes back out with a button-up shirt half on, and a toothbrush in his mouth.

INT. CALLEN HOUSE - KITCHEN - CONTINUOUS

Alex runs downstairs into the kitchen. There stands his mother, RUTH CALLEN, in her smart business attire. She is clearly an organized woman.

"Running behind?" she asks him.

Alex mumbles a reply through his toothbrush, "Just a little."

Alex grabs a pop tart from the toaster, takes his toothbrush out of his mouth, and takes a bite. He grabs a jug of orange juice from the fridge and takes a swig from the container.

"Use a glass, please!" chastises Ruth.

"Sorry Mom," says Alex, kissing her on the cheek.

"Alex, I know I've told you this before," begins Ruth, "But you're going to have to start taking some responsibility. In real life, you don't get any second chances. You blow this coming semester, and that ends your chances of getting into a good college."

"I know, Mom!" Alex quickly responds, "It's okay. Amy and Max are covering for me at the store, and I've got a half hour before my class."

Alex looks at the television set on the counter. It's fuzzy -- bad reception.

Alex hits the side of the TV, "I thought we got the cable fixed."

Ruth replies, "It's not the cable, honey. It's magnetic interference. Solar flares from the sun are causing communication satellites to malfunction, which disrupts signal from the towers."

Alex stares at his mother, bewildered.

Ruth continues, "Well, maybe if you watched the television instead of hitting it."

Alex turns his attention to the news broadcast playing. Local news anchor CHET BOWMAN, delivers his report.

"--will be seeing the Aurora Borealis in many parts of the Northern U.S. and Canada. Experts are saying the magnetic flares are the strongest they've seen in decades," Chet states, "Weather patterns across the globe are being affected. On the lighter side, scientists predict an incredible light show, some time around midnight."

The television goes fuzzy again, and the video starts to lag -- choppy, intermittent signal.

Alex manages to hear Chet's final words, "In the meantime, we apologize for any issues you may be experiencing with your television."

Alex turns away from the screen, and tucks in the rest of his shirt. He opens the pantry cupboard door, and begins rifling through the contents.

"Okay, so right after my class I'm going straight to Max's party. I'll see you tomorrow," Alex explains.

Ruth gives Alex a serious look, "Are you going to be drinking tonight?"

"Mom, it's New Year's Eve!" Alex squeaks.

"Then I want you to --" Ruth's sentence is effortlessly finished by Alex.

"-- take a cab home. Never drive with someone under the influence. I know," Alex quips.

"I know you know," Ruth continues, "It's just that so many kids today..."

"Mom, I'll be fine," Alex reassures her, "Now where are the Honey Combs?"

"You're already late. You don't have time for cereal," Ruth says, "Besides the box was empty. I'll pick some more up at the grocery store later."

"I don't want to eat them," Alex begins, "I just need the box. I drew my integrated circuit design on the back, using the map to Honey Comb Island as a template. If I don't have that box, I fail my extra credit assignment."

"Don't you try to pull a fast one on me, Mister," Ruth retorts, "I know you could redraw that in two minutes with your eyes closed. What was really on the box?"

"Okay fine," Alex admits, "It was a list of supplies for our little soiree tonight. Max and I stayed up all night generating that list. It is the definitive instruction manual for a killer New Year's bash. It is the Party Bible."

Ruth picks up the pad of paper and pen sitting on the counter, "You could have just used the notepad."

"The box was already in my hand. Now, where is it?" Alex begs.

"In the trash I guess," Ruth shrugs.

"Okay, that's okay. It should still be here. Garbage pickup isn't until tomorrow," Alex sighs relief.

"Alex, it's Friday," Ruth states.

"What?! Since when?" Alex bolts out of the house.

EXT. CALLEN HOUSE - CONTINUOUS

Waste Collection has begun. A large garbage truck is parked on the street, and a GARBAGE MAN in an orange, high visibility vest is tossing black bags into the back.

"No, wait!" Alex cries, cutting across the lawn.

Just as the last bag is about to be thrown into the truck, Alex dives, and tackles it out of Garbage Man's hands. Alex tears open the plastic, and rummages through the debris until he finds the Honey Combs box.

"Thanks," he says to Garbage Man, handing the ripped bag back to him.

The bag tears further at the rip, and breaks apart. The trash lands on the lawn.

"It's cool. Here," Alex tries to hand the pieces of trash back to Garbage Man.

"Sir, your waste needs to be in sealed bag," explains Garbage Man, as he hops on the back of the truck, and it drives away.

Ruth hollers at Alex from the front door, "Alexander, you are not leaving here until you clean this up!"

"Sorry Mom!" Alex calls back, "I'll do it when I get home. I promise."

Alex picks his 18-speed bicycle off the lawn, and rides off down the street.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Alex Kincaid

Insurance broker by day, mystic by night. Currently living in Alberta, with my wife and children. That is, when I’m not traveling the astral plane.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.