Fiction logo

Hood Ornaments

Episode 34

By Majique MiMiPublished 10 months ago 12 min read
1

The rest of the evening was so comfortable. Tori and Michael told stories, laughed, listened to music all while she braided his hair. This lasted for a couple of hours until Michael heard what sounded like a puppy whimpering.

“My bad.” Tori said with embarrassment.

Michael turned to look at her, “Why didn’t you tell me you were hungry?”

“Cuz I’m not finished.”

Michael felt his head and realized it was only a little over halfway done, “I told you I have hats.” He got up and started to leave her room, “Give me a few minutes, I want to freshen up,” Tori said hurriedly.

“Woman please. Just put some cocoa butter on your lips; you’ll be fine.”

Tori wrinkled her nose at Michael as he walked out. In literally thirty seconds he was back with his hair tucked into a crocheted hat. Tori barely had enough time to blot her cocoa buttered lips when he grabbed her hand and pulled her out the door.

“What’s the rush?” Tori asked as they headed inside the elevator.

“Well number one you’re hungry and number two my favorite spot closes early. It’s Italian food. You like Italian food right?

Tori nodded, “Who doesn’t?”

Michael smirked, “You’d be surprised.”

They walked a few blocks to a quaint little restaurant that had an adorable outside café. It was already too chilly to sit outside and eat, so they entered. When they did a man who Tori could only assume was the owner held out his arms and started speaking to him in Italian. To Tori’s surprise, not only did Michael understand the man, but he started speaking Italian back to him. After the introductions were made and Tori’s assumption was right about the owner Angelo, they were brought to a cozy table with a beautiful view of the neighborhood. The aromas from the restaurant were enticing yet unusual. Tori was almost positive she smelled hints of cedar wood, vanilla, and lavender mixed with the mouth watering Italian delicacies that were being prepared in the kitchen.

They ate and conversed about art in between sips of merlot. After dinner they decided to aid the digestion of the meal and walked down the cobblestone street. They stopped at a holistic/spiritual store where Tori bought some lavender and peach candles along with several different types of incense. Michael was flipping through mediation CDs when the book shelf caught his eye. Tori was otherwise occupied looking at wind chimes and dream catchers. He then approached her grinning mischievously waving a deck of Tarot cards in front of her.

“Unt uh,” Tori said pushing his hand away, “That’s enticing the devil to come out.”

“You don’t think he is already out and about?” He asked her putting the cards back on the shelf

“I’m sure but he don’t need to be in my domicile. I got enough problems.”

She regretted saying that the minute it came out of her mouth. She thought it was going to lead to more questions.

Instead Michael surprised Tori with a request. “You wanna go see the fountain?”

“There’s a fountain around here?”

Michael nodded and took her by the hand. Tori felt a rush of energy flow up her arm. It shocked her and soothed her simultaneously. . It took a considerable amount of restraint not to pull away She looked up at him, and he was smiling down at her as if he could read her mind. Her cheeks flushed cinnamon.

His smile widened as she watched the fountain and its light show. Tori gasped.

“I’m half expecting to see fairies flittering about.”

Tori heard the clicking of hooves and wheels. She turned around there it was, a horse drawn carriage donned with tiny lights. Even its saddle and bridle had lights on it. Tori cautiously walked over to pet the horse, but Michael stood firmly in place. She turned and looked at him quizzically.

He was emphatically shaking his head no. Tori continued towards the carriage. The driver handed her a carrot. Tori fed O’Malley and patted his neck. The horse neighed before gently nudging her in gratitude. She said goodbye to the horse and waved to the driver before walking back over to Michael who looked angry.

Confused Tori rubbed his elbow, “Why do you look angry?”

“I’m not angry; I don’t like horses.”

“What?!” She retorted through a giggle, “How can you not like horses?”

The only change in Michael’s expression was from angry to repulsed, “They are filthy beasts.”

Tori’s mouth was wide with shock, “You’re serious?”

Michael held her hand and led her to now illuminated park while explaining that typically horses, unless they were show horses or racing horses, weren’t taken care of properly. Tori half listened to his droning for was distracted by the beauty of the park. It looked like it was kissed by a majestic rainbow.

“So since you are a killjoy today, you got something to say about this view?” She asked.

Michael just shook his head, “Nah, this is both natural and man-made art at its finest…” Then as if a light bulb went off inside his head, he stopped and turned Tori around by her elbow. “Do you have studying to do?”

“Just English, but I can write that paper in my sleep.”

He laughed, “Well that might be the case if we don’t get back to the dorm so you can finish my hair.”

They walked arm and arm to the dorms never realizing how inseparable they were going to be.

She finished his hair and her homework in record time. When she was done, Michael looked at himself in the mirror. His braids were a lot thicker than he expected them to be, but he liked them. He then reclined on the bed next to Tori who was putting the stray rubber bands back into their container. She looked confused as Michael then kicked off his shoes.

“Um staying a while?” She asked.

“Just a little bit longer; I want to chill with you if that’s okay? Let my neck rest.”

Tori’s phone vibrated.

“You know you can answer that.” Michael said in a comfortable tone.

“I wasn’t trying to be rude,” She replied as she looked at the screen.”

“You’re only being rude to the person who keeps calling you.” He shrugged.

“It’s Dell.” Tori said looking him in the eye.

Michael shrugged again, “He’s your best friend. I get it. It’s fine.”

As if she had an epiphany of some sort she picked up the phone and checked the time, “I wonder where Ladee is.”

Michael laughed, “She said she was going to a party.”

“Ladee?” Tori questioned with surprise.

Michael chuckled again, “Yeah there is some sort of frat party on campus.”

“Really?” Again surprised.

Michael nodded, “Yeah how bout that.”

“What is it a frat of trumpet players?!”

They both erupted in laughter, “I can’t with you anymore tonight. I didn’t know you were gonna be this funny”

“I prefer witty. Funny is for clowns. I don’t like clowns.”

“Really? So no circus for you?”

“Pretty much.”

“That’s a shame. The circus is actually kinda artistic. There are trapeze artists who look like miniature rainbows floating in the air. The ribbon dancers spiralling colors on the ground, the…”

Michael paused and looked at Tori. She was sound asleep. He slipped on his shoes, kissed her on the forehead and left the room. She didn’t even realize that he left until the sun came up. The buzz saw snoring is what woke Tori up. After rubbing the sleep out of her eyes, she realized it was Ladee, still in her clothes from the night before which had smelled of liquor and cigarettes. Ladee didn’t budge as Tori got out of bed and started getting her supplies ready for a shower. The plan was to clean up, grab some breakfast and some Starbucks the head to the studio to paint.

After her shower, Tori put on her cherry red sweats and wrapped her head in a matching scarf. She relaxed on her bed for a moment inhaling the faint aroma of nag champa and hair grease. She smiled and tried to ignore the goose bumps all over her body. The feeling scared and exhilarated her at the same time. Tori was walking towards the lunch truck when she realized it wasn’t open; she had forgotten it was Sunday. Exasperated, she decided to walk down the street further so she could enter campus from the side closest to the Starbucks. When she did, she stumbled across a quaint little café whose breakfast aroma reminded her of Trudy’s kitchen. The café was painted yellow and had whitewashed wood tables and chairs. It was like a ray of sunshine on a block otherwise shaded in shadow. Tori decided to place an order and find a table in the back where she could make a few calls. She called Trudy and told her about the amazing little space she discovered that made her miss home. Even though that warmed Trudy’s heart, she pretended to be jealous.

“Bet chu they don’t make home fries like me”, Trudy joked,

Tori answered, “”Nah Grandma, probably not. But then again, I don’t think anyone can make home fries as good as you. What’s the secret?’

“One that you ain’t gettin.”

“Dag, you do this with all of your good stuff. And what is up with holding back of the recipes. I am your only female heir. How am I gonna be able to make the bomb home fries and potato salad…and wait.” Tori stopped abruptly.

“What baby, what is it?” Trudy asked with concern.

“I just realized the last two things I asked for the recipe for were that of the potato persuasion. Is that the theme here?”

They both laughed.

“Looka here Tori, all of my recipes are gonna be given to you when you officially move out on your own. But until then, it’s like a security deposit so you’ll always need me.”

Tori relented, “Okay but, I feel like I am being bribed.”

“More like being groomed. Speakin of groomin, Dell has been lurking around here looking all wild. He musta got his hormones in, cuz he got a beard as thick as Leeks now. When is the last time you spoke to him? Do you ever return his calls?”

Tori took a moment to swallow a forkful of breakfast before answering, “First of all, no one has a beard as thick as Leek. And secondly, you didn’t tell Dell how busy I am? I mean I am calling you in between eating and studying. I see his texts. It’s hard to paint and text at the same time…”

“Don’t get sassy with me girl,” Trudy interrupted. “I was just tellin you so you will be mindful that the boy must miss you. He looks so haggard and sad. First you then Tone.”

“Tony left?” Tori asked as she felt her stomach drop.

“Yeah, shame. His grandmother just went into the hospital too.”

“Oh no, what happened?”

“The doctors aren’t sure yet. Rumor has it, it was a stroke.”

“Jesus.”

Tori’s mind spun thinking about how fragile life was and how folks need to treasure and treat it delicately. She decided right then and there to call Dell after she got off the phone with her grandmother. She sopped up the remainder of her breakfast with a piece of toast and pushed it into her mouth.

”You got quiet girl; you aiight?”

“Yes Grandma, before I head to the studio, I’m gonna take a few minutes to talk to Dell.”

“Good girl. Tell him I said you’re welcome.” Trudy exhaled emphatically,

Tori giggled, “I will. I love you.”

“Love you too baby.”

As they hung up, Tori looked at the clock on her cell and realized she needed to take more time out to care about those who sacrificed so much for her. Dell was one of those people. She pressed a button on the phone and it rang once before Dell picked up.

“Well, well, look who took time out of her morning to give someone a call.”

By the sound of his voice, Tori knew that this conversation may not be pleasant.

“Don’t be like that,” Tori playfully whined. C’mon, you’re in school too Dell, You know how occupied it can keep you.”

Dell thought to himself.

Funny, I am in school full time as well, but I always find time to call and text her.

He decided very quickly not to say that.

At least not directly.

“Yeah, sometimes it can be difficult trying to juggle it all, but somehow it all gets done.” He smirked as that statement was the most direct he was going to be about his feelings.

“How is school?” Tori asked.

“Not too bad, I’m just not like you. School seemed to be easy for you. I really got to study, but I just take time to make sure I do it. How about you?”

“Not too bad actually. The hardest thing about college is time management. Between, studying, homework, writing papers, painting, thinking about what to paint and trying to make time to eat and sleep, things can get a little hectic.”

“Not to mention parties?”

Dell threw a feeler out there.

Tori laughed. “This ain’t that type of campus. Remember Ladee from when y’all took me to school?”

“The red hair chick?”

“Yeah, well it shocked me when Michael told me she was at a frat party the other night.”

“Tall dude?”

Although she knew Dell couldn’t see her expression, she was pretty sure he felt it.

She was right and Dell altered his attitude.

“Why did it shock you?”

“Cuz like I said, it’s an art school. It’s not that type of campus.”

“Nah, I don’t think that’s it Tor. I think it’s that you’re not really that type of chick. You know you’re different but that’s what makes you so special. I mean let’s not get it twisted, you got a lotta hood in you, but it only comes out when provoked.”

Tori chucked as she looked at her watch, “If you say so.”

“Listen, I gotta go. I gotta head out to class and then I’ma drop by and see Trudy. You are going to come home for Thanksgiving correct?”

Tori smiled widely, “Of course I am. If I didn’t just have breakfast my stomach would be growling thinking about her greens.”

Dell laughed, “I know right. Call or text me tonight. I mean, if you can.”

“Okay D, I love you,” Tori said as she hit the end button.

Dell smiled, “I love you too girl.” He replied to the silence on the other end.

Young AdultScriptCONTENT WARNINGSeries
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.