Fiction logo

Hood Ornaments

Episode 25

By Majique MiMiPublished 10 months ago 7 min read
1

 The healing process was an arduous haze for the quartet. Dell was able to bind and gag his inner demons, pass his G.E.D. exam and enroll for fall classes. Malik graduated and although he never told a soul that it made him physically ill, he worked hard at the construction site with Dennis. Tony on the hand, refused to work at the construction site; unbeknownst to anyone, he enlisted in the Army and was due to leave for basic training in the middle of September.

Tori was home schooled for the remainder of her senior year and was sent her diploma in the mail. She painted, and sketched, and colored most of her summer. She couldn’t bear to pick up a purple pencil, pastel, crayon or dip her brushes in purple paint. She felt if she did, she would be forced to fill in her canvas or palette with lavender, but she had no hope.

Not that summer.

Since each of the guys were carrying guilt on their shoulders, summer consisted of shifts keeping Tori company. Only on the weekends they gathered in the kitchen played spades, drink sun tea, talk and tried to get Tori to smile. The most they were able to evoke was a slight smirk.

One morning Trudy went to the mailbox and saw a letter from the Art Institute of Illinois. She held it to her chest and would have testified in a court of law that her heartbeat moved the envelope. Without opening the letter, she knew Tori had been accepted. It was in her Spirit. She soared up the stairs finding Tori in her usual spot on the window seat. She didn’t even look up from her sketch. Trudy swallowed hard and handed her granddaughter the envelope.

Tori pushed it aside.

“I dunno why you even handin me this. If I even got in, you wouldn’t let me go no how. You don’t even let me off the block.”

Trudy became angry with Tori for the first time in a long time and turned her by her shoulders so she could face her.

“Look Victoria,” Trudy suddenly realized that her anger was misplaced. So she took a deep breath and continued again.

“Surely you know, everything I have ever done was for you and your success in life. Part of you succeeding in life, is that you are able to live to succeed. It breaks my…”

Tori cut her off, “Grandma, I don’t blame you,” Tears and sobs were getting caught in her throat, “So please give your heart a rest, okay? I’m sor…no I apologize for snapping at you. I just want my life back.”

Trudy wiped the tears off of Tori’s face and said, “If I am understanding God and that sunrise correctly, your life is about to become abundantly joyful.”

Tori looked over her shoulder out the window, and the sun was a glorious amber color surrounded by many shades of royal violet with wisps of lavender clouds. She then reached for the envelope and ripped it open.

Not only was she accepted.

She had a full scholarship.

Room and board included.

Tori shook as she read the letter. Then the tears began to flow again. She leapt from the window seat and wrapped her arms around Trudy who held her close.

The tears were their bond, their gratitude and their prayers.

After the embrace ended, Trudy held Tori by her shoulders and looked into her eyes. Despite the glittering joy within them, there stirred a deep sadness that tugged at her soul. She attempted to push that thought out of her mind and smiled warmly at her granddaughter.

“This is cause for a celebration!!! What would you like to do???”

Tori’s face lit up with glee, “Well, I want to have a barbeque. But I don’t want you slaving over no grill.”

Trudy chuckled, “That’s not a problem. Those boys can do that. But is that all you want to do?”

Tori winced slightly and her head bobbed from side to side in a playful dance, “Now that you mention it, I kinda wanna go down the shore?”

Trudy smiled, “To the beach?”

“Isn’t it the same thing?” Tori asked with genuine confusion.

Trudy laughed, “I believe so. When do you want to go?”

“Right after the barbeque I suppose. But how would I get there?”

“Well first of all, you’re not going by yourself and secondly, it is a pleasant train ride if you pack correctly.”

“Pack?” Tori asked.

Trudy shook her head in disbelief.

These young folks. Gotta admire them. As long as they have a pocket for their phones and money, they are as carefree as they wanna be.

“Yes pack. Towels, food, sunblock, change of clothes? But you gonna have three, strong able bodied young men to assist you. You should be okay.”

Tori smiled, “I can’t wait; I’ll call Dell and em.”

After the calls and texts there was a flurry of activity around the Watt’s home. The boys came in and Trudy instructed them to head down into the basement to wheel out the grill and the other backyard barbeque amenities. Tony and Malik were just returning back into the kitchen after scrubbing down the grill, chairs and the tables. Tori was sitting at the kitchen table with a piece of paper and a pen and Dell was helping Trudy by drying the dishes.

“Oh good, you guys may as well head back down into the basement and get the canopies out, wash em down and set them up and at least get one of the coolers out of the basement and wash it out so you can take it to the beach too. Y’all don’t need to waste no money on food down there.”

“Unless it’s funnel cake,” Malik mumbled to no one in particular as he went down the stairs to follow Trudy’s instructions.

“Speakin of food,” Tori interjected with a sprightly look in her eyes that she hadn’t had in a while as she scribbled on the paper, “What all goes in your potato salad Gramma?”

Trudy chuckled and pulled a small list out of her shirt pocket and handed it to Dell.

Dell sighed heavily and took both the lists from Trudy and Tori, “Why I gotta go to the store?”

“Cuz you can’t cook,” Trudy said matter of fact, “Besides, you have been in this family long enough to know what brands I use.”

“What do you I mean can’t cook? You mean I’m not doin no ribs?”

“You can do whatever you like, but Tori and I are makin all the salads.”

“All the salads? How many people are coming Gramma?”

“I figured y’all and the families. The neighbors.

“Oh kinda like a block party?” Dell asked as he called a cab.

“Kinda” Trudy smiled softly and then her mind seemed to wander, “Make sure you invite your uncle.”

The hush that came over the house was deafening.

Dell was a dialing Sticks’ number as he entered the cab and told the driver to head to the market. Looking over the extensive list, Dell chuckled slightly and shook his head. Apparently, this was going to be one huge BBQ. For the life of him he couldn’t quite grasp why Ms. Trudy wanted him to invite Sticks. He voiced his concern to his uncle when he called. Sticks nonchalantly yet sarcastically answered.

“It’s a block party Youngin; and Trudy is old school. Considering I am technically a member of the block, it would have been considered rude not to invite me.”

“I guess,” Dell answered without emotion.

Sticks’ tone took on one of seriousness, “How is Tori doing?”

Dell sighed deeply, “Better now. She got accepted to that art school in Chicago. That’s what the BBQ was initially for.”

“I’ll spread the word then” Sticks said in a very business-like tone. Make sure the community shows their proper support. So I take it you’re off to the store?”

Dell sucked his teeth, “Yeah I hate that shit.”

“Better you than me Youngin. I’ll meet you there and then I’ll take you to the butcher shop so we can get the good ribs and steaks. I ain’t gonna BBQ no cheap meat.”

“You know how to grill Unc?” Dell asked surprised.

“Do I know how to grill? Really? Your father Luke taught me everything I know and my brother makes the best ribs in the city. I always told him he shoulda opened up a rib joint instead of a church, but well…Aiight Youngin, I’ma get outta here so I can meet chu.”

“Aiight one.”

“Peace.”

Dell was happy for many reasons. One of which was that at least he didn’t have to load all of those groceries into the cab for the ride home.

Young AdultScriptCONTENT WARNINGSeries
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.