Fiction logo

Home

I remember

By Desiree WetzPublished about a year ago 3 min read
2
Home
Photo by Rowan Heuvel on Unsplash

If walls could talk I would tell you that I remember everything. The first time I became aware is when I was built. The men that framed my walls and picked the windows and door, were boisterous and at time inappropriate with their jokes.

My favorite day is when Valerie moved in. She came to me alone and too brave. Her presence made me feel warm. She had only a bed, a plate, fork, spoon, and a bowl. Slowly other things accumulated and I watched her grow in confidence and pride.

The many conversations you had with yourself was entertaining and concerning all at once. Someone hurt you. I never really knew who it was but you cried. Those are the times I wish I could break my vow and speak to you.

I would say, "You are worthy and you are enough." However homes make vows to protect and surround, never talk.

Concern grew with the revolving door on questionable partners. The way she gave all of her love and received nothing in return. "What am I doing wrong?" She would ask with tears streaming from your eyes. "Why am I not enough?" Valerie screamed with all her heart.

Until one day...

"This is my home." Valerie motions for the man to follow her inside. He walks in with a genuine smile. He is definitely missing that ugly arrogance her past partners had. "What do you think?"

"I love it." He tells her.

I watch them cook dinner together and laugh. It is easy to watch. Not to mention they both need some work in the kitchen. That lasagna is definitely burnt.

"So my family is originally from Wisconsin but we moved here when I was five." He says as they sit for dinner together at her small table.

She smiles sadly. "I don't really know where my family is from. I have been here, there, and everywhere in between." She clears her throat and takes her dish to the sink.

He follows her into the kitchen. "We have been seeing each other for a few months now and this is the first time you have allowed me into your space. I know what you have been through and I understand why you're closed off. I feel like.." Valerie finally turns to face him with her arms crossed. "Look, I am falling in love with you. I want to show you I am a good man, I just need the opportunity to show you."

Silence is met at first and I really wish I could help pull her from behind this wall she wraps around herself. "I do love you too, James. I can only promise that I will try and continue to try."

If I could breathe I would have blown a breath out just then.

Valerie and James continue this cycle for months. When the snow covers my roof, James is invited to move in.

Time is funny for houses, everything moves quickly when there are occupants in a home. The existence of my walls is to provide that shelter for survival and sometimes love. We always wish that we can wash love unfold.

The couple continue existing within my walls even after they bring two furry babies here. They stay here for years until one day they look around sadly. "With two dogs and now a baby, it might be time to find a bigger home." James hugs Valerie to his side on the couch.

"I know." She wipes tears that fall. "I just love my home. This place has given me so much when I have had nothing. And I feel silly for crying over this but it's hard."

"You aren't silly." He kisses her head.

I wish I could say, "I love you too, Valerie."

The truth is there time with me is my favorite because on the day when the last box was moved from the house. Valerie came waddling back inside, looked around. "Thank you." She whispered.

She is the only one that has ever acknowledged my purpose.

Love
2

About the Creator

Desiree Wetz

I have been intrigued with writing since I was twelve years old. At first, it was poetry but then in morphed into a love of fiction, fantasy, and adventure. When I'm not writing stories, I am running wild with my family.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I like your use of vocabulary that gives a lot of your descriptive language a sense of novelty! Well thought out and chosen! I like this concept that walls don’t talk to humans because they took a vow to protect, surround and not talk. I love this picture of a perfect, flawless romance you painted.

  • Holly Pheniabout a year ago

    Very sweet story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.