Fiction logo

Home for special guests

Home for special guests

By Faygath FyaharhPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Home for special guests
Photo by Brina Blum on Unsplash

  We are now living in this set of houses, two floors, the upper and lower single door alone open four rooms each. The original enterprise restructuring when the office building was sold by law, not far from the county, is the outskirts, surrounded by water farmland on three sides, facing a highway. When we came from the city with the wrap, the four downstairs still pulled up the roller shutter door for business, the upstairs rooms are generally transformed and picked up so that we can live. A backyard is quite large, once leased to others to pile up coal blocks, along the edge of the weeds. I counted about three acres of land against the land certificate. The house is certainly an old house built a long time ago, poured cement roof, a layer of insulation under the roof, and an insulation layer outside a few blocks of window tiles.

  

  After dinner, we sat in the corridor to cool off, the corridor was not yet installed on the glass windows, and the memory of mosquitoes is not a lot. It was getting dark when a few black bats flew in, and I didn't understand where they were coming from, so I looked up and wondered when I saw another one slowly crawling out of the window and flying away. Not long after, fluttering black fluttering a piece, watching the life when the wall lying on a gecko, a shake disappeared. When the lights were on, one or two crawled away from time to time in the hallway, on the ceiling, on the walls, small and agile. I'm curious to stop and see what's going on, so not a single move, or a pretty little twist and run.

  

  A night of heavy rain, early from the back of the courtyard opened the store door, an aunt outside loudly call me, busy should run out, take a look, the concrete floor accumulated a puddle of rainwater, which stranded swimming a good-sized eel. Of course, the eel I can not want, it let the aunt take away. I killed the fish and cooked it at noon, the fish was bought. I stood upstairs by the sink to kill the fish, the weeds in the forest issued a shivering noise, accompanied by a squeaky laugh. Looking for the sound, I was surprised to find two small yellow fluffy things, trailing their long tails, teasing joyfully along the way. The wall came in, I looked dumbfounded, cute and so innocent. The first thing you need to do is to get a good idea of what you are getting into.

  

  The high dogwood forest at the corner of the courtyard wall, the wind shaking a shake, out of the sound of insects. At dusk, the courtyard wall often squatted an old stray cat, the sunset cast a dark shadow, looking cold and lonely, with no joy and no sadness. It seems to be from a distant place, all the way to Laotu running, and now only it is left alone. The old cat is silent, staring at everything in front of him, time and space, bewildered, in a trance have not remembered. This indifferent old cat is waiting in our house, in front of the house and around, we fed it, it will not leave, lived in a small shack downstairs. Every day uninvited to our store downstairs patrol once or twice, I quietly followed peeping. It walked unobtrusively past the ham, around the fish, lightly leaping over a section of shelves, a corner a nook and cranny, bending low to sniff, and finally leaned back to purr a few times, which slowed down, unhurriedly from the back door.

  

  It didn't take long for the cat to die. We found it in the yard, dead for a long time, belly up, and swollen.

  

  In the summer afternoon, business was cool, sitting by the back door chatting, chatting long and tedious, drowsy but hearing a dull thud, the two men quickly went out to look. A large feathered brightly colored bird fell under the window, dazed and dazed head standing still, it looks like it is hitting the glass heavily. I have never seen such a beautiful one, as big as a chicken. I was surprised for a long time and asked, "What is it?" "The chicken" "quickly caught!" The man woke up, bare-handed, with two feet alone to chase up. Kamchatka instinctively scattered its legs and fled, it could not remember to fly. One in front of the run, one in the back, along the roadside library courtyard wall straight run more than a mile, the pheasant scampered into the next building forest, the party rested.

  

  These little things that come to our house are also crayfish, squirrels, and snakes. They always bring us a little surprise.

  

  One morning a few days ago, I got up and went up to the side of the walkway in my pajamas to get my clothes on a hanger. Dizzy, I turned around to go back to my room, and I remember shaking with one hand holding the hem of my clothes. Standing by the bed, I was about to change. Subconsciously, I felt something on the back of my other hand and raised my hand to see a small gecko tame on the index finger, brown, cool, like a very personalized ring. I shake my hand in excitement, panic, and a strong scream, the small gecko is gone, I wretchedly rummage through the clothing also did not see. My daughter giggled and laughed for a while.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Faygath Fyaharh

I can love you to death, can not love you to shame.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.