Fiction logo

His Eyes

The calm

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago 6 min read
7
His Eyes
Photo by Ion Fet on Unsplash

When I was growing up everyone told me that it was wonderful to be unique. That people would respect you and want to be your friend if you were unique. It turned out that was one of the biggest lies I was ever told. I am unique in that I have psychic powers. However, nobody wants to be my friend and absolutely no one respects me. At absolute best they only fear me instead of loathing me. I developed my powers around twelve and my life has never been the same since then.

It turned out that my powers were based around my emotional state. So if you remember what you were like when you were twelve then you can guess how my powers displayed themselves. I was your normal angst ridden youth with the ‘no one gets me’ mentality. So my powers often showed themselves in unpleasant ways. People would get ill around me, things would fly off of shelves, and it wasn't uncommon to hear creepy voices emanating from around me. This would scare people, which would cause them to be mean or stay away from me, which only made my emotional state worse, and thus made my powers act up more.

I constantly tried to lift my mood using meditation or watching happy things. It would work for short periods but all it took was one negative reaction from someone to send me spiraling back down. My parents even got me on antidepressants but they just made my powers erratic and my mood as well. I went from being depressive to manic depressive which wasn't any better. High school was a long parade of being mocked, people running from me, and me trying to not let my depression eat me alive. As soon as I graduated I found an online college and locked myself in my room swearing never to come out again. That very rapidly developed into a form of agoraphobia. I was utterly terrified to leave my house anymore.

Of course I made friends online who knew nothing about my weird powers. So I could actually be myself around them for the most part which helped. However I still shied away from ever actually meeting them for fear of what would happen if I did. One particular person I talked with was a young man named Sean. He was a bit of a depressive sort as well so he and I got along well. Misery loves company as they say. We would meet online every day and talk via mic while we played games. Sean occasionally would try to at least think about going outside but I'd always shut him down immediately. He would always ask why and I would deflect from the question. I don't know what compelled me to do this but one day I decided to tell Sean about myself. I told him everything about my powers and my time in highschool. As soon as I finished talking Sean spoke up, “Before you run away because you opened up to me let me just say I want to meet you.”

I gulped, staring at the screen muting my mic and trying to think. I hadn't really seen another person outside of my parents in almost two years. Talking with Sean had pretty much been the highlight of my day for the last nine months. He had been a major part of why my grades hadn't crashed and I had managed to stay sane. I could hear him in my ear humming to himself. I took a deep breath and unmuted myself, “If you are willing to come and meet me then sure. I'm still far too terrified to leave my house.”

He chuckled slightly and I could almost see him smiling despite having no clue what he actually looked like, “Sure. Just tell me where you live and I'll come to you. I know what city you live in. I just need an address.” It turned out he was only a couple of hours away and he could see me in two days. I spent the next two days frantically cleaning my room trying to make it look like I hadn't just been living here and never coming out for two years. I of course told my parents who were ecstatic to hear this news. I on the other hand was a nervous wreck.

The day came and I heard the knock on the door from downstairs. My mother answered the door and invited Sean in. I could hear their footsteps coming towards my room. I took a deep breath and tried my hardest to calm myself. There was a knock on the door and I heard Sean's voice, “May I come in?”

I gulped feeling my heart starting to pound out of control. I took another deep breath, “It's open. Come in.” My door opened and I looked up from where I was sitting on my bed. My eyes instantly found his and we locked into a gaze. A deep blue that radiated calm from it and yet engulfed me all at the same time. I felt my self sinking into them and I never wanted to stop. My heart started calming down immediately and I could feel something wonderful coursing through my body. Something about looking into his eyes brought calm and peace into my mind.

Sean was the first to break the gaze. His eyes drifted behind me and he gasped, “The flower! Behind you.” I looked back and saw a flower I had bought a year ago. It had died like everything else I stayed too close to. As I looked at it now though it was sprouting to life before my very eyes. I looked back at Sean and smiled. Suddenly things felt like they were going to be alright.

Personally I think this is a really beautiful story and it comes from a place close to my heart. I used to be very introverted to the point that I would associate with one group of people and wouldn't deal with any others unless drunk. I eventually met the first of my two partners who helped me to loosen up some. Also as a small fun fact the picture I have for this story is about the closest picture I could find to the blue of my own eyes. I hope you enjoyed this story. If you did then please heart, subscribe, and feel free to leave a tip. You can now also pledge 3 dollars a month to me and help support me as a creator. If you do, you get the benefit of having my stories at the top of your subscription feed anytime I post something new. Till next time.

Short Story
7

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.