Fiction logo

Heritage

Destiny

By Lauren MillsPublished 3 years ago 13 min read
Like
Heritage
Photo by Anna Gru on Unsplash

Chapter 1:

She was content with the quiet of the forest around her. She was more at home here than in the village. There she was a novelty, something to be looked at and admired but nothing more. Out here among the endless trees, she was herself without having to hide or pretend. She had always felt different from everyone else. At least, that was how she felt after her father had abandoned her and her mother. Her mother, heartbroken and sick, had sent her to live in the nearby village of Ourania. Now, nearly 3 years later, she received a letter that changed her life. It was from the healer who had taken care of her mother.

"Phaedra,

I'm sorry that it has to be me to tell you this. Your mother

has finally found peace. She has returned to Mother Earth.

Hopefully you will be at peace with her passing.

May harmony find you,

Jason"

Phaedra was so shocked that she couldn't move. She stayed in her chair like she was rooted to it. She knew she needed to return home but she couldn't think properly. After what seemed like an eternity, she realized that nightfall was coming fast. She resolved to travel first thing in the morning.

As soon as the sun warmed her face the next morning, Phaedra began the journey home. It took her most of the morning to reach her childhood home. Jason was there at the front door as if he knew she was on her way there even before she had decided. At his side, as always, was Leandros.

Leandros was a bright young man whom Phaedra had played with as a child. Jason was Leandros's father and had always wanted to see him become a healer. Leandros, however, had other intentions. He was an exceptional student at whatever he learned. He followed his father around to make him happy. But Leandros dreamed of adventure. The only person he had ever told was the daughter of his father's long term patient. He had always trusted Phaedra even though he didn't understand why. Seeing her again after 3 years brought feelings to the surface that he had never felt before. He shook himself as they greeted each other.

"Jason, I'm glad you were here with her when she passed. Thank you for watching over her for so long." Phaedra shifted her attention from father to son. "Merry meet, Leandros."

"Merry meet, Phaedra. I'm sorry about your mother. She was a wonderful woman." Leandros thought he saw a sparkle in her eye when she greeted him. His heart sped up at the thought. "It's a shame we had to meet again under such painful circumstances as these."

"I, too, am sorry for the reasons that bring us together again. But I cannot regret seeing my friends again." Phaedra didn't miss the half smile that crossed Jason's face though her attention was on Leandros.

Phaedra had liked his company as a child. Perhaps that is why their parents had never objected to their friendship. But as they grew older her like of his company had become something more. When she had decided to come back, she had dreamed of having Leandros by her side at the funeral. She had awoken very eager to see him once again.

Jason started for the front door breaking into Phaedra's thoughts. "I was wondering if you would like to make the arrangements or if you preferred that I do it."

That's Jason. Always down to business, she thought. "I would love for you to make them but I shouldn't shirk my duty. Thank you for your offer. It was most kind."

"As you wish."

"Did my Mother make any special requests?"

"She wished that she be returned to the earth. Other than that, all she asked was that I give you this." He held out a hand with a small brown package.

"What's this?" Phaedra took the package gently in case its contents were fragile.

"I don't know. She would not tell me anything other than this: 'Tell her this is the secret of her birth and her family origins.' But I didn't understand what she meant."

"She always said that my birth was a secret to certain people but she never told me why. I guess now I get to find out." Phaedra started to open the package but Jason stopped her.

"Leandros and I can leave if you wish to open this in private."

"Jason, anything that my mother put in this package is not a secret for me to keep from you or Leandros. You are my closest friends. I don't keep secrets from you." Phaedra thought she saw Leandros blush but she blinked and his face was normal again.

Jason removed his hand to let her open the package. It contained 3 small objects wrapped in a letter written by her mother. This letter was written a few weeks after Phaedra's father, Patroclus, had left them. She took it to the small dining table in the corner of the room.

The first thing Phaedra picked up was the small gold ring. She turned it so she could see the insignia on the top. It was so worn and faded that she almost couldn't make it out. She put it to the side. The second object looked like a small uncut sapphire. She and Leandros reached for it at the same time. This time Phaedra was sure she saw him blush.

"Sorry. I was curious whether it was what I thought." He gave an embarrassed smile and moved his hand.

"What do you think it is?" Phaedra returned his smile with more confidence than he had shown.

He picked up the stone. "Well it looks like a sapphire but it has an inscription in the middle. It looks like it was a blessing intended to keep the bearer safe and give them a heightened sense of being or peace." He handed the stone to his father to confirm his interpretation of the words.

Jason took the stone from his son and examined it closely. "You have done well in your studies, my son. That is indeed what this says." He placed the sapphire back on the table in front of Phaedra.

"I wonder where she got it." Phaedra now glanced at the third object before her. It was made of a silver colored material that looked very frail. It was a flowing material even when it was laying still. She unwound the chain to find that there was a charm on the necklace that held pictures of her mother and father. There were also the words: You are always in my heart. She recognized her father's elegant handwriting. It shocked her that she still remembered her father's writing. She had been just 6 years old when he left. Phaedra mentally shook herself and focused on the letter from her mother.

"My darling Phaedra,

First you should know that your father loves us very much.

He is trying to shelter us from what he left behind when he

and I married. You must find a way to forgive him. Only he

can help you discover who you truly are and where you

belong. I love you my sweet child and I'll always be with you.

All my love,

Your mother"

Phaedra was shocked. Even that soon after he left, her mother had known that Phaedra would harbor harsh feelings for her father. Phaedra read the letter through a second time and read over a watermark that she had missed the first time. She gasped as she realized what it said. It was an ancient seal from the oldest Elven kings in history.

"Jason, what is this doing on a letter from my mother?" The look on Jason's face told Phaedra that he knew exactly what was going on. "What are you not telling me?"

Jason wouldn't quite meet Phaedra's eyes when he replied to her question. "My eyesight isn't what it used to be. I can't tell what it is." Even his voice betrayed him.

Phaedra wasn't fooled. "You know exactly what that symbol is. Your eyesight isn't that bad, healer. Stop lying to me, damn it!" Her eyes blazed.

"Forgive me, Phae, but your parents asked me not to tell you about it."

"Not to tell me about what, Jason?" There was a blue fire in Phaedra's eyes. Leandros was mesmerized by her even more but he didn't understand why.

Jason was shocked by the display of power Phaedra showed but he doubted she even knew that she was doing anything.

"About Patroclus and Leto's marriage and your heritage." Jason saw the shock register on Phaedra's face as well as the curiosity on his son's.

"What about my heritage?" Phaedra could barely breathe. Her head was spinning. "What about my parents?"

"Well, your parents were unique when compared to other couples. Their marriage was public knowledge but few witnessed it. I was one of those privileged few. I did not start treating your mother after she got sick. I've been there since before you were born." Jason walked over to sit beside Phaedra. He took a deep breath before continuing his recitation. "Pheadra, you are special in so many ways. There are many people who wish your death. I stayed with your father for the same reason. When he left, I had to choose between staying with him or protecting you and your mother."

"Protect us from what?" Phaedra interrupted him so that she understood what she was hearing. She felt dizzy and light-headed now.

"Phaedra," Jason's voice shook as he answered her urgent question, "your father is now the king of the Elves, and you, my dearest, are the princess."

Phaedra almost fainted. She had always known that she was different. Now she knew why. Now she understood her mother's nickname for her.

"Why did no one tell me before now?" Phaedra was shaking so much that she almost fell over. She found one of the chairs beside her and sat down. "I had as much right to know then as I do now."

Jason looked apologetic and sad as he started to speak again. "My dearest Phae, I couldn't break an oath made to my king."

Phaedra could hear the conviction in his voice. She knew that he was right. That didn't mean she liked it. Phaedra knew she had to calm down.

"Phaedra, are you all right?" It was Leandros who broke the silence. He looked at Phaedra with such a worried expression it broke her heart.

"I'm fine, Leandros, but I think I'm just going to take a walk in the woods to clear my thoughts." Phaedra gave Leandros a small smile and headed towards the back door and the woods. She had only taken a few steps when she heard the warnings.

"Please be careful." She didn't have to turn around to know that Leandros wanted to say more.

"It has always been a dangerous world for you. Now that you know the truth, Princess, it has become more deadly. Do not stray far."

With those warnings ringing in her ears, Phaedra had walked straight into the woods that had become her refuge over the years.

Chapter 2:

She lost track of time thinking about what she had just learned from Jason. She finally put all of that out of her mind and just concentrated on calming her nerves. She was content and calm among the trees and the sounds of the forests. In the village she grew up in, she was a novelty. She was the only Elf in one of the many predominantly human towns in the kingdom.

Phaedra was so deep in thought, that it wasn't until the twig snapped behind her that she realized she wasn't alone. She knew she wasn't going to be able to hide with the other person being so close to her. She also knew it wasn't dark enough to blend in with the shadows. She was trying to decide whether or not to pull her dagger when they spoke to her.

"Phaedra, my father wished me to come find you. He was worried something might have happened to you." Leandros was now kneeling beside her in the grass. He caught her by surprise when he touched her face. He held her chin and turned her face to his. "So was I."

The emotions that played over Leandros's face made Phaedra want to pour out her heart to him without hesitation. She was happily shocked to see love in his features. She wasn't quite sure if that was for her.

"You scared me, Leandros. How long have I been gone?" She tried not to show any of the emotions going through her mind. She put those thoughts aside.

"You've been gone all afternoon. It's getting dark. My father wanted to make sure you were okay. He sent me to find you and make sure you get home safely."

"I got lost in my thoughts, I apologize. We should get back." Phaedra headed back towards the clearing with Leandros following behind.

Leandros and Phaedra walked back through the back door to find Jason sitting by the fireplace. On the table sat a small supper set for three. Jason looked up when they entered. "Good to see you are safe, Princess. I hope you won't object to us joining you for dinner?" Jason gestured towards the table.

"Of course not. But I do wish you wouldn't call me princess."

"I will try my hardest to remember, Phaedra. You must remember, though, that you were born a princess and you will always be a princess."

Phaedra murmured an incomprehensible reply and let the subject drop. Throughout dinner, they were silent. She was afraid she might have offended Jason, so she decided to invite him and Leandros to stay the night in the guest rooms.

"My dear friends. Would you do me the kindness of spending the night in my guest rooms? It would comfort me greatly to know that I did not sleep in an empty house tonight." She hoped that Jason would see the sincerity in her eyes.

"I have no objections to your offer. However, I will not answer that question for Leandros." Jason looked at his son with an unreadable expression. "What will you do, my son?"

Leandros looked at his father's face and paused. What was his father up to? He looked at Phaedra and her expression told him all he needed to know. "Of course I'll accept your generous offer." And why would I refuse any offer from her. Leandros glanced at his father just in time to catch the smug smile pass over his lips.

"Wonderful. I'm sure you know the way, Jason, so I will let you be. If you follow me, Leandros, I will show you your room." Phaedra waited till he stood up, then started for the staircase. "Thank you for accepting my invitation. I didn't relish the thought of sleeping in an empty house, even this one." She reached the top of the stairs and stopped at the third door on the left. "Here you go. My room is just down the hall on the opposite side. Good night, Leandros." She quickly leaned forward and kissed him on the cheek. Then she walked, as quickly as she dared, to her room and closed the door.

****More to come!!****

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.